SWMGAMERS.com Forums
http://swmgamers.com/forums/

squeezing?
http://swmgamers.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=9500
Page 2 of 2

Author:  swinefeld [ Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: squeezing?

Interesting discussion.
Nickname had this to say (in response to urbanjedi's question) on WotC:
Quote:
Yes, you must stop squeezing if the option is available. In the example on page 18 of the rulebook, the Wampa could not choose to move another square east rather than "unsqueezing" by moving north.

http://community.wizards.com/go/thread/ ... #459164541

Author:  billiv15 [ Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: squeezing?

However, that does not answer the question about a huge partially squeezing or not. I'm not sure about the "partial" squeeze, and while I believe it works as Lobo has indicated, I haven't been able to confirm that through anything I've seen on it.

Author:  thereisnotry [ Tue Jul 27, 2010 1:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: squeezing?

LoboStele wrote:
Well, Lancer has Flight, so doesn't really matter so much.

Right, but I was more referring to the importance of clarity on the matter of squeezing in general right now, with Gencon looming on the horizon, and the Lancer likely to show up there more than once.

More specifically, I was wondering about the use of the Lancer on the single-square-wide tunnels on a map like Bespin, for example. I think it's pretty logical, when the lancer strafes as it moves thru a tunnel, that it cannot also strafe something on the other side of the wall at the same time. That seems logical to me...but we all know the value of normal logic in SWM rules questions like this. :) That's why I said I think it's important to know which squares a figure is considered to occupy when it squeezes.

Author:  swinefeld [ Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: squeezing?

billiv15 wrote:
However, that does not answer the question about a huge partially squeezing or not. I'm not sure about the "partial" squeeze, and while I believe it works as Lobo has indicated, I haven't been able to confirm that through anything I've seen on it.


I posted a followup question in the same WotC thread I linked above, and Nickname responded:

Quote:
Yes. You occupy all the squares under your base that you can legally occupy--anything but a wall square, a pit square, or a open square on the opposite side of a wall that blocks the entire length/width of the character's current space.


So yes to "partial squeeze".

Author:  Sithborg [ Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: squeezing?

Ok, that's what I wanted to know. That's how it should be, not how I was thinking.

Author:  Disturbed1 [ Wed Jul 28, 2010 3:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: squeezing?

So then the answer for the question regarding the second picture (Muunilist), is that "No, the troop cart cannot move past the enemy piece to move closer to gambit"?

Author:  swinefeld [ Wed Jul 28, 2010 6:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: squeezing?

Disturbed1 wrote:
So then the answer for the question regarding the second picture (Muunilist), is that "No, the troop cart cannot move past the enemy piece to move closer to gambit"?


Correct. (unfortunately, for huges without flight)

Author:  TimmerB123 [ Thu Jul 29, 2010 4:42 am ]
Post subject:  Re: squeezing?

Side note - what is the most competitive huge or large piece without flight? Lancer and Luke's Snowspeeder we will definitely see, but they both have flight.

Luke's Landspeeder?

Author:  The_Celestial_Warrior [ Thu Jul 29, 2010 7:43 am ]
Post subject:  Re: squeezing?

TimmerB123 wrote:
Side note - what is the most competitive huge or large piece without flight? Lancer and Luke's Snowspeeder we will definitely see, but they both have flight.

Luke's Landspeeder?


That's gotta be Obi-Wan on Boga. Interesting note, that since he has Wall Climber he squeezing will work exactly like he had Flight.

Author:  LoboStele [ Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: squeezing?

I'd say the Felcor is still up there in terms of competitiveness. If we're talking TILE WARS, then still need to consider the Basilisk. :P

Definitley would say Luke's Landspeeder is the most competitive of the non-Flight Larges though.

Author:  billiv15 [ Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:05 am ]
Post subject:  Re: squeezing?

I wouldn't ignore the x1 either.

Author:  Sithborg [ Thu Jul 29, 2010 11:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: squeezing?

The_Celestial_Warrior wrote:
TimmerB123 wrote:
Side note - what is the most competitive huge or large piece without flight? Lancer and Luke's Snowspeeder we will definitely see, but they both have flight.

Luke's Landspeeder?


That's gotta be Obi-Wan on Boga. Interesting note, that since he has Wall Climber he squeezing will work exactly like he had Flight.


Unless he is squeezing through pits.

Author:  LoboStele [ Thu Jul 29, 2010 12:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: squeezing?

Sithborg wrote:
The_Celestial_Warrior wrote:
TimmerB123 wrote:
Side note - what is the most competitive huge or large piece without flight? Lancer and Luke's Snowspeeder we will definitely see, but they both have flight.

Luke's Landspeeder?


That's gotta be Obi-Wan on Boga. Interesting note, that since he has Wall Climber he squeezing will work exactly like he had Flight.


Unless he is squeezing through pits.


Unless the pit has a wall near it. :P

Author:  FlyingArrow [ Mon May 05, 2014 8:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: squeezing?

Seems like there's a question left unanswered here. There are two ways to squeeze down a hall. Consider this. X is a large-base figure. Say a Houjix. O is open. W is wall. E is enemy.

Code:
OOWWWWWWWW
XXWWWEWWOO
XXOOOOOOOO
OOWWWWWWOO


The Houjix could try to move east 8 times, but he runs into the enemy, so it's an illegal move.
But what if he moves south one square and then moves east 8 times? Now he occupies the lower wall squares instead of the upper wall squares. Does he have to move up even though he can't unsqueeze completely? This seems like he should be able to slide past and take an attack of opportunity. If there were enemies on both sides, though, he couldn't go past.

Note that this is different from the Death Star Example becuase there, it eventually opens up into a place where the snowspeeder has to unsqueeze into a square where an enemy is standing. Here, there is no legal spot for the Houjix to unsqueeze into, so he shouldn't be forced to move up.

Author:  urbanjedi [ Tue May 06, 2014 12:03 am ]
Post subject:  Re: squeezing?

I believe that you are correct TJ in that if you were far enough south (ie taking up the bottom half of the hallway) that you could do that giving up an AoO.

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/