logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Rules Mod needs a Rules answer :P Dark Armor vs. FI
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 1:52 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
OK, this one I hadn't thought of until now. Say Vader is being attacked by someone with Force Immunity, either a Vong or someone in the Thrawn bubble. Can he use a Force Point when rolling his save for Dark Armor? Yes, I know the Dark Armor roll is 'in response to' an attack by a FI character. For some reason, my first instinct was to say "Sure, he can use a FP" but now I'm not really that sure.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:37 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
See?! That's exactly why I asked. :P

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:48 pm 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
Let me remember back to Gencon <sigh>.
Ruling there was that everyone from inside the bubble has FI, so no rerolling (and I didn't get my Reflect, either). Now, needless to say, Jason did not make the ruling there, but I think it falls in line with the new FI rulings.

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:01 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
No no no....Vader is OUTSIDE the bubble in this example. Only person who has FI is the attacker. I guess the example is easier if it's a Vong character attacking Vader.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:04 pm 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
Yeah, that is how I meant to say it, Lobo. My Jaina was outside the bubble, but the Stormie shooting here was inside, and I could not use Reflect b/c the Stormie effectively had FI.

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:44 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
Dark Armor is an ability that is used in response to an attack. Thus you can't re-roll it against an attack from someone with Force Immunity.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 5:48 pm 
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina

Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 6:18 pm
Posts: 175
Sithborg is correct.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 6:17 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 1:20 pm
Posts: 661
yeah.. like usual SB hit's it on the nail :D

Basically, the way FI has been reworded any interacting Force point usage is null in void. so re-rolling or using FP to pay for a ability targeting a FI'ed character is a no no.

Far as the whole bubble thing though.. i don't feel coffident enough to comment till i go back over the glossery and rulings to be certian.

_________________
Image

[spoiler="crap"]
Quote:
MediocreMind
Support bacteria - it's the only culture some people have!

Code:
DCI Ranking
Star Wars Miniatures Constructed (as of 2008-09-15)
1826 rating   64 matches   21 events   
    37  All   33  North America   7  Canada   1  CA-Ontario   
[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 9:24 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
dvader831 wrote:
Yeah, that is how I meant to say it, Lobo. My Jaina was outside the bubble, but the Stormie shooting here was inside, and I could not use Reflect b/c the Stormie effectively had FI.


Bah, I know Defelct/Reflect/Block...those are the easy ones, because it says so in the glossary.

Dark Armor was just throwing me for a loop becuase it's really more of an effect based on the damage taken, not necessarily connected to the source of the damage.

Thanks SithBorg. I figured that was how it worked.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 11:52 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Hahahahaha.....that's right, I could! Nah, I'm an honest guy. I goof things up all the time. I had the stupid Rodian BSV's CE all goofed up this past week. Cost me two Storm Commandos in the first round too. :(

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield