logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Stealth and targeting
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 11:43 am 
Unnamed Stormtrooper
Unnamed Stormtrooper

Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 9:50 pm
Posts: 8
Stealth: If this character has cover, he does not count as the nearest enemy for an attacker farther then 6 squares when choosing a target.

so you move 6 and are 10 out and every character in sight has stealth and cover one is 8 away and the rest are 10 or more away. Can you target the one that is 8 away? or none at all?
Also if u have accurate shot can you target a character that has stealth and cover?

"So much to remember!"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Stealth and targeting
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 11:52 am 
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:31 pm
Posts: 3575
Location: Cincinnati, OH
If all enemies have Stealth and are further than 6 squares away, you can not attack anyone that is in cover. If a character is 20 squares away with Stealth but not in cover, you would be able to attack them as Stealth has not activated.

If you have Accurate Shot, you could attack any of these characters (unless they have "Super Stealth" or Cloaked).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Stealth and targeting
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 12:01 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:42 pm
Posts: 3599
Location: New Jersey
You cannot target a character who has stealth if that character has cover, unless you are within 6 spaces of that character. So in the situation you describe, if you're 8 spaces away from that character, you cannot make any attacks.

Accurate shot lets you ignore stealth for the purpose of determining legal targets, so in the above example, if you had accurate shot, you could shoot anyone you wanted to.

edit: JS beat me to it. I was busying answering a text. :oops:

_________________
"Don't give the tool more credit than the master." --Weeks
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Stealth and targeting
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 11:27 am 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:18 pm
Posts: 559
Also of note, if there is a character with stealth in cover 8 squares away and another character without stealth in cover 10 squares away, neither can be targeted ^^

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Stealth and targeting
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 11:49 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:57 pm
Posts: 3483
Jedi_Master wrote:
Also of note, if there is a character with stealth in cover 8 squares away and another character without stealth in cover 10 squares away, neither can be targeted ^^



This is not correct. From the Glossary entry for Stealth:

Quote:
If this character has cover, it does not count as the nearest enemy for choosing targets if the attacker is more than 6 squares away. A character can attack an enemy with cover only if that enemy is the nearest. If this character would be the nearest enemy, the next-nearest enemy counts as the nearest instead. Follow the normal rules for cover if the character with Stealth is within 6 squares of the attacker.


Emphasis mine.

_________________
"An elegant, easy-to-understand concept or mechanic that accomplishes 95% of what you want is much better than a clunky, obtuse mechanic that gets you 100%" - Rob Daviau

"You can't per aspera ad astra unless there's some aspera in front of your astra. And that means sometimes the aspera gets you." - Donald X. Vaccarino


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield