logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: New to community
PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2010 4:26 pm 
Unnamed Stormtrooper
Unnamed Stormtrooper
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 4:14 pm
Posts: 8
I am interested in possibly participating in the regional tournaments this year, but I don't know the
"DCI rules"
can someone explain what I need to know going in and or link me to a full rules sheet?
May the force be with you.
Xanatos :maul:

_________________
*200 squads only*


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: New to community
PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2010 4:29 pm 
Name Calling Internet Bully
Name Calling Internet Bully
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 6172
Location: Gurnee, IL
Welcome aboard. Go to the DCI website found here:

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dci/doccenter/home

Click on the SWMs Floor Rules and then ask any questions you have after that.

_________________
Image

http://www.bloomilk.com/Squads/Search.aspx?UserID=29


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: New to community
PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2010 5:17 pm 
Unnamed Stormtrooper
Unnamed Stormtrooper
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 4:14 pm
Posts: 8
thank you very much.
so.... not faction squads? just light v. dark?
and Vong / Mandalorians go to either?

_________________
*200 squads only*


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: New to community
PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2010 5:28 pm 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
Xanatos wrote:
thank you very much.
so.... not faction squads? just light v. dark?
and Vong / Mandalorians go to either?


Those are only for Booster Draft Limited Format, where each person has two boosters, and you take one, and then pass them on.

For normal, constructed tournaments, you follow faction restrictions.

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: New to community
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 10:35 am 
Unnamed Stormtrooper
Unnamed Stormtrooper
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 4:14 pm
Posts: 8
ok I have some more questions.
1: are commander effects supposed to stack?
2: can jedi use their lightsaber defense skills against yuuzhan vong?
3: when using "greater mobile attack" can characters use "double attack"? (case in point, Echani Handmaiden) also, are double attack and twin attack supposed to stack? (again, Echani handmaiden, or, Praetorite vong warrior with command effect from Yuuzhan Vong subaltern)

_________________
*200 squads only*


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: New to community
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 10:56 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
1. CEs only stack if they specifically say they do, or if they grant 'named' abilities. For instance, GOWK's CE and Qui-Gon Jinn Jedi Trainer's CE do NOT stack, because they both grant a generic +4 bonus to Attack. However, GOWK's CE would stack with Admiral Yularen and General Skywalker, since those ones grant a +4/+4, Opportunist (named ability), and Momentum (separate named ability).

2. If by Lightsaber Defense abilities you mean the 'style' abilities (Soresu Style, Ataru Style, Makashi Style Mastery, etc.), then yes, they can use those against Vong. What they can't use against Vong are Force Powers, so Lightsaber Block, Deflect, or LS Defense they cannot use.

3. Yes, Greater Mobile Attack allows you to move and still make all your attacks. So, if you have Double or Triple, then it would allow you to move, and then shoot multiple times. And yes, Double and Twin do stack, which would give that piece 4 attacks.

3a. I know you didn't actually ask this question, but the Praetorite Vong Warrior can't benefit from the Subaltern's CE. Only the "Yuuzhan Vong Warrior" pieces can benefit from the CE. This is different from the 'trooper' CEs because 'Warrior' isn't a named ability, while 'Trooper' is.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: New to community
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 2:10 pm 
Unnamed Stormtrooper
Unnamed Stormtrooper
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 4:14 pm
Posts: 8
another question,
A commander effect which applies to "allies" applies to allied commanders as well correct? I assume this because the term "followers" seems to apply to only allies without commander effects; and so, in turn, "allies" would apply to all team members?
(case in point, Yomin Carr's "Poison +10" effect applying to Warmaster Tsavong Lah.)

*addendum* Is Boba Fett BH really legal in tournament play? I mean come on!!! talk about meta.

_________________
*200 squads only*


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: New to community
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 2:23 pm 
Droid Army Commander
Droid Army Commander
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 11:57 am
Posts: 1450
Location: Morris, MN
Whenever a CE specifies allies, it works for everyone you have, commanders included. So yes, Yomin Car can give Warmaster Tsvong Lah poison +10.

_________________
Image

Aliit ori'shya tal'din ("Family is more than Blood")
To learn Mandalorian, go to http://www.karentraviss.com/html/mando.htm.

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: New to community
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 2:28 pm 
Unnamed Stormtrooper
Unnamed Stormtrooper
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 4:14 pm
Posts: 8
excellent.
so this squad really IS this good.
I keep trying to figure out why it's so good, and I guess it just is... lol
I thought I had rules wrong in my head. lol

ok nother question... (you guys rule)

about gaining cover from corners.... is there a rule as far as lines between corners that decides whether a character has cover?

_________________
*200 squads only*


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: New to community
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 2:28 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:03 pm
Posts: 2525
Location: Anderson, SC
Xanatos wrote:
another question,
A commander effect which applies to "allies" applies to allied commanders as well correct? I assume this because the term "followers" seems to apply to only allies without commander effects; and so, in turn, "allies" would apply to all team members?
(case in point, Yomin Carr's "Poison +10" effect applying to Warmaster Tsavong Lah.)

*addendum* Is Boba Fett BH really legal in tournament play? I mean come on!!! talk about meta.


Correct on the ce part. As far as boba, bh goes yes in some cases he is meta but you should really play him for the consistant 40 damage with accurite not the big d

_________________
Bald is beautiful.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: New to community
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 3:06 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Xanatos wrote:
about gaining cover from corners.... is there a rule as far as lines between corners that decides whether a character has cover?


I would suggest you look up NickName's Line of Sight guide. It explains cover quite well.

The simple way to determine it though, is when you check for cover, if the line crosses 2 or more pink or green lines, then the character has cover. If nicking a corner is the only pink/green you could be considered to hit, then the character does not have cover.

I highly suggest you jump on Vassal sometime and have someone show you some of the intricacies of cover if you're having problems with it. You'll learn faster on there than anything else.

Also, be sure to peruse the official FAQ, as several of your questions so far would have been answered in there. ;)

And yes, Boba Fett BH can be annoying sometimes, but in a true high-profile tournament setting, he's not necessarily meta. You can't play him expecting to roll 20s, because more often than not, you can go an entire tournament and never get one meaningful Disintegration. He is still a solid piece though, and when used right, you can build decent squads around him.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Darth Ruthven and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield