logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Bribery Question
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 12:33 pm 
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:51 am
Posts: 161
Apologize in advance, as I'm sure this has already been covered, but I just want clarification on the following;
I have the Bribery special ability and my opponant has Lobot (Reinforcements)- I can take, from his reinforcements brought in, 10 pts, which he in turn loses, and these 10 pts come to my squad? Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bribery Question
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 12:37 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:57 pm
Posts: 3519
Yep, that's basically the point of it. If you take his 10 points worth of characters, though, they replace the set of 10 you originally chose to bring in with Bribery. So you only ever get a max of 10 points worth of characters from Bribery; either 10 points worth that you hand-picked yourself, OR you get to "steal" 10 points worth from your opponent's set of Reinforcements.

_________________
"An elegant, easy-to-understand concept or mechanic that accomplishes 95% of what you want is much better than a clunky, obtuse mechanic that gets you 100%" - Rob Daviau

"You can't per aspera ad astra unless there's some aspera in front of your astra. And that means sometimes the aspera gets you." - Donald X. Vaccarino


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bribery Question
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 12:44 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
Yes, the 10 pts you take join your squad.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bribery Question
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:19 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:42 pm
Posts: 3599
Location: New Jersey
What if he has Salacious Crumb in his base squad and I bring in Salacious Crumb via Reinforcements? Can Tyber steal my Crumb too so that he has two of the same Unique fig in his squad?

_________________
"Don't give the tool more credit than the master." --Weeks
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bribery Question
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:35 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6619
Location: Southern IL
thereisnotry wrote:
What if he has Salacious Crumb in his base squad and I bring in Salacious Crumb via Reinforcements? Can Tyber steal my Crumb too so that he has two of the same Unique fig in his squad?

:D

(edit: I'm really surprised that I haven't seen this come up before now)


Last edited by swinefeld on Wed Jun 13, 2012 10:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bribery Question
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:44 pm 
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina

Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 8:17 pm
Posts: 186
thereisnotry wrote:
What if he has Salacious Crumb in his base squad and I bring in Salacious Crumb via Reinforcements? Can Tyber steal my Crumb too so that he has two of the same Unique fig in his squad?


OR WHAT ABOUT TWO FIGRIN D'ANS?!?

TYBER ZANN = BORKEN

_________________
Image
GMB from ATL


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bribery Question
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 11:20 pm 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee

Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 9:09 am
Posts: 46
greentime wrote:
thereisnotry wrote:
What if he has Salacious Crumb in his base squad and I bring in Salacious Crumb via Reinforcements? Can Tyber steal my Crumb too so that he has two of the same Unique fig in his squad?


OR WHAT ABOUT TWO FIGRIN D'ANS?!?

TYBER ZANN = BORKEN


I lol'ed so hard. Hahahaha.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bribery Question
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 9:32 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
thereisnotry wrote:
What if he has Salacious Crumb in his base squad and I bring in Salacious Crumb via Reinforcements? Can Tyber steal my Crumb too so that he has two of the same Unique fig in his squad?


Yes. Abilities that change who controls a character ignores Unique.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bribery Question
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 10:12 am 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:42 pm
Posts: 3599
Location: New Jersey
Thanks Scott!

_________________
"Don't give the tool more credit than the master." --Weeks
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bribery Question
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 10:14 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 1:08 pm
Posts: 8394
This isn't a new question. We had something like this come up win RS Boba Fett rolled a 1 against RotS Palpatine, who was on a squad with his own RS Boba Fett in a 200 pt. game. It's actually answered in the original rulebook.

EDIT: Another example of something like this was when Sly Moore was used to Dominate an enemy unique.

_________________
Click here to check out all the people who have realized the truth. Someday you will, too.

"I would really, really like to not have anything else happen at the end of the round other than things just ending." -- Sithborg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bribery Question
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 10:25 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6619
Location: Southern IL
Slightly different in that it takes place before the skirmish has begun and it doesn't involve a dice roll, but I see that the basic concept is the same.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bribery Question
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 4:08 pm 
General
General

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 2:14 am
Posts: 443
Location: Lower the Hutt, New Zealand
I know this has been asked somewhere... but, what happens if both people have Bribery in their squad? Is Bribery considered Reinforcements?

_________________
Mauri ora, mauri mate!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bribery Question
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 7:35 am 
Third Jedi from the Left
Third Jedi from the Left

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:05 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Wisconsn
The way I understand it the characters you bring in via Bribery are not considered Reinforcements therefore an enemy character with Bribery could not choose to steal the characters you bring in via that SA, and vice versa.

I believe its scored the same way (I.e. don't count for victory points, can't be used to get gambit points) but they aren't considered Reinforcements.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bribery Question
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 7:39 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:57 pm
Posts: 3519
No, Bribery specifies the actual special ability "Reinforcements", so if a character is brought in some way other than that specific ability, Bribery doesn't apply to them.

_________________
"An elegant, easy-to-understand concept or mechanic that accomplishes 95% of what you want is much better than a clunky, obtuse mechanic that gets you 100%" - Rob Daviau

"You can't per aspera ad astra unless there's some aspera in front of your astra. And that means sometimes the aspera gets you." - Donald X. Vaccarino


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield