logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: When does the Strafe Attack Occur??
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:48 pm 
Jedi Battlemaster
Jedi Battlemaster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 8:46 pm
Posts: 3199
Location: Waterloo, ON
Glossary:
Strafe Attack: Some characters with Flight also have Strafe Attack. This character can move up to double speed and attack each enemy whose space it enters instead of using the targeting rules. Roll each attack just before this character enters that enemy’s space. This character cannot normally attack any enemy twice in the same turn using Strafe Attack, and it cannot move directly back into a space it has just left. A character with Strafe Attack can still make a normal attack on the turn it moves, as long as it moves its speed or less. Prior to using Strafe Attack, this character must designate a legal space to end its move in. Other characters cannot enter this space while this character is using Strafe Attack. This ability is usable only on this character’s turn.

Card: As this character moves, it can attack each enemy whose space it enters; this turn, this character cannot attack any enemy twice and cannot move directly back into a space it has just left

Glossary seems to imply that the attack occurs BEFORE you enter the square, while you are still adjacent. The card implies that the attack occurs once you are IN the square.

so, would a strafer be adjacent and moving into the square once the attack is resolved, or in the square, but counting as adjacent, until the attack is resolved?

Important Example:
Luke Skywalker, Rebel Commando is exactly 6 away from Deena Shan. A Basilisk War Driod strafes Luke (with one of his corners of the base), while the basilisk is being boosted by the Mando Captain. Does the Basilik gain Twin.. or not?

_________________
Winner of the Knights of the SWMGamers Stats Contest
<Joruus (GFC)> - Sheesh, I swear you're like Fool 2.0 (and you can quote me on it xD)
Archives of the Gamers Jedi
Join the FOLLY! Online casual League, find out more here: FOLLY


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: When does the Strafe Attack Occur??
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:50 pm 
Name Calling Internet Bully
Name Calling Internet Bully
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 6172
Location: Gurnee, IL
Um, you highlighted the answer.... And that's also in the glossary where it makes it clear, you roll it just before entering the square.

_________________
Image

http://www.bloomilk.com/Squads/Search.aspx?UserID=29


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: When does the Strafe Attack Occur??
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:23 am 
Mandalore
Mandalore
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:43 pm
Posts: 1009
Location: Southern Illinois
So, with the Lancer/Yobuck then, if they would provoke an AoO by moving into the next square of their strafe, they get to make the attacks against any targets they would become adjacent to after moving(that they havent already attacked in the strafe), and once the attacks are resolved, then they move, and the AoO goes off??????

_________________
WotC: 890/890
V-Set: 142/142

Wotc GTL: 52ish
Gamers GTL: 2 (dalsiandon, urbanjedi)

fingersandteeth wrote:
Also t4 for override and a cheeky flame.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: When does the Strafe Attack Occur??
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 10:32 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6547
Location: Southern IL
Disturbed1 wrote:
So, with the Lancer/Yobuck then, if they would provoke an AoO by moving into the next square of their strafe, they get to make the attacks against any targets they would become adjacent to after moving(that they havent already attacked in the strafe), and once the attacks are resolved, then they move, and the AoO goes off??????


What are you asking? I'm confused, lol.

Lancer never provokes an AoO, and makes the strafe attack(s) before entering the enemy's square(s).

Yobuck makes his gallop attack(s) upon becoming adjacent to one or more enemies, and the AoO(s) goes off as he is leaving the square he is in, before he lands in the next square. After the AoOs resolve, he then makes attacks against newly adjacent enemies in that next square. (did that even make sense?)

Is there something else?

_________________
Con Artist is our Bombad Gungan. -- Sithborg

Image Bloomilk Support Staff Image

Tons of SWM Resources here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: When does the Strafe Attack Occur??
PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 1:15 pm 
Mandalore
Mandalore
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:43 pm
Posts: 1009
Location: Southern Illinois
No, there is nothing else. its just me forgetting that 1) Lancer has Flight, and therefore, does not provoke AoO, and 2) Yobuck has Galloping Attack, not Strafe...

_________________
WotC: 890/890
V-Set: 142/142

Wotc GTL: 52ish
Gamers GTL: 2 (dalsiandon, urbanjedi)

fingersandteeth wrote:
Also t4 for override and a cheeky flame.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: When does the Strafe Attack Occur??
PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 1:47 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6547
Location: Southern IL
Disturbed1 wrote:
No, there is nothing else. its just me forgetting that 1) Lancer has Flight, and therefore, does not provoke AoO, and 2) Yobuck has Galloping Attack, not Strafe...


:P

_________________
Con Artist is our Bombad Gungan. -- Sithborg

Image Bloomilk Support Staff Image

Tons of SWM Resources here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield