logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Combined Fire and no damage printed but opportunist
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 10:41 am 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 12:48 pm
Posts: 43
Can a caamasi noble make a combined fire if he gain opportunist with thrawn ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Combined Fire and no damage printed but opportunist
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 10:45 am 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:42 pm
Posts: 3599
Location: New Jersey
No, because he doesn't have a printed damage rating. At least, that's how I've always understood it.

But someone else could combine fire with the Noble (assuming opportunist is in effect) if desired.

_________________
"Don't give the tool more credit than the master." --Weeks
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Combined Fire and no damage printed but opportunist
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:00 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
thereisnotry wrote:
No, because he doesn't have a printed damage rating. At least, that's how I've always understood it.


For the most part, this covers most situations. There are situations where a straight damage bonus is given, and isn't tied to attacking (like Cunning or Jedi Hunter), that would allow a figure with 0 Dam able to combine fire. It has become a bit more common due to Advanced Battle Meditation, but before it was primarily the Stormtrooper Commander.

So yes, Bastilla can make all your Bothan Diplomats into Combined Fire fodder.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Combined Fire and no damage printed but opportunist
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:05 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6579
Location: Southern IL
Sithborg wrote:
thereisnotry wrote:
No, because he doesn't have a printed damage rating. At least, that's how I've always understood it.


For the most part, this covers most situations. There are situations where a straight damage bonus is given, and isn't tied to attacking (like Cunning or Jedi Hunter), that would allow a figure with 0 Dam able to combine fire. It has become a bit more common due to Advanced Battle Meditation, but before it was primarily the Stormtrooper Commander.

So yes, Bastilla can make all your Bothan Diplomats into Combined Fire fodder.


The damage boost from ABM doesn't affect characters with 0 printed damage.

Quote:
Destiny of the Force Errata

Advanced Battle Meditation
Add the following:
This damage bonus applies only to characters that have a Damage value greater than 0.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Combined Fire and no damage printed but opportunist
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:05 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:57 pm
Posts: 3502
Bastila only affects characters that deal more than 0 Damage, so it doesn't work with the Caamasi Nobles or with Mouse Droids. It's in the errata.

Ninja'd by swinefeld!

_________________
"An elegant, easy-to-understand concept or mechanic that accomplishes 95% of what you want is much better than a clunky, obtuse mechanic that gets you 100%" - Rob Daviau

"You can't per aspera ad astra unless there's some aspera in front of your astra. And that means sometimes the aspera gets you." - Donald X. Vaccarino


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Combined Fire and no damage printed but opportunist
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:06 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
That's right. I forgot about the errata.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Combined Fire and no damage printed but opportunist
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 3:35 pm 
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 2931
Sithborg wrote:

For the most part, this covers most situations. There are situations where a straight damage bonus is given, and isn't tied to attacking (like Cunning or Jedi Hunter), that would allow a figure with 0 Dam able to combine fire.[/quote]

Well since the original question had to do with opportunist and combining fire. If this is ok with cunning then wouldn't be ok with opportunist as well?

_________________
"But one thing I have learned in this process is that flavor can't override the good of the game."
-urbanshmi2-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Combined Fire and no damage printed but opportunist
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 3:41 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
Any bonus that is "when attacking X".

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield