logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Repost of question about strafers...
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 6:03 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:42 pm
Posts: 587
This is my post on the Wizards boards...

This may have come up previously, but if it has I was unable to find it.

You announce a normal move with a huge figure (Basilisk, for example) and begin moving to strafe. Now, I realize you cannot end your move on an enemy figure (or a friendly for that matter). This brings up some interesting questions...

1) Must you declare your eventual target square prior to beginning your movement? If so, is that true for everyone? In other words, wouldn't this affect square-by-square decisions for AoOs that we make all the time (ok, this guy missed me, so I'll press on... oh, this one hit me, I'll stop there)?

2) If that is a "no", what happens when you begin a move with a huge flier, and you cannot land safely? Is your move negated? Or do you simply die?

3) What about initiating a move, counting on the strafe to clear you a landing zone? If it does not, what happens?

Again, my apologies if this was answered before... seen lots of strafing threads, missed this one if it was already covered.

_________________
I game, therefore I am.
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:41 pm 
Jedi Council
Jedi Council
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 4:03 pm
Posts: 1861
Location: Springfield
From what I remember the way it works is you have to have a legal spot to end your move in before you start the strafe. However, if you kill one or more of your targets while strafing you can end in a newly opened spot.

_________________
Slinky + Escalator = Endless Fun


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:43 am 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:42 pm
Posts: 587
Yep, seems so, danke :)

_________________
I game, therefore I am.
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 9:21 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:07 pm
Posts: 811
homer_sapien wrote:
From what I remember the way it works is you have to have a legal spot to end your move in before you start the strafe. However, if you kill one or more of your targets while strafing you can end in a newly opened spot.

This USED to be true. Nickname recently posted onteh wizards boards that you must pick the end spot and actually end there, although the path may change.

_________________
The Wookiee Master

Check us out over at Pojo.com

"It appears the Bothans have rooked us again."
-Obi wan


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 12:35 pm 
Jedi Council
Jedi Council
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 4:03 pm
Posts: 1861
Location: Springfield
Nothing I love more than surprise rule changes.

_________________
Slinky + Escalator = Endless Fun


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:37 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
That is why the new rulebook is such a great thing to have.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:31 pm 
Jedi Council
Jedi Council
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 4:03 pm
Posts: 1861
Location: Springfield
Sithborg wrote:
That is why the new rulebook is such a great thing to have.


I know. I plan to get the starter eventually. I want to get mine at my NSLGS and I never seem to have a spare $15 when i manage to get up there.

_________________
Slinky + Escalator = Endless Fun


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 5:10 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:15 pm
Posts: 690
homer_sapien wrote:
Sithborg wrote:
That is why the new rulebook is such a great thing to have.


I know. I plan to get the starter eventually. I want to get mine at my NSLGS and I never seem to have a spare $15 when i manage to get up there.



You can download it free of WOTC site. Hope that helps.

_________________
Forgive the hero, thous who would have died


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield