logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Disintegration?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 5:11 am 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 7:46 am
Posts: 27
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
I realize that this is an old topic but I've been trying to figure out something with regards to Disintigration, some help would be greatly appreciated.

What exactly triggers the effects of Disintigration? Is it the critical hit or it is taking damage? I've been going over the glossary and it says that if another character takes damage from the attack (ex. Bodyguard) it's the other character that gets defeated.

Would a character that is successful with a disintigration attack and have his shot thrown back at him via a Shield Bearer's Energy Shield/Imperial Entanglement's Vader's Relfect etc also get disintigrated? In that case which characters get defeated?

_________________
"To do one's duty is not always to do right. Concern yourself with right action. Let duty take care of itself."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 7:43 am 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
darkjacen wrote:
I realize that this is an old topic but I've been trying to figure out something with regards to Disintigration, some help would be greatly appreciated.

What exactly triggers the effects of Disintigration? Is it the critical hit or it is taking damage? I've been going over the glossary and it says that if another character takes damage from the attack (ex. Bodyguard) it's the other character that gets defeated.

Would a character that is successful with a disintigration attack and have his shot thrown back at him via a Shield Bearer's Energy Shield/Imperial Entanglement's Vader's Relfect etc also get disintigrated? In that case which characters get defeated?


It is the critical hit which causes the "BigD," as it has been called. That is why it cannot be evaded, deflected, etc. Bodyguard is the rare exception, and I am not sure I know exactly why it was ruled this way, but that is one of the few ways to avoid it. The damage can be put back towards whomever made the shot, so, in effect, Boba could disintegrate his target, and himself die by the 40 damage coming back to him through a Reflect or Shield ability.
Does that answer what you were looking for?

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 5:32 pm 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 7:46 am
Posts: 27
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Yup it does. So let me get this straight. If his shot gets thrown back at him both he and the target get disintigrated? What happens if I use a gungan shieldbearer's energy shield on an adjacent friendly? Would I also lose the shiedlbearer in the process or just the friendly who got targetted in the first place?

_________________
"To do one's duty is not always to do right. Concern yourself with right action. Let duty take care of itself."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 5:54 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
Nope. Bodyguard is the only one that can change who Disentegration affects. It is a specific exception to how it all other abilities works stated in Disentegration. All those others you listed only affects damage, where non-damaging effects are not affected, like Snare Rifle or Paralysis, or Disentegtation most of the time.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:22 am 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 7:46 am
Posts: 27
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
So...all i'd end up doing is throwing back damage at the Disintegrate-er? The one who shot won't get disintegrated as well?

_________________
"To do one's duty is not always to do right. Concern yourself with right action. Let duty take care of itself."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:41 am 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
That is correct!
darkjacen wrote:
So...all i'd end up doing is throwing back damage at the Disintegrate-er? The one who shot won't get disintegrated as well?

That is correct!

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:32 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Noo no no no

If Boba BH shoots at Luke & Yoda, and Boba rolls a 20, then Loda is Disintegrated. Nothing he can do about that. Now, he could spend the Force Points for Reflect, and roll his save of 11, and he makes the save. Now, Loda is still Disintegrated, but the damage from the crit is also reflected back at Boba. That damage is just 40 (20 x2 for the crit). So, if Boba fails his save of 11 as well, then Loda is Disintegated, and Boba takes 40 damage.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 4:40 pm 
Droid Army Commander
Droid Army Commander
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:28 pm
Posts: 1636
Lobo:

I think you got the wrong Reflect in there. Luke and Yoda would only send back 10 damage regardless of the crit's damage. Darth Vader, Legacy of the Force would send back the prevented damage but only on a failed save by the Reflectee.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:12 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Whoops, yeah, you're right. I was thinking more about the reflected damage from Molecular Shields or the Gungan Shieldbearer actually. Not sure why I talked about LS Reflect instead then, lol.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:13 pm 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 7:46 am
Posts: 27
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
OKay guys, thanks a lot. It's pretty clear enough now. ;)

_________________
"To do one's duty is not always to do right. Concern yourself with right action. Let duty take care of itself."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield