logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Map question
PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 2:13 pm 
Sith Apprentice
Sith Apprentice

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:30 pm
Posts: 265
Okay in my 07 starter the flip side of the korriban map is enitled "Imperial Base" however this map is not lsited at all on the DCI floor rules,its not under legeal or illegal..So was this an oversight or is my copy of the map special being that only I have it :?:

_________________
STOP IT! STOP IT! CAN'T YOU SEE THIS CONSTANT FIGHTING IS TEARING US ALL APART?-Carl

Things i've said in the past that got dismissed and now are being talked about:
restricting formats by set
Some chosing not to play the game if and when another company picks it up without the current mechanics


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Map question
PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 3:25 pm 
Sith Apprentice
Sith Apprentice
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:07 pm
Posts: 227
Location: Indiana
No. It's not an oversight. It's actually called Chancellor's Starship. You are referring to the reprint (on the other side of Korriban). Chancellor's Starship was originally in the Revenge of the Sith Ultimate Missions book.

Korriban is not DCI legal. However the Chancellor's Starship is legal for 100, 150, and 200 point games.

_________________
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Map question
PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:07 pm 
Sith Apprentice
Sith Apprentice

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:30 pm
Posts: 265
SteveSpikes wrote:
No. It's not an oversight. It's actually called Chancellor's Starship. You are referring to the reprint (on the other side of Korriban). Chancellor's Starship was originally in the Revenge of the Sith Ultimate Missions book.

then i guess i have a map with a misslabed name and a missing airlock :lol:

_________________
STOP IT! STOP IT! CAN'T YOU SEE THIS CONSTANT FIGHTING IS TEARING US ALL APART?-Carl

Things i've said in the past that got dismissed and now are being talked about:
restricting formats by set
Some chosing not to play the game if and when another company picks it up without the current mechanics


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Map question
PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 6:02 pm 
Sith Apprentice
Sith Apprentice
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:07 pm
Posts: 227
Location: Indiana
Are you referring to the "hardback" map from the Revenge of the Sith Starter Set?

If so, that map is simply called Starship. That map has the airlock you mentioned.

_________________
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Map question
PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 6:13 pm 
Hall of Fame Member
Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 11:43 am
Posts: 1163
Location: Fremont, CA
www.the-holocron.com

Guides, Official Maps Guide

Picture says a thousand words.

_________________


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Map question
PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 7:12 pm 
Sith Apprentice
Sith Apprentice

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:30 pm
Posts: 265
SteveSpikes wrote:
Are you referring to the "hardback" map from the Revenge of the Sith Starter Set?

If so, that map is simply called Starship. That map has the airlock you mentioned.


NickName wrote:
http://www.the-holocron.com

Guides, Official Maps Guide

Picture says a thousand words.



Fine i will take a picture of the map thats says "Imperial base" that has no air lock that came with the 2007 starter,not the RotS starter

_________________
STOP IT! STOP IT! CAN'T YOU SEE THIS CONSTANT FIGHTING IS TEARING US ALL APART?-Carl

Things i've said in the past that got dismissed and now are being talked about:
restricting formats by set
Some chosing not to play the game if and when another company picks it up without the current mechanics


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Map question
PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 10:53 pm 
Sith Apprentice
Sith Apprentice

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:30 pm
Posts: 265
ender_ wrote:
SteveSpikes wrote:
Are you referring to the "hardback" map from the Revenge of the Sith Starter Set?

If so, that map is simply called Starship. That map has the airlock you mentioned.


NickName wrote:
http://www.the-holocron.com

Guides, Official Maps Guide

Picture says a thousand words.



Fine i will take a picture of the map thats says "Imperial base" that has no air lock that came with the 2007 starter,not the RotS starter


okay it is the starship map :oops: ,but its still LABLED Imperial base which is not listed in the floor rules,which compared to other things going on aorund would be the simplest change to the floor rules recommended putting it like either starship(imperial base) or something else because it did come up during a game on vassal agisnt someone who has been playing for 5 years and he didn't seem to know which map I was talking about when i won map roll

_________________
STOP IT! STOP IT! CAN'T YOU SEE THIS CONSTANT FIGHTING IS TEARING US ALL APART?-Carl

Things i've said in the past that got dismissed and now are being talked about:
restricting formats by set
Some chosing not to play the game if and when another company picks it up without the current mechanics


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Map question
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2009 9:43 pm 
Sith Apprentice
Sith Apprentice

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:05 am
Posts: 269
ender_ wrote:
okay it is the starship map :oops: ,but its still LABLED Imperial base which is not listed in the floor rules,which compared to other things going on aorund would be the simplest change to the floor rules recommended putting it like either starship(imperial base) or something else because it did come up during a game on vassal agisnt someone who has been playing for 5 years and he didn't seem to know which map I was talking about when i won map roll


There's plenty of cases like that, particularly with the early maps, which that map is, despite being part of the 2007 Starter. The early maps simply didn't have a name. People assigned names based on what it seemed like the map was meant to represent, hence the common name 'Chancellor's Starship'.

DCI wanted something more solid to base the map names on, so they are based on what's usually the first word, starting from the left edge of the map, or the most prominent feature on the map. Hence the same map being referred to as 'Throne Room' in DCI rules.

Of course, this means you end up with odd choices like 'Plateau' for Mustafar, even though it's not the only map with a plateau, and the plateau is also not really the most significant feature on the map.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Map question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 12:25 am 
Hall of Fame Member
Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 11:43 am
Posts: 1163
Location: Fremont, CA
Where exactly is it labeled "Imperial Base" on the map? I don't see it. I do see "Throne Room" on the map which is what DCI uses. The DCI name must appear somewhere on the map.

_________________


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Map question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:24 am 
Sith Apprentice
Sith Apprentice

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:30 pm
Posts: 265
NickName wrote:
Where exactly is it labeled "Imperial Base" on the map? I don't see it. I do see "Throne Room" on the map which is what DCI uses. The DCI name must appear somewhere on the map.


lower corner of the throne room by the starting area, stright down from the arilock,i had hope to have had a pic by now,but my camera is having focusing issues again >.<

_________________
STOP IT! STOP IT! CAN'T YOU SEE THIS CONSTANT FIGHTING IS TEARING US ALL APART?-Carl

Things i've said in the past that got dismissed and now are being talked about:
restricting formats by set
Some chosing not to play the game if and when another company picks it up without the current mechanics


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Map question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:32 am 
Sith Apprentice
Sith Apprentice

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:05 am
Posts: 269
ender_ wrote:
NickName wrote:
Where exactly is it labeled "Imperial Base" on the map? I don't see it. I do see "Throne Room" on the map which is what DCI uses. The DCI name must appear somewhere on the map.


lower corner of the throne room by the starting area, stright down from the arilock,i had hope to have had a pic by now,but my camera is having focusing issues again >.<



Yes, it's by the 2007 copyright notice. Bottom right corner of the room designated as 'Throne Room'. The 2005 edition of the map does not have that label.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Map question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:03 am 
Sith Apprentice
Sith Apprentice

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:30 pm
Posts: 265
eMouse wrote:
ender_ wrote:
NickName wrote:
Where exactly is it labeled "Imperial Base" on the map? I don't see it. I do see "Throne Room" on the map which is what DCI uses. The DCI name must appear somewhere on the map.


lower corner of the throne room by the starting area, stright down from the arilock,i had hope to have had a pic by now,but my camera is having focusing issues again >.<



Yes, it's by the 2007 copyright notice. Bottom right corner of the room designated as 'Throne Room'. The 2005 edition of the map does not have that label.


the following fuzzy pics were taken with my webcam,since the digital cam was having issues

Image

Image

Image

_________________
STOP IT! STOP IT! CAN'T YOU SEE THIS CONSTANT FIGHTING IS TEARING US ALL APART?-Carl

Things i've said in the past that got dismissed and now are being talked about:
restricting formats by set
Some chosing not to play the game if and when another company picks it up without the current mechanics


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Map question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:16 am 
Hall of Fame Member
Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 11:43 am
Posts: 1163
Location: Fremont, CA
Ha. Wow, it's there but much smaller than expected. Never noticed it. :)

Anyway, they can't use that as the DCI name because it doesn't appear on the previous release of the map in the UM book and the name must appear on the map for DCI. I can put it as the 'common name' in the map guide but it's kind of uncommon. :P

_________________


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Map question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 11:51 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
When in doubt....check the Archives!! In addition to NickName's excellent map guide on the Holocron, in the Archives here in swmgamers, under the 'Supplements' section, there's a thread for the WOTC Official Maps. For each map there, I've listed the official DCI name for each map, in addition to the more 'common' names the players typically use with those maps.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Map question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 12:40 pm 
Sith Apprentice
Sith Apprentice

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:30 pm
Posts: 265
NickName wrote:
Ha. Wow, it's there but much smaller than expected. Never noticed it. :)

Anyway, they can't use that as the DCI name because it doesn't appear on the previous release of the map in the UM book and the name must appear on the map for DCI. I can put it as the 'common name' in the map guide but it's kind of uncommon. :P


That will be msot excellent,lol That way folks who pick up the 07 starter won't go "What the heck?!?" like i did when i was reading the map list and as for it being uncommon, well I am an uncommon player..... :P

_________________
STOP IT! STOP IT! CAN'T YOU SEE THIS CONSTANT FIGHTING IS TEARING US ALL APART?-Carl

Things i've said in the past that got dismissed and now are being talked about:
restricting formats by set
Some chosing not to play the game if and when another company picks it up without the current mechanics


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Map question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:26 pm 
Hall of Fame Member
Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 11:43 am
Posts: 1163
Location: Fremont, CA
LoboStele wrote:
When in doubt....check the Archives!! In addition to NickName's excellent map guide on the Holocron, in the Archives here in swmgamers, under the 'Supplements' section, there's a thread for the WOTC Official Maps. For each map there, I've listed the official DCI name for each map, in addition to the more 'common' names the players typically use with those maps.


BTW, I added the pics for the Map Pack maps to HOLOCRON's guide. As before, feel free to reuse them for the archives as long as you rehost them so it's not eating into our bandwidth.

_________________


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Online
 Post subject: Re: Map question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:27 pm 
Droid Army Commander
Droid Army Commander

Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 1:37 pm
Posts: 1279
NickName wrote:
http://www.the-holocron.com

Guides, Official Maps Guide

Picture says a thousand words.


Board Index
Scroll Down: Fool's Center of Jedi Technology
ARchives of the Gamers Jedi (Supplements)
2007 Starter Set

Link: viewtopic.php?f=89&t=3857


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield