logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: What abilities are not considered to be targeting?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2023 8:24 am 
Unnamed Stormtrooper
Unnamed Stormtrooper

Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2023 8:12 am
Posts: 1
I looked through this forum and didn't see what I was looking for. This is, of course, related to Bombad Gungan. I'm looking for a list of abilities that would remain immune to it. I've seen some given (Force Repulse, Force Storm, Lightsaber Sweep), but nothing claiming to be all inclusive.

Specifically though, I'm wondering about Lightsaber Throw 3 and 5. I would read, "Choose 1 enemy within line of sight" as a non-targeted ability. Nothing in it's card text or glossary uses the word target. Yet then in the Final FAQ, I see, "It only modifies the line of sight and cover portions of the targeting rules. You must still attack adjacent enemies if there are any."

So then it is considered a targeted ability? It can't be just because it's attacks, because Lightsaber Sweep is attacks and isn't considered targeted. So how can I know whether or not an ability is considered targeted if I can't just go by if the word "Target" appears in the glossary text for the ability?

As a follow up question, if Lightsaber Throw 5 is considered targeting, what about the part about making "two additional attack against each character adjacent"? If Jar Jar was adjacent to another enemy character and I used Lightsaber Throw 5 against the other character, are those attacks targeted and subject to Bombad Gungan? Or are the other attacks more akin to the effects of Force Lightning or Grenades, and they have to go against enemies adjacent to the target?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: What abilities are not considered to be targeting?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2023 10:52 am 
One of The Ones
One of The Ones

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:39 am
Posts: 9368
silver fang wrote:
I looked through this forum and didn't see what I was looking for. This is, of course, related to Bombad Gungan. I'm looking for a list of abilities that would remain immune to it. I've seen some given (Force Repulse, Force Storm, Lightsaber Sweep), but nothing claiming to be all inclusive.

Specifically though, I'm wondering about Lightsaber Throw 3 and 5. I would read, "Choose 1 enemy within line of sight" as a non-targeted ability. Nothing in it's card text or glossary uses the word target. Yet then in the Final FAQ, I see, "It only modifies the line of sight and cover portions of the targeting rules. You must still attack adjacent enemies if there are any."

So then it is considered a targeted ability? It can't be just because it's attacks, because Lightsaber Sweep is attacks and isn't considered targeted. So how can I know whether or not an ability is considered targeted if I can't just go by if the word "Target" appears in the glossary text for the ability?

As a follow up question, if Lightsaber Throw 5 is considered targeting, what about the part about making "two additional attack against each character adjacent"? If Jar Jar was adjacent to another enemy character and I used Lightsaber Throw 5 against the other character, are those attacks targeted and subject to Bombad Gungan? Or are the other attacks more akin to the effects of Force Lightning or Grenades, and they have to go against enemies adjacent to the target?

Thanks.


By default, abilities that choose an enemy target unless stated otherwise. Repulse and things like it do not target because you just get everything within that range. Sweep doesn't target, either, even though you choose the order of attacks. But it says explicitly that it doesn't target. Attacks of opportunity do not target because the rulebook says they don't. For Force Lightning and Grenades, it is targeting when you choose the initial victim, but it is not considered targeting when the effect is applied to the adjacent characters. Lightsaber Throw does target, but if adjacent characters are also attacked they are not targeted (just like Grenades in that way). Twin Attack does not target - you target the first time when you choose who to attack, but the Twin Attack happens without having to target a 2nd time (e.g. no need to roll another Draw Fire save).

Other than Bombad Gungan, another place where targeting is important is when dealing with Diplomats. But keep in mind that when Diplomat is active it prevents both targeting and attacking, so you have to get around both of those restrictions in order to attack a Diplomat. So you could kill them with Grenades if they are adjacent to the target, but not if they are adjacent to the LSThrow5 target, since it would still involve an attack.

Sorry this wasn't a comprehensive list - I don't know that one exists.

_________________
"I try to avoid 'unneccessary polysyllabry' - only when necessary and for the encapsulated meaning."
-kobayashimaru


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield