logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Savage question
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 11:50 am 
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 2931
I can't remember how savage worked with replaces atk. abilities. For example if I had force repulse 2 and I had 3 ugh withn 2 could I use that first and then move away if there wasn't an enemy withn 6 or would I have 2 base one first then use it. I only ask for a custom that a friend and I are working on. Thanx.

_________________
"But one thing I have learned in this process is that flavor can't override the good of the game."
-urbanshmi2-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Savage question
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 12:26 pm 
Big Bad Brad
Big Bad Brad
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 5344
Force Repulse 2 followed by a move would be acceptable...however in the situation that you mentioned, all the ugnaughts would still be within 6, thus requiring you to end your move adjacent to one...

An interaction not allowed with Savage is replaces turn abilitlies, IE Kyp Durron, Kyp must be adjacent before he can use his Force Push 5

_________________
"200 or 2"
"Consistency is the key, not crying"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Savage question
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 12:55 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Well, if the Ugnaughts were each affected by Repulse 2, then they would get killed. If there was then no pieces left within 6 squares after that, you wouldn't be able to fulfill the requirements for Savage.

The situation would be similar to Enraged Chewie. If you have a piece with only 10 hp left 2 squares away, you can't choose to kill it first, and then move freely. You have to base the enemy first, then attack.

So, in your situation, you'd have to choose to move first, and base one of the Ugos, and then use your Repulse ability.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Savage question
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:01 pm 
Big Bad Brad
Big Bad Brad
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 5344
Good point, I was even thinking about the HPs, and I completely forgot about the enraged Chewie precedent...

_________________
"200 or 2"
"Consistency is the key, not crying"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Savage question
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:05 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
I thought of a more simple way to explain it.

Either way you use Repulse, it's going to kill the Ugnaughts. So, your options are to 1) move first, base an enemy, then use Repulse, or 2) Repulse first, and then move, which will leave you not based to an enemy. The rules for Savage say that if a condition exists that allows you to finish your movement adjacent to an enemy, then you must choose that option. Therefore, you have to choose option 1, because option 2 would leave you non-adjacent to any enemies.

The other precedent for this is Kyp Durron while under Impulsive Savagery, in that he can't use Force Push 5 unless he starts his turn adjacent to an enemy.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Savage question
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 3:54 pm 
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 2931
I think I got it now. My main question was if I was in a situation to injure or kill more guys if I used repulse first then still base an enemy afterwords if I would be able 2 do it that way. Say moving first to base an enemy took 1 character out of range, would I be able to repulse first then base thus hurting more guys and still fulfilling savage. But if u say I must fulfill savage before I do anything else then that's fine as long as I understand the way the rules work.

_________________
"But one thing I have learned in this process is that flavor can't override the good of the game."
-urbanshmi2-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Savage question
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:02 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
No, you don't necessarily have to move first. Say you had 4 Ugnaughts near you, 3 of them within 2 squares, but the 4th one was four squares away. You could use Repulse to kill the first 3, and then move to base the 4th one. So long as you can meet the requirements, you must.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Savage question
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 9:10 pm 
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 2931
Ok. Thanx

_________________
"But one thing I have learned in this process is that flavor can't override the good of the game."
-urbanshmi2-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield