logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:35 pm 
Unnamed Stormtrooper
Unnamed Stormtrooper

Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 9:50 pm
Posts: 8
can u use a mouse droid to combine fire.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:36 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
No. You must be able to do damage in order to combine fire. This is covered in the rulebook.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:37 pm 
Major Tierce
Major Tierce

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:21 pm
Posts: 3232
No

In order for a mini to combine fire it must have a printed damage of more than zero.

This is covered in the glossary under combiined fire I believe.

_________________
When I left you I was but the learner . . . now I am the master.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:39 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
urbanjedi wrote:
No

In order for a mini to combine fire it must have a printed damage of more than zero.

This is covered in the glossary under combiined fire I believe.


Not 100% accurate. If a character is given a straight +10 Dam bonus (like the Stormtrooper Commander), then they would be able to combine fire.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Last edited by Sithborg on Tue Jun 05, 2012 12:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 11:03 pm 
Major Tierce
Major Tierce

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:21 pm
Posts: 3232
so even though Lobot can't shoot under an active ABM, he can combine fire?

_________________
When I left you I was but the learner . . . now I am the master.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 12:35 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
urbanjedi wrote:
so even though Lobot can't shoot under an active ABM, he can combine fire?


Ooops, that's right, they changed it. So no, Lobot can't because he can't benefit from it. Something LIKE Advance Battle Meditation then, that's just a strait boost to damage, that isn't "when attacking".

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 8:10 am 
Droid Army Commander
Droid Army Commander
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 11:57 am
Posts: 1450
Location: Morris, MN
Along these lines of a character being able to do no damage, can a Rodian Diplomat gain Opportunist from Yularen? I played a game where this came up and the other guy said yes, and proceeded to kill my Kyle Katarn, Rebel Operative. I initially said he couldn't since the Rodian Diplomat doesn't have a damage rating (unlike the Imperial Dignitary), but I didn't feel like arguing the matter at the time.

_________________
Image

Aliit ori'shya tal'din ("Family is more than Blood")
To learn Mandalorian, go to http://www.karentraviss.com/html/mando.htm.

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 9:03 am 
Third Jedi from the Left
Third Jedi from the Left
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:17 am
Posts: 126
Location: Danville, IL
I believe the answer to that is yes, it's silly but characters with a printed 0 damage can make attacks for damage if they recieve some sort of boost like opportunist or cunning.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 9:39 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6625
Location: Southern IL
hannahcannon wrote:
I believe the answer to that is yes, it's silly but characters with a printed 0 damage can make attacks for damage if they recieve some sort of boost like opportunist or cunning.


Including Bacta Tanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 11:06 am 
Third Jedi from the Left
Third Jedi from the Left
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:17 am
Posts: 126
Location: Danville, IL
Yeah, I remember the discussion somewhere about the bacta tank. With the right CE's you could get it shooting for like 30 damage, and it can throw grenades.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 12:20 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:01 pm
Posts: 6662
Location: Chicago, IL
Just to be clear - combining fire and attacking are different.

(Correct me if I am wrong Chris or Scott, but . . .)

Characters with a 0 damage rating can attack when they receive bonuses to damage, but they still cannot COMBINE FIRE.

You must have a printed damage rating of 10 or more (and not have the Melee ability) to combine fire.

So Lobot on a team with Mitthrawn can "shoot" an activated enemy for 10 damage, but Lobot could NOT combine fire with another attacker to boost the other attackers attack rating, no matter what.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 12:43 pm 
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:31 pm
Posts: 3575
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Tim, this was brought up earlier on the thread:
Sithborg wrote:

If a [0 Damage, non-melee] character is given a straight +10 Dam bonus (like the Stormtrooper Commander), then they would be able to combine fire.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 1:07 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:01 pm
Posts: 6662
Location: Chicago, IL
jedispyder wrote:
Tim, this was brought up earlier on the thread:
Sithborg wrote:

If a [0 Damage, non-melee] character is given a straight +10 Dam bonus (like the Stormtrooper Commander), then they would be able to combine fire.



Right - I guess my greater point was the second part. Since this thread is about combining fire - I wanted to point out that even if those figs with 0 damage have a bonus to damage, they still cannot COMBINE FIRE.

It feels like that point may have been missed earlier as well


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 1:12 pm 
Major Tierce
Major Tierce

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:21 pm
Posts: 3232
Tim, I think that Scott is saying that if your Lobot had been given +10 Dam from the Storm trooper Commander then he actually could combine fire.

_________________
When I left you I was but the learner . . . now I am the master.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 1:57 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:01 pm
Posts: 6662
Location: Chicago, IL
urbanjedi wrote:
Tim, I think that Scott is saying that if your Lobot had been given +10 Dam from the Storm trooper Commander then he actually could combine fire.


Oh really - then that is new to me. Thanks for the clarification.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:02 pm 
Third Jedi from the Left
Third Jedi from the Left
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:17 am
Posts: 126
Location: Danville, IL
Well, it wouldn't work with Lobot, since the stormtrooper commander's CE only works on non-unique followers, but it would work on a mouse droid.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:04 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:57 pm
Posts: 3519
It wouldn't work on a Mouse Droid either, since Droids aren't subject to that CE. It would work on a Caamasi Noble, though!

_________________
"An elegant, easy-to-understand concept or mechanic that accomplishes 95% of what you want is much better than a clunky, obtuse mechanic that gets you 100%" - Rob Daviau

"You can't per aspera ad astra unless there's some aspera in front of your astra. And that means sometimes the aspera gets you." - Donald X. Vaccarino


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:06 pm 
Third Jedi from the Left
Third Jedi from the Left
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:17 am
Posts: 126
Location: Danville, IL
Ah good point, I forgot about that.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:47 pm 
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:31 pm
Posts: 3575
Location: Cincinnati, OH
The misconception comes from the Glossary:
"Characters with the Melee Attack special ability, or
characters who deal no damage, cannot use or benefit from combined fire."

When people read that, they automatically link "deal no damage" to mean having a "Damage 0" stat. So if they can deal damage, then they're able to combine fire.

And I'm guessing the reason you cannot combine fire if you have Damage 0 but instead have Cunning/Opportunist is because that's an ability they use that grants a bonus and do not directly have a base stat bonus. (Wouldn't be surprised if I'm wrong on that, lol)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: combined fire (mouse droid)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:59 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
jedispyder wrote:
And I'm guessing the reason you cannot combine fire if you have Damage 0 but instead have Cunning/Opportunist is because that's an ability they use that grants a bonus and do not directly have a base stat bonus. (Wouldn't be surprised if I'm wrong on that, lol)


It's because Cunning et al, only apply when you are attacking (+10 Dam when attacking an unactivated enemy). It needs to be a constant bonus to the damage. Don't worry about, it is a very old (Universe) and obscure ruling, that will rarely, if ever come up. It is also why Roger, Roger and Advance Battle Meditation were an issue with Mice.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield