logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Re: squeezing?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:52 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6577
Location: Southern IL
Interesting discussion.
Nickname had this to say (in response to urbanjedi's question) on WotC:
Quote:
Yes, you must stop squeezing if the option is available. In the example on page 18 of the rulebook, the Wampa could not choose to move another square east rather than "unsqueezing" by moving north.

http://community.wizards.com/go/thread/ ... #459164541


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: squeezing?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:54 pm 
Name Calling Internet Bully
Name Calling Internet Bully
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 6172
Location: Gurnee, IL
However, that does not answer the question about a huge partially squeezing or not. I'm not sure about the "partial" squeeze, and while I believe it works as Lobo has indicated, I haven't been able to confirm that through anything I've seen on it.

_________________
Image

http://www.bloomilk.com/Squads/Search.aspx?UserID=29


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: squeezing?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 1:12 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:42 pm
Posts: 3599
Location: New Jersey
LoboStele wrote:
Well, Lancer has Flight, so doesn't really matter so much.

Right, but I was more referring to the importance of clarity on the matter of squeezing in general right now, with Gencon looming on the horizon, and the Lancer likely to show up there more than once.

More specifically, I was wondering about the use of the Lancer on the single-square-wide tunnels on a map like Bespin, for example. I think it's pretty logical, when the lancer strafes as it moves thru a tunnel, that it cannot also strafe something on the other side of the wall at the same time. That seems logical to me...but we all know the value of normal logic in SWM rules questions like this. :) That's why I said I think it's important to know which squares a figure is considered to occupy when it squeezes.

_________________
"Don't give the tool more credit than the master." --Weeks
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: squeezing?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:47 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6577
Location: Southern IL
billiv15 wrote:
However, that does not answer the question about a huge partially squeezing or not. I'm not sure about the "partial" squeeze, and while I believe it works as Lobo has indicated, I haven't been able to confirm that through anything I've seen on it.


I posted a followup question in the same WotC thread I linked above, and Nickname responded:

Quote:
Yes. You occupy all the squares under your base that you can legally occupy--anything but a wall square, a pit square, or a open square on the opposite side of a wall that blocks the entire length/width of the character's current space.


So yes to "partial squeeze".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: squeezing?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:59 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
Ok, that's what I wanted to know. That's how it should be, not how I was thinking.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: squeezing?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 3:18 pm 
Mandalore
Mandalore
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:43 pm
Posts: 1009
Location: Southern Illinois
So then the answer for the question regarding the second picture (Muunilist), is that "No, the troop cart cannot move past the enemy piece to move closer to gambit"?

_________________
WotC: 890/890
V-Set: 142/142

Wotc GTL: 52ish
Gamers GTL: 2 (dalsiandon, urbanjedi)

fingersandteeth wrote:
Also t4 for override and a cheeky flame.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: squeezing?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 6:29 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6577
Location: Southern IL
Disturbed1 wrote:
So then the answer for the question regarding the second picture (Muunilist), is that "No, the troop cart cannot move past the enemy piece to move closer to gambit"?


Correct. (unfortunately, for huges without flight)

_________________
Con Artist is our Bombad Gungan. -- Sithborg

Image Bloomilk Support Staff Image

Tons of SWM Resources here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: squeezing?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 4:42 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:01 pm
Posts: 6662
Location: Chicago, IL
Side note - what is the most competitive huge or large piece without flight? Lancer and Luke's Snowspeeder we will definitely see, but they both have flight.

Luke's Landspeeder?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: squeezing?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 7:43 am 
Big Bad Brad
Big Bad Brad
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 5344
TimmerB123 wrote:
Side note - what is the most competitive huge or large piece without flight? Lancer and Luke's Snowspeeder we will definitely see, but they both have flight.

Luke's Landspeeder?


That's gotta be Obi-Wan on Boga. Interesting note, that since he has Wall Climber he squeezing will work exactly like he had Flight.

_________________
"200 or 2"
"Consistency is the key, not crying"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: squeezing?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:19 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
I'd say the Felcor is still up there in terms of competitiveness. If we're talking TILE WARS, then still need to consider the Basilisk. :P

Definitley would say Luke's Landspeeder is the most competitive of the non-Flight Larges though.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: squeezing?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:05 am 
Name Calling Internet Bully
Name Calling Internet Bully
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 6172
Location: Gurnee, IL
I wouldn't ignore the x1 either.

_________________
Image

http://www.bloomilk.com/Squads/Search.aspx?UserID=29


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: squeezing?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 11:30 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
The_Celestial_Warrior wrote:
TimmerB123 wrote:
Side note - what is the most competitive huge or large piece without flight? Lancer and Luke's Snowspeeder we will definitely see, but they both have flight.

Luke's Landspeeder?


That's gotta be Obi-Wan on Boga. Interesting note, that since he has Wall Climber he squeezing will work exactly like he had Flight.


Unless he is squeezing through pits.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: squeezing?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 12:42 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Sithborg wrote:
The_Celestial_Warrior wrote:
TimmerB123 wrote:
Side note - what is the most competitive huge or large piece without flight? Lancer and Luke's Snowspeeder we will definitely see, but they both have flight.

Luke's Landspeeder?


That's gotta be Obi-Wan on Boga. Interesting note, that since he has Wall Climber he squeezing will work exactly like he had Flight.


Unless he is squeezing through pits.


Unless the pit has a wall near it. :P

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: squeezing?
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 8:29 pm 
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:39 am
Posts: 4863
Seems like there's a question left unanswered here. There are two ways to squeeze down a hall. Consider this. X is a large-base figure. Say a Houjix. O is open. W is wall. E is enemy.

Code:
OOWWWWWWWW
XXWWWEWWOO
XXOOOOOOOO
OOWWWWWWOO


The Houjix could try to move east 8 times, but he runs into the enemy, so it's an illegal move.
But what if he moves south one square and then moves east 8 times? Now he occupies the lower wall squares instead of the upper wall squares. Does he have to move up even though he can't unsqueeze completely? This seems like he should be able to slide past and take an attack of opportunity. If there were enemies on both sides, though, he couldn't go past.

Note that this is different from the Death Star Example becuase there, it eventually opens up into a place where the snowspeeder has to unsqueeze into a square where an enemy is standing. Here, there is no legal spot for the Houjix to unsqueeze into, so he shouldn't be forced to move up.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: squeezing?
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2014 12:03 am 
Major Tierce
Major Tierce

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:21 pm
Posts: 3193
I believe that you are correct TJ in that if you were far enough south (ie taking up the bottom half of the hallway) that you could do that giving up an AoO.

_________________
When I left you I was but the learner . . . now I am the master.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield