logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Force abilites and when they end
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 1:16 pm 
Major Tierce
Major Tierce

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:21 pm
Posts: 3230
Squad with Whorm and Tyranus DLOTS

Bastilla uses ABM.

Then Tyrannus runs up (within 6 of mouse or whorm) and hits bastilla.

Does Tyrannus get his twin? I would say yes since the ABM would immediately end (while still resolving the attack) and would no longer be in effect when it would be time to twin.

Just wanted to make sure this was how it worked

_________________
When I left you I was but the learner . . . now I am the master.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Force abilites and when they end
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 1:32 pm 
Name Calling Internet Bully
Name Calling Internet Bully
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 6172
Location: Gurnee, IL
ABM ends when the character is attacked, so before the step that grants a twin attack. Therefore, yes, you would get the twin.

_________________
Image

http://www.bloomilk.com/Squads/Search.aspx?UserID=29


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Force abilites and when they end
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 1:33 pm 
Major Tierce
Major Tierce

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:21 pm
Posts: 3230
That's what I thought.

Thanks Bill

_________________
When I left you I was but the learner . . . now I am the master.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Force abilites and when they end
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:54 pm 
Hall of Fame Member
Hall of Fame Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 7:22 pm
Posts: 4982
Its not turned off when Bastilla is merely attacked. She has to take dmg, spend force or roll a save.

So if she has a bgd then tyrannus has to zap her.

Just attacking her won't turn it off, you have to wait until dmg resolution for that to happen. I'm not sure if that negates twin attack or not.

Twin states "Whenever this character attacks, it makes 1 extra attack against the same target."

Tyrannus has already attacked and ABM was still on, why should you get a twin even if you dmg her?

This depends on whether twin is triggered before or after dmg resolution and I really don't know the answer to that.

Thats one for NickName.

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Force abilites and when they end
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:58 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 1:08 pm
Posts: 8394
What Deri said. My gut feeling is no, because Twin Attack didn't come into effect again until after the damage step resolved. But Nickname can say for sure.

_________________
Click here to check out all the people who have realized the truth. Someday you will, too.

"I would really, really like to not have anything else happen at the end of the round other than things just ending." -- Sithborg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Force abilites and when they end
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 4:18 pm 
Name Calling Internet Bully
Name Calling Internet Bully
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 6172
Location: Gurnee, IL
Nope, I misspoke. I thought the wording of ABM was when she was attacked, I thought we decided that there was no need for her to take the damage, but it appears I am wrong.

Twin attack triggers before the damage step, so no twin on the first attack.

However, if DT can use his double, the first attack would not get twin, but the double attack would.

_________________
Image

http://www.bloomilk.com/Squads/Search.aspx?UserID=29


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Force abilites and when they end
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:27 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
billiv15 wrote:
Twin attack triggers before the damage step, so no twin on the first attack.


That is incorrect. Advance Battle Meditation would be resolved in the "when this character takes damage step", or Step 11. You check for Twin Attack, nearly last, or in Step 16. So, Advance Battle Meditation would be turned off before you would check for Twin, so the Whorm's CE would be back in time for Tyrannus to use Twin.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Force abilites and when they end
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:54 pm 
Hall of Fame Member
Hall of Fame Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 7:22 pm
Posts: 4982
Sithborg wrote:
billiv15 wrote:
Twin attack triggers before the damage step, so no twin on the first attack.


That is incorrect. Advance Battle Meditation would be resolved in the "when this character takes damage step", or Step 11. You check for Twin Attack, nearly last, or in Step 16. So, Advance Battle Meditation would be turned off before you would check for Twin, so the Whorm's CE would be back in time for Tyrannus to use Twin.


You know someone knows the rules when they can actually numerate the steps.

Nice work, Scott. :)

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Force abilites and when they end
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:01 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
Trust me, I don't have the steps memorized. Usually when I name the steps, it's because I have that in another tab.

I am pretty certain where he got it wrong. Too much Djem So/Riposte/Twin on the mind.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Force abilites and when they end
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 11:03 pm 
Hall of Fame Member
Hall of Fame Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 7:22 pm
Posts: 4982
can you link me to the place where the steps are listed?

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Force abilites and when they end
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 11:07 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
http://www.the-holocron.com/index.php?o ... &Itemid=55

It is in a gold text, so you can pretty much scroll till you see it.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield