logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:50 pm 
Major Tierce
Major Tierce

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:21 pm
Posts: 3232
I know this doesn't work but don't see what specifically disallows it/

Squad is

New thrawn
Mas
Cad Bane
Emperor Palpatine
Pelleaon
Filler


What spceific rule prevents me from dropping Emperor Palpatine for Grand Admiral Thrawn and having 2 copies of Thrawn on my squad?

It seems like it should be a reserves/reinforcements issue, but Pelleaon isn't reserves/reinforcemetns. It also isn't in the squad build, so I am trying to figure out exactly why this doesn't work. I know that it shouldn't work just can't figure out why not.

_________________
When I left you I was but the learner . . . now I am the master.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:13 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
The character that Pelleon replaces with must be a legal option, since the CE doesn't specifically state that it gets around any rules. Since adding a second Thrawn would violate the Unique restrictions, it isn't a legal option

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:21 am 
Major Tierce
Major Tierce

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:21 pm
Posts: 3232
Thanks. I knew it didn't work just couldn't figure out why.

_________________
When I left you I was but the learner . . . now I am the master.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:33 am 
Name Calling Internet Bully
Name Calling Internet Bully
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 6172
Location: Gurnee, IL
I think swapping out Palps on throne presents one of the most interesting options. It's hard to really make a squad out of it, as you usually build with him in mind, but I could forsee swapping out Palps for some big attacker, who gets a bit of a head start.

_________________
Image

http://www.bloomilk.com/Squads/Search.aspx?UserID=29


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:52 am 
Big Bad Brad
Big Bad Brad
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 5344
billiv15 wrote:
I think swapping out Palps on throne presents one of the most interesting options. It's hard to really make a squad out of it, as you usually build with him in mind, but I could forsee swapping out Palps for some big attacker, who gets a bit of a head start.



Hmmm, how about purposely building the Cad/Arica squad with Palps on Throne in it simply with the intent of swapping in Arica for a headstart?

_________________
"200 or 2"
"Consistency is the key, not crying"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:59 am 
Name Calling Internet Bully
Name Calling Internet Bully
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 6172
Location: Gurnee, IL
The_Celestial_Warrior wrote:
billiv15 wrote:
I think swapping out Palps on throne presents one of the most interesting options. It's hard to really make a squad out of it, as you usually build with him in mind, but I could forsee swapping out Palps for some big attacker, who gets a bit of a head start.



Hmmm, how about purposely building the Cad/Arica squad with Palps on Throne in it simply with the intent of swapping in Arica for a headstart?


exactly :) Same could be done with Jarael (although a waste of some points to do it). There are other beats that could gain a nice running start in this way as well. And with Swapping, could put a Lord Vader in a nasty position at the end of round 1.

_________________
Image

http://www.bloomilk.com/Squads/Search.aspx?UserID=29


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 2:57 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:42 pm
Posts: 3599
Location: New Jersey
Head start? What are you guys talking about? Do you mean that the new piece can set up 1 square closer to the middle of the board? Is that the head start? meesa confused.

_________________
"Don't give the tool more credit than the master." --Weeks
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 3:07 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6625
Location: Southern IL
Think they mean set up Throne in the middle then switch out with attacker.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 3:15 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Yeah, you do the switching AFTER setup, which would mean, with Palps on Throne, since he has Emplacement, that you could put him just about anywhere, then swap in Arica and have her smack dab on the front lines on Turn 1. :)

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 3:17 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:42 pm
Posts: 3599
Location: New Jersey
Oh, I see. The trade is made after Palpychair's placement is already made; thanks for clarifying for me. That IS a pretty nasty tactic. Used right, that would give you some pretty devastating attack options in rounds 1 & 2.

_________________
"Don't give the tool more credit than the master." --Weeks
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 3:27 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Or might put a piece like Arica so far out of reach from the rest of her crew that she easily gets picked off in the first round or 2. :P

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 3:56 pm 
Mandalore
Mandalore
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:43 pm
Posts: 1009
Location: Southern Illinois
Depending on what you face, if she deals enough dmg on the first turn, it might not matter if they take her down early or not.

_________________
WotC: 890/890
V-Set: 142/142

Wotc GTL: 52ish
Gamers GTL: 2 (dalsiandon, urbanjedi)

fingersandteeth wrote:
Also t4 for override and a cheeky flame.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 3:58 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:42 pm
Posts: 3599
Location: New Jersey
Yeah, the thing is, you'd really prefer to have your swapper piece have the head-start, and then swap Arica in when you're ready to make the big barrage. Having her start there is not optimal.

_________________
"Don't give the tool more credit than the master." --Weeks
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 5:26 pm 
Big Bad Brad
Big Bad Brad
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 5344
thereisnotry wrote:
Yeah, the thing is, you'd really prefer to have your swapper piece have the head-start, and then swap Arica in when you're ready to make the big barrage. Having her start there is not optimal.



Eh, that seems pretty situational to me. I'd say it's either/or depending on a variety of other things like map and opponent's squad. The problem is her swap piece couldn't be the one replacing Palps. You'd have to build Palps in, with the intent to swap in Arica via Pellaeon.

Placement of Palps would be key at that point.

_________________
"200 or 2"
"Consistency is the key, not crying"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 5:45 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:06 pm
Posts: 572
Location: Lexington Park, MD
I don't understand what you guys mean when talking about a character getting a head start after being swapped in by Pellaeon. :?:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 5:52 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6625
Location: Southern IL
It's building the squad with Throne Palps, placing him in a good spot, then using Pellaeon's CE to replace him with Arica. She could start out in a much better position to do major damage early in the game (possibly even turn 1).

How well it could work depends on a lot of factors...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:39 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Well, you could build the squad starting with Palps on Throne and then whatever your other swapper is. Then you use Pellaeon to switch out Palps for Arica, and then in the first round, you swap your swapper (say, Jarael) in for Arica. Then you could run her somewhere at the end of turn 1, and then you have your opponent activate first and (hopefully) your swapper survives (maybe, Jarael?), and then when you have 2 activations, you activate Thrawn, swap in Arica, and blow things away. Probably tough to pull off, especially to keep that deep strike swapper in position AND alive at the beginning of turn 2. Maybe if you ran RS Tarkin as well, but then you're talking about 27 points of tech (Pellaeon/Tarkin) just simply for pulling off a bit hit like that? I think I'd rather run Lobot for those points or something.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:35 am 
Mandalore
Mandalore
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:43 pm
Posts: 1009
Location: Southern Illinois
Hold on a sec...

I coulda sworn that Pellaeon's ability let him swap a commander for a commander, which Arica isnt...did I misread the card?

If not, then this arguement is invalid, as you couldnt do it anyway.

If so, then half of me thinks this idea could be viable, if played right; the other half of me thinks its a gimmick, and if you dont manage to pull it off, you might be in a worse situation than if you hadnt done it.

_________________
WotC: 890/890
V-Set: 142/142

Wotc GTL: 52ish
Gamers GTL: 2 (dalsiandon, urbanjedi)

fingersandteeth wrote:
Also t4 for override and a cheeky flame.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:50 am 
Big Bad Brad
Big Bad Brad
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 5344
I think everyone's missing the point.

Against the right squad on the right map it's going to work really well.

Against the wrong squad on the wrong map or anything in between, you're going to realize that it's not going to work as well and you just setup Palp in your starting area...swap in Arica and you still have the Tier 1 Stealth N Blue that Tim B. played at Regionals and Gencon last year.

So, of course, it's a gimmick, but in an already decent squad.

_________________
"200 or 2"
"Consistency is the key, not crying"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Another Pellaeon qustion
PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:35 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
Disturbed1 wrote:
Hold on a sec...

I coulda sworn that Pellaeon's ability let him swap a commander for a commander, which Arica isnt...did I misread the card?

If not, then this arguement is invalid, as you couldnt do it anyway.

If so, then half of me thinks this idea could be viable, if played right; the other half of me thinks its a gimmick, and if you dont manage to pull it off, you might be in a worse situation than if you hadnt done it.


You can switch an Imperial commander for any Imperial character, commander or follower, who costs less. It is an interesting idea, no doubt.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield