logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: TBSV CE: GMA + XTRA MVMT
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 7:27 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6622
Location: Southern IL
Sorry about the subject, was trying to be concise :P

Question:

If a character who is granted GMA (by the TBSV) moves, then makes an attack at range of 6 from the TBSV or a Mouse, kills the enemy, and then is granted extra movement (say Leia Rebel Hero's CE or Rolling Cleave) taking it farther than 6 squares from the TBSV/Mouse, does it lose the ability to make the rest of its attacks (per its normal SA)?

I hope that made sense :?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: TBSV CE: GMA + XTRA MVMT
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 7:42 pm 
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:31 pm
Posts: 3575
Location: Cincinnati, OH
You check the CE when you use it, so if you're out of TBSV/MD range then you'd lose GMA.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: TBSV CE: GMA + XTRA MVMT
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 7:44 pm 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
swinefeld wrote:
If a character who is granted GMA (by the TBSV) moves, then makes an attack at range of 6 from the TBSV or a Mouse, kills the enemy, and then is granted extra movement (say Leia Rebel Hero's CE or Rolling Cleave) taking it farther than 6 squares from the TBSV/Mouse, does it lose the ability to make the rest of its attacks (per its normal SA)?

Okay, wow, great question!
Commander Effects are always checked when they are going to be used. In this scenario, the character has GMA when he begins, and then again when he gains Leia's CE, which does not prevent extra attacks, so I would say he could still move and get the extra attacks. Of course, he would no longer have GMA for his next activation unless he comes under the CE of the TBSV again.

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: TBSV CE: GMA + XTRA MVMT
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 8:10 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6622
Location: Southern IL
Thanks guys, it definitely is a little tricky :P

So as an example, Jarael moves to 6 from TBSV, hits, kills, Leia's CE kicks in, Jarael moves out of range of TBSV and can't attack again (even though Leia would otherwise grant it) because she no longer has GMA... (and she moved first!)

Example 2: Asajj, SA is buffed with GMA, same scenario as above (minus Leia) moves, hits, kills, Rolling Cleave takes her out of range, she gets her free attack but then can't take the double...

If I didn't muck that up, I think I get the jist ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: TBSV CE: GMA + XTRA MVMT
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2009 9:06 am 
Black Sun Thug
Black Sun Thug
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 3:07 pm
Posts: 70
Location: My own moon lander...with blackjack...and hookers
I think that whenever you move out of the range of the CE, you no longer gain the benefits.

It would be interesting to see how this is ruled, however, since the CE you're talking about does not prevent the use of extra attacks.

While I'd like it to work so you do not lose the extra attacks, I think since you are farther than 6 away you will lose them.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: TBSV CE: GMA + XTRA MVMT
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2009 11:23 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6622
Location: Southern IL
jschristy wrote:
I think that whenever you move out of the range of the CE, you no longer gain the benefits.

It would be interesting to see how this is ruled, however, since the CE you're talking about does not prevent the use of extra attacks.

While I'd like it to work so you do not lose the extra attacks, I think since you are farther than 6 away you will lose them.

Agreed.
I think the extra movement from Leia would come before checking range for GMA for an additional attack. However, the wording of her CE is such that any character with an extra attack would be able to move the two squares and use it under normal circumstances, so in a way her CE is granting GMA to begin with.

The question came to me after I looked at Krosan's GmAsajj Ventress squad:
http://www.swmgamers.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7038
He made a comment about how Asajj had to give up Loner in exchange for maintaining GMA, and I started pondering if she were to get a Rolling Cleave that took her out of range of a Mouse, she could then potentially get Loner for the free attack, then I wondered if GMA would still be in effect (the timing of when you check for it)

I would definitely like to see how this would be ruled in Leia's case. Perhaps I will pose the question on WotC and see if NickName addresses it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield