logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Thrawn Switch
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:25 pm 
Third Jedi from the Left
Third Jedi from the Left
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:09 pm
Posts: 140
I need to know where I can find the in-print ruling on Thrawn's CE for switching. (I have found it in the Archives here, and I know what the rule is...but I need the "official, in-print from Wizards" version.)

One of the kids at the game last night was pushing the issue that since Thrawn's card doesn't say "same base size," that Thrawn could switch anybody with anybody else (i.e. AT-ST with a Trooper).

I said that, no, Thrawn can only switch equal sizes.

He countered that K-3PO's card specifically says "same size," and that Thrawn's doesn't, so therefore Thrawn could do whatever he wanted.

I looked in the rule book (the only thing I had with me at the time), and it didn't say anything about it. Since then, I've gone over all the FAQs and the "unofficial glossary" and am still unable to find the ruling in print. Either I'm totally missing it, or it's only been covered in rules discussions.


As an aside, it's weird that he's complaining now, since he and/or his brother has played Thrawn for a couple years the correct way. Additionally, he was rallying this point for another player, not himself. (Fortunately, the Thrawn player respected my ruling and didn't switch differening sizes.)

Looks like one of our "kids" is turning into a "teen" now, and I'll have to bring the full FAQs, Erratas and Glossary with me to every event now to counter his "I know better than you" attitude. :P

Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:10 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Hmm....that's an interesting one. I just looked through what I have available to me here, and I don't see it anywhere. I can't access the full errata on the WotC homepage from here though, so that's the only place I can think of that it might be.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:41 pm 
Third Jedi from the Left
Third Jedi from the Left
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 3:16 pm
Posts: 135
Location: Lynden, WA
It is in the Errata under the Universe heading:

Grand Admiral Thrawn (Imperial, 38/60)
The two allies that can be switched with his commander ability must have the same base size; for example, two Huge characters can switch position, but not one Large and one Huge character.

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=starwars/article/miniserrata


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 2:32 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
That makes sense as to why it's actually on the card for K-3PO then.

Angie, sounds like you ended up checking all the places except the one where it was hiding! I hate it when that happens!

Thanks, ChuckaFett!

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 5:00 pm 
Third Jedi from the Left
Third Jedi from the Left
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:09 pm
Posts: 140
ChuckaFett wrote:
It is in the Errata under the Universe heading:


I see it now. I will be printing it out and bringing it along to the next game. (Sad, really, because I've never had to "need" this stuff before at our casual gaming events.) Thanks! 8)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 5:15 pm 
Moff Disra
Moff Disra

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:06 pm
Posts: 1359
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Xffan_2000 wrote:
I see it now. I will be printing it out and bringing it along to the next game. (Sad, really, because I've never had to "need" this stuff before at our casual gaming events.) Thanks! 8)

I've been hanging around teenagers for the last 5 years (youth group sponsor). They get to a point where they start to ask a lot of questions. After answering them for a while, they do start to have some neat ideas.

Even Ani was not promoted to the Jedi Council overnight.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield