logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: No damage as a base
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 9:12 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:18 pm
Posts: 559
Doing this because it came up today and I couldn't find the errata readily.

If a character has a base of no damage and no attack it can not combine fire nor can it gain damage bonuses too, correct?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: No damage as a base
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 9:25 pm 
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:31 pm
Posts: 3575
Location: Cincinnati, OH
It can gain Damage bonuses but it cannot combine fire, even if it has a bonus to Damage. So the Caamasi Noble can get Opportunist from Thrawn and shoot character that have activated yet he cannot combine fire with anyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: No damage as a base
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 9:48 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
jedispyder wrote:
It can gain Damage bonuses but it cannot combine fire, even if it has a bonus to Damage. So the Caamasi Noble can get Opportunist from Thrawn and shoot character that have activated yet he cannot combine fire with anyone.


This is not entirely correct. A character with 0 printed damage can combine fire if they are given a straight damage boost (ie the Stormtrooper Commander or Advanced Battle Meditation). You will notice 99% of all boosts to damage granted by either stat bonus or special ability, only apply while attacking. It needs to be a plain damage boost.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: No damage as a base
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 12:58 am 
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:31 pm
Posts: 3575
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Oh yeah, I misremembered the rulebook. I thought it said "characters with 0 Damage" but it's just "characters that do not deal damage" (looks similar but as you said, very different).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: No damage as a base
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 6:12 am 
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina

Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 8:17 pm
Posts: 186
Sithborg wrote:
This is not entirely correct. A character with 0 printed damage can combine fire if they are given a straight damage boost (ie the Stormtrooper Commander or Advanced Battle Meditation). You will notice 99% of all boosts to damage granted by either stat bonus or special ability, only apply while attacking. It needs to be a plain damage boost.


So... mouse droids can combine fire if ABM is active?

_________________
Image
GMB from ATL


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: No damage as a base
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 6:40 am 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:18 pm
Posts: 559
Yeah, I want to make sure this is correct then...I can make a squad like this then is what you are saying...

Mouse droid doom!!!

39 HK-47, Assassin Droid
33 Bastila Shan, Jedi Master
27 Lobot
12 Gha Nachkt
9 Ugnaught Demolitionist X3
80 Mouse Droid X40

And have 40 mice who can combine fire and deal 10 damage on their turn?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: No damage as a base
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 8:46 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:57 pm
Posts: 3519
Go check the Glossary entry for ABM (I'd quote it but I'm posting from my phone). It doesn't apply to characters that have a base damage of 0, so Mouse Droids don't benefit from it. Same reason Roger Roger doesn't let them attack or combine fire.

_________________
"An elegant, easy-to-understand concept or mechanic that accomplishes 95% of what you want is much better than a clunky, obtuse mechanic that gets you 100%" - Rob Daviau

"You can't per aspera ad astra unless there's some aspera in front of your astra. And that means sometimes the aspera gets you." - Donald X. Vaccarino


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: No damage as a base
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 6:20 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
greentime wrote:
Sithborg wrote:
This is not entirely correct. A character with 0 printed damage can combine fire if they are given a straight damage boost (ie the Stormtrooper Commander or Advanced Battle Meditation). You will notice 99% of all boosts to damage granted by either stat bonus or special ability, only apply while attacking. It needs to be a plain damage boost.


So... mouse droids can combine fire if ABM is active?


No, because we added the same line to Advance Battle Meditation as was added to Roger, Roger.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield