logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Advanced Door Gimmick
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 3:31 pm 
Hall of Fame Member
Hall of Fame Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 6:33 pm
Posts: 589
Location: Central Pennsylvania
If my opponent used Republic Commando Fi's Advanced Door Gimmick ability to open a door, on my turn could I use an override piece to override the door open, then on my second activation use a second override piece to override that door closed?

_________________
Cancer is not the boss of me.

Being organized is for people who are too lazy to look for their stuff.

Lasers make everything better... except Alderaan.

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Door Gimmick
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 4:32 pm 
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:31 pm
Posts: 3575
Location: Cincinnati, OH
No, a door that has been ADG cannot be opened by Override. This will be part of the Glossary Text once it's released.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Door Gimmick
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 5:52 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:42 pm
Posts: 3599
Location: New Jersey
jedispyder wrote:
No, a door that has been ADG cannot be CLOSED by Override. This will be part of the Glossary Text once it's released.

Fixed.
ADG opens doors, doesn't close them.

_________________
"Don't give the tool more credit than the master." --Weeks
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Door Gimmick
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 7:25 am 
Hall of Fame Member
Hall of Fame Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 6:33 pm
Posts: 589
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Ok, just trying to understand this from a judge's point of view, so I'm still stuck on the 'why'. The door affected by ADG is subsequently overriden open. Why isn't the override now the current effect acting on that door? Doesn't the status change at that point from the door being gimmicked to being overriden? And, if so, can't it then be overriden closed on yet a third activation?

I'm not trying to nerf what I think is a good idea, I just want to be able to explain this in a tournament. I'm also asking this now so that this particular interaction can be addressed in the glossary. If you are saying that the glossary covers this interaction, I am satisfied to wait until that comes out. For ADG to work as intended, it basically needs to trump all override, not just override closed.

_________________
Cancer is not the boss of me.

Being organized is for people who are too lazy to look for their stuff.

Lasers make everything better... except Alderaan.

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Door Gimmick
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:14 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6623
Location: Southern IL
Interesting.

Perhaps the final glossary entry will state that an ADG'd door can not be overridden at all. :?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Door Gimmick
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:16 am 
Major Tierce
Major Tierce

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:21 pm
Posts: 3232
ADG trumps override so override has no effect on the door. Just like regular door gimmick/override that we have now. Door overridden closed. I door gimmick it with the iktotchi tech specialist. Nothing happens.

_________________
When I left you I was but the learner . . . now I am the master.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Door Gimmick
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:48 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:57 pm
Posts: 3519
I think regular Door Gimmick probably still has a precedent here, but I really have no idea how exactly it works. Imagine this scenario:

Opponent's R2-D2 uses Override to open a door.
I use my R7 to use Override on the door, keeping it open. Obviously this changes the "ownership" of the Override from R2 to my R7. This matters for things like activation order later and what happens when the characters get killed.
Now I use my Iktotchi Tech Specialist to use Door Gimmick on the door. Obviously if it were closed nothing would happen, but it's open. Does the "ownership" now change to my Iktotchi? If it does, then I can do something like use Homicidal Surgery on the Iktotchi and if it fails the save the door shuts, since the Door Gimmick would be gone.

That's a way to get around doors Overriden open if you want them closed, and I genuinely don't know how it would work. If you can use Override to keep open a ADG'd door to change the "ownership" of the door status, you can get around it in kind of a long-winded way. This is something that I don't think should happen, but it really just needs to follow the precedent of using Door Gimmick on an open door.

Scott's gonna have to answer this one I think.

_________________
"An elegant, easy-to-understand concept or mechanic that accomplishes 95% of what you want is much better than a clunky, obtuse mechanic that gets you 100%" - Rob Daviau

"You can't per aspera ad astra unless there's some aspera in front of your astra. And that means sometimes the aspera gets you." - Donald X. Vaccarino


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Door Gimmick
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 11:28 am 
Major Tierce
Major Tierce

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:21 pm
Posts: 3232
I believe the precedent was that if an overridden door (either opened or closed) was regular door gimmicked, then nothing happened and the "ownership" of the door state was still with the original overriding player. This is because override trumps door gimmick. I think the same would apply to override and the new ADG as ADG trumps override so no matter what I try to do with override, nothing happens and "ownership" of the state of the door is still with the ADG character.

_________________
When I left you I was but the learner . . . now I am the master.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Door Gimmick
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 12:02 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:42 pm
Posts: 3599
Location: New Jersey
urbanjedi wrote:
I believe the precedent was that if an overridden door (either opened or closed) was regular door gimmicked, then nothing happened and the "ownership" of the door state was still with the original overriding player. This is because override trumps door gimmick. I think the same would apply to override and the new ADG as ADG trumps override so no matter what I try to do with override, nothing happens and "ownership" of the state of the door is still with the ADG character.

That's how I understood it. Override will not have any affect whatsoever on a door that has been ADG'ed open.

_________________
"Don't give the tool more credit than the master." --Weeks
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Door Gimmick
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 1:33 pm 
Name Calling Internet Bully
Name Calling Internet Bully
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 6172
Location: Gurnee, IL
thereisnotry wrote:
urbanjedi wrote:
I believe the precedent was that if an overridden door (either opened or closed) was regular door gimmicked, then nothing happened and the "ownership" of the door state was still with the original overriding player. This is because override trumps door gimmick. I think the same would apply to override and the new ADG as ADG trumps override so no matter what I try to do with override, nothing happens and "ownership" of the state of the door is still with the ADG character.

That's how I understood it. Override will not have any affect whatsoever on a door that has been ADG'ed open.


Correct, intended to work exactly the same way we are already familiar with.

_________________
Image

http://www.bloomilk.com/Squads/Search.aspx?UserID=29


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Door Gimmick
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:48 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6623
Location: Southern IL
billiv15 wrote:
thereisnotry wrote:
urbanjedi wrote:
I believe the precedent was that if an overridden door (either opened or closed) was regular door gimmicked, then nothing happened and the "ownership" of the door state was still with the original overriding player. This is because override trumps door gimmick. I think the same would apply to override and the new ADG as ADG trumps override so no matter what I try to do with override, nothing happens and "ownership" of the state of the door is still with the ADG character.

That's how I understood it. Override will not have any affect whatsoever on a door that has been ADG'ed open.


Correct, intended to work exactly the same way we are already familiar with.

This all makes good sense.

Updating the glossary entries to explicitly state that Door Gimmick can't be used against an Overridden door, and that Override can't be used on an ADG'd door also makes good sense.

As it is now they only refer to not being able to close doors.

End Arcanity! :P


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Door Gimmick
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 4:47 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
FYI, I did add a new section to the FAQ & Errata, the mini-glossary. I did state that Override couldn't close the door, if you feel I need to tweak it, please let me know.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Door Gimmick
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:17 pm 
Hall of Fame Member
Hall of Fame Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 6:33 pm
Posts: 589
Location: Central Pennsylvania
I'm thinking the glossary should reflect that override (close and open) does not affect ADG, not just close.

_________________
Cancer is not the boss of me.

Being organized is for people who are too lazy to look for their stuff.

Lasers make everything better... except Alderaan.

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield