logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Some rules for a strange squad build
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:27 am 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 11:15 am
Posts: 40
does rodian traders munitions supplies ability stack? i.e can I put 4 traders +10 grenades on one character or is the ability transfer the actual ability "+10 grenades". I assume the latter?

Are force powers/area effects transferred to all adjacent targets even if they cannot be targetted normally (for example due to diplomat/stealth)?

Are diplomats subject to aoo if the attacker has los to another character?

What about effects such as lightsaber reflect do these affect not target characters? I assume so?

EDIT: Further Questions!

How does the "Energy Shield" ability work in:

1) Character shoots at adjacent character and hits, the shield bearer deflects that attack back at shooter. I know that if the save is failed the shooter takes the damage. What if the character makes his save 11? Does the original target take the damage now? Or is no damage dealt, the FAQ and ability seem unclear?

2) If someone shoots at say Supreme Chancellor Palpatine, and rolls an attack of 1, do they get the SA betrayal?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Some rules for a strange squad build
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:19 am 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 11:15 am
Posts: 40
Also seeking any defense to missiles from CEs? The only thing I can see is yodas rerolls?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Some rules for a strange squad build
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 7:46 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Woah...lots of questions. :P

Will try to handle them in order.


1. Multiple Rodian Traders would still only grant a total of "Grenades 10" to any one piece. You could give Grenades 10 to a single piece 4 times, but he would still only have Grenades 10, not Grenades 40.

2. Yes, abilities that say they affect adjacent targets always hit all adjacent characters/enemies. Even if it's a Diplomat, or has Stealth, or is an ally, or something else that would keep the adjacent piece from being a legal target.

3. No, you cannot use AoOs on Diplomats if you have LOS to another enemy. The definition of Diplomat says you cannot "target OR attack" a diplomat as long as you have LOS to another enemy.

4. Lightsaber Reflect does not follow the targeting rules. It is just damage reflected back at the shooter. So, if a piece with Diplomat shoots somebody with LS Reflect, and the right saves are made/failed, then yes, the Diplomat could take the damage.

5. Energy Shield works much like you posted there. Character A attacks, Character B has energy shield. Character B rolls his save, and if he makes the save of 11, he does not take any damage. In addition, now Character A has to make a save, and if he fails that, he takes the damage instead. There are two separate saves, and if either character makes their save of 11, they don't take damage. Character A only takes damage if he fails his save AND character B makes his save first.

6. Yes, if you roll a 1 while attacking Supreme Chancellor Palpatine, you are automatically betrayed. Not sure why this was a question, as I would think this is pretty clear from the wording of Betrayal. Was the something more specific you were wondering about on this one???

In general, please go look at the official FAQ on the Wizards website. Many of your questions would have been answered in there.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Some rules for a strange squad build
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:10 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6615
Location: Southern IL
A clarification on Energy Shield :)

The attacker must make a save of 11 to prevent taking the damage. The defender does not have to make a save.

However, the description given above does fit the requirements of Lightsaber Reflect, which requires the character using it to first make a save to avoid damage, and if successful then reflects damage back to the attacker who can also avoid it with a successful save.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Some rules for a strange squad build
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 5:16 pm 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 11:15 am
Posts: 40
the issue with betrayal was if sc palps is hit by an attack, and attacker rolls 1, does the gungan shield bearer adjacent just not make the reflect?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Some rules for a strange squad build
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 5:43 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:07 pm
Posts: 811
No, actually the reflect still would do damage, but if you rolled a 1 for betrayal, it would be an auto miss anyway. You can never have a betrayal and energy shield on the same attack. If you could the damage would be reflected, but the shooter would still betray (assuming saves go the appropriate way).

_________________
The Wookiee Master

Check us out over at Pojo.com

"It appears the Bothans have rooked us again."
-Obi wan


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield