logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:07 pm 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 11:52 am
Posts: 350
Location: NJ
I would like a clarification about a character who has both Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble and the order of operations due to something that happened in a game.

When a character is hit by an attack and would take damage, You roll the Soresu save. But if that save fails, can you then use Force Bubble?
The glossary says
Quote:
You must decide whether to use this Force power immediately before the damage-dealing effect is resolved.


Does the Soresu roll still count as resolving it and allowing you to do the Bubble?

Also can you choose to do Force Bubble without doing the Soresu save at all if you desired to?

We ended up just allowing the bubble after failed rolls, because it kept our game interesting. But we wanted to clarify for next time and to prevent any possible future arguments in a close game

_________________
><


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:28 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
You can use Force Bubble after a failed Soresu Style Mastery save. Soresu Style Master must be resolved before Force Bubble. This is covered under the Resolving Effects section of the FAQ. Soresu Style Master is also not optional.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:41 pm 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 11:52 am
Posts: 350
Location: NJ
ah see now thats the missing part of my questions. can you use Soresu after a Bubble. That did come up. something else we let happen just because why not. Our game involved Zannah vs Zannah so we kinda just let loose on it all for fun.

Thanks for the quick response as well btw.

_________________
><


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:16 pm 
Sith Apprentice
Sith Apprentice
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 12:18 am
Posts: 291
Location: Jasper, MO
No, soresu resolves first, it is a reaaction that happens instantly upon being hit, but before resolving damage.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 2:41 pm 
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 2931
Just to confirm. Soresu style mastery errata for dci is no longer valid correct? So gowk and zannah in tourny play can stop damage from both melée and non melée. Just want to confirm so I know that I have it right

_________________
"But one thing I have learned in this process is that flavor can't override the good of the game."
-urbanshmi2-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 2:53 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:06 pm
Posts: 572
Location: Lexington Park, MD
In DCI play, SSM only stops non-melee attacks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 5:37 pm 
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 2931
Yes but since our tourneys are no longer dci sanctioned, Ssm in regionals and gen con and what not is played and ruled the way it is written on the card correct?

_________________
"But one thing I have learned in this process is that flavor can't override the good of the game."
-urbanshmi2-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 5:49 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:06 pm
Posts: 572
Location: Lexington Park, MD
No, we follow DCI's ruling on SSM.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 6:06 pm 
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:31 pm
Posts: 3575
Location: Cincinnati, OH
There isn't a DCI anymore, it's all SWMGPA. And this follows the same suit, any official tournament treats SSM as affecting "all nonmelee attacks". If your playgroup wants to make it a house rule that all tournaments use the "all attacks" then it's up to your playgroup, yet if you ever go to a Regional or GenCon then it is played with "all nonmelee attacks".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield