logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Can a Lancers path change mid flight?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:30 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:01 pm
Posts: 6662
Location: Chicago, IL
Can a lancer's (or any character with flight) path change mid flight? I know you have to declare a landing spot, but can you go a different way to reach that spot if you like? In fact, do you even have to declare the path? Could you simply count it out and declare the landing spot, then go any path you wanted (within the legal number of squares) to get to that landing spot?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Online
 Post subject: Re: Can a Lancers path change mid flight?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:51 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:57 pm
Posts: 3481
I'm like 90% sure that you can, as long as you can still reach your landing spot. The definition of Strafe does not require a path, just a legal landing area.

_________________
"An elegant, easy-to-understand concept or mechanic that accomplishes 95% of what you want is much better than a clunky, obtuse mechanic that gets you 100%" - Rob Daviau

"You can't per aspera ad astra unless there's some aspera in front of your astra. And that means sometimes the aspera gets you." - Donald X. Vaccarino


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Can a Lancers path change mid flight?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 12:13 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:17 pm
Posts: 5934
I agree with Echo. I am pretty sure they can change their path as long as they land in the same legal squares.

_________________
Really???....... DRINK


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Can a Lancers path change mid flight?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 12:23 pm 
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:31 pm
Posts: 3575
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Glossary Text for Strafe:
"Some characters with Flight also have Strafe Attack. This character can move up to double speed and attack each enemy whose space it enters instead of using the targeting rules. Roll each attack just before this character enters that enemy’s space. This character cannot attack any enemy twice in the same turn using Strafe Attack, and it cannot move directly back into a space it has just left. A character with Strafe Attack can still make a normal attack on the turn it moves, as long as it moves its speed or less. Prior to using Strafe Attack, this character must designate a legal space to end its move in. Other characters cannot enter this space while this character is using Strafe Attack. "

Only requirement is to designate where you are going to stop, not the path that gets you there. As long as you can still make it to that path, it's all good.

Now, I'm wondering what will happen if Rout comes into play. Such as you are not-so-smart and run a commander up and place it adjacent to some Mandos. You have your Lancer do Strafe and when it kills a Mando, that Mando gets a Death Shot off on the commander adjacent to it (instead of on the Lancer) and kills the commander. Now all enemy characters within 6 squares have to do Rout, which is they have to move 6 squares away from the now dead commander. At that point, the Lancer now cannot legally end in his predesignated landing spot. What does he do? Does he create a new landing spot with the amount of movement he has left?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Can a Lancers path change mid flight?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:07 pm 
Mandalore
Mandalore
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:43 pm
Posts: 1009
Location: Southern Illinois
The glossary text you put explains that itself in the last sentence. "Other characters cannot enter this space while this character is using Strafe Attack. "

Id assume theyd not be able to enter the landing area, even if that means there is no possible way for them to move 6 squares.

_________________
WotC: 890/890
V-Set: 142/142

Wotc GTL: 52ish
Gamers GTL: 2 (dalsiandon, urbanjedi)

fingersandteeth wrote:
Also t4 for override and a cheeky flame.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Can a Lancers path change mid flight?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:44 pm 
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:31 pm
Posts: 3575
Location: Cincinnati, OH
I think you misunderstood. I'm not saying anyone moves into his "landing spot", I'm saying the Lancer now can't make it to the landing spot. As in the Lancer has moved 20 of 24 squares. His landing spot is simply 4 squares away. Yet when Rout occurs and he is moved to a new square, his designated landing spot is now 10 squares away, so with his remaining 4 squares of movement he cannot get to his predesignated landing spot.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Online
 Post subject: Re: Can a Lancers path change mid flight?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:47 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:57 pm
Posts: 3481
But... what if someone DOES move into the landing spot? The simplest way to handle it is to just not let that be legal, but I don't know of any reason currently why it isn't.

_________________
"An elegant, easy-to-understand concept or mechanic that accomplishes 95% of what you want is much better than a clunky, obtuse mechanic that gets you 100%" - Rob Daviau

"You can't per aspera ad astra unless there's some aspera in front of your astra. And that means sometimes the aspera gets you." - Donald X. Vaccarino


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Online
 Post subject: Re: Can a Lancers path change mid flight?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:51 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:57 pm
Posts: 3481
Disregard that, I read the glossary entry wrong (I read "...this space..." as "...this character's space...", which not only doesn't make a lot of sense but totally changes the meaning). Disturbed1 quoted the exact part that I was looking for. :oops:

_________________
"An elegant, easy-to-understand concept or mechanic that accomplishes 95% of what you want is much better than a clunky, obtuse mechanic that gets you 100%" - Rob Daviau

"You can't per aspera ad astra unless there's some aspera in front of your astra. And that means sometimes the aspera gets you." - Donald X. Vaccarino


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Can a Lancers path change mid flight?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 2:13 pm 
Mandalore
Mandalore
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:43 pm
Posts: 1009
Location: Southern Illinois
Lol. So I inadvertently answered it, nice. And yes, I did misread it. As for rout, I think your probably right. He will probably have to choose a new landing place, IF he cant use the old one (If the lancer wasnt going to use full movement, then the same square might be an option.).

_________________
WotC: 890/890
V-Set: 142/142

Wotc GTL: 52ish
Gamers GTL: 2 (dalsiandon, urbanjedi)

fingersandteeth wrote:
Also t4 for override and a cheeky flame.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Can a Lancers path change mid flight?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 2:50 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6547
Location: Southern IL
New rule:

If at any time while making a Strafe attack, the distance between the Lancer and its designated landing area is greater than it's remaining movement, it is immediately defeated. :P

Seriously though, I have to think there is nothing that covers this at present.

The chance of it happening is miniscule, but I think it invalidates further strafing at the point that the Lancer can no longer reach the designated landing space, and so it should end its movement wherever Rout puts it. Kind of like Yobuck getting hit by Snare Rifle or Clamp in mid-gallop. :twisted:

lol


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Can a Lancers path change mid flight?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 4:21 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
Echo wrote:
But... what if someone DOES move into the landing spot? The simplest way to handle it is to just not let that be legal, but I don't know of any reason currently why it isn't.


I would have to look it up, but I believe a new landing spot would have to be chosen, if possible.

Rout does add up the slight chance of not having a legal landing spot, only slightly. So, as Nickname says, if it isn't possible, the universe collapses.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Can a Lancers path change mid flight?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 11:31 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:03 pm
Posts: 2525
Location: Anderson, SC
Ive always thought the lancer moved and landed. SO you put him in the stopping point, then you roll attacks. Doing that eliminates the wierd Rout interaction. Im probably doing it wrong though.

_________________
Bald is beautiful.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Can a Lancers path change mid flight?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 12:53 am 
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:31 pm
Posts: 3575
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Weeks wrote:
Ive always thought the lancer moved and landed. SO you put him in the stopping point, then you roll attacks. Doing that eliminates the wierd Rout interaction. Im probably doing it wrong though.

Definitely wrong. According to the Glossary: "Roll each attack just before this character enters that enemy’s space." So you can't just say, "my Lancer starts here but ends here, so let me move him here and I attack everyone in the path."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Can a Lancers path change mid flight?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 7:30 am 
Mandalore
Mandalore
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:43 pm
Posts: 1009
Location: Southern Illinois
jedispyder wrote:
Weeks wrote:
Ive always thought the lancer moved and landed. SO you put him in the stopping point, then you roll attacks. Doing that eliminates the wierd Rout interaction. Im probably doing it wrong though.

Definitely wrong. According to the Glossary: "Roll each attack just before this character enters that enemy’s space." So you can't just say, "my Lancer starts here but ends here, so let me move him here and I attack everyone in the path."


If thats how the glossary reads, wouldnt that mean that the lancer would get to hit a Jedi Seer before the Seer could make its attack of opportunity. This says before it enters the square, the jedi Seer goes off when you enter the square.

_________________
WotC: 890/890
V-Set: 142/142

Wotc GTL: 52ish
Gamers GTL: 2 (dalsiandon, urbanjedi)

fingersandteeth wrote:
Also t4 for override and a cheeky flame.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Can a Lancers path change mid flight?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 7:34 am 
Name Calling Internet Bully
Name Calling Internet Bully
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 6172
Location: Gurnee, IL
Disturbed1 wrote:
jedispyder wrote:
Weeks wrote:
Ive always thought the lancer moved and landed. SO you put him in the stopping point, then you roll attacks. Doing that eliminates the wierd Rout interaction. Im probably doing it wrong though.

Definitely wrong. According to the Glossary: "Roll each attack just before this character enters that enemy’s space." So you can't just say, "my Lancer starts here but ends here, so let me move him here and I attack everyone in the path."


If thats how the glossary reads, wouldnt that mean that the lancer would get to hit a Jedi Seer before the Seer could make its attack of opportunity. This says before it enters the square, the jedi Seer goes off when you enter the square.


wrong square :) Jedi Reflexes goes off when you want to enter a square adjacent to him, not his own square :)

_________________
Image

http://www.bloomilk.com/Squads/Search.aspx?UserID=29


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Can a Lancers path change mid flight?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 7:40 am 
Mandalore
Mandalore
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:43 pm
Posts: 1009
Location: Southern Illinois
Doh!

_________________
WotC: 890/890
V-Set: 142/142

Wotc GTL: 52ish
Gamers GTL: 2 (dalsiandon, urbanjedi)

fingersandteeth wrote:
Also t4 for override and a cheeky flame.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield