SWMGAMERS.com Forums
http://swmgamers.com/forums/

New to community
http://swmgamers.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=8704
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Xanatos [ Sat Mar 13, 2010 4:26 pm ]
Post subject:  New to community

I am interested in possibly participating in the regional tournaments this year, but I don't know the
"DCI rules"
can someone explain what I need to know going in and or link me to a full rules sheet?
May the force be with you.
Xanatos :maul:

Author:  billiv15 [ Sat Mar 13, 2010 4:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: New to community

Welcome aboard. Go to the DCI website found here:

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dci/doccenter/home

Click on the SWMs Floor Rules and then ask any questions you have after that.

Author:  Xanatos [ Sat Mar 13, 2010 5:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: New to community

thank you very much.
so.... not faction squads? just light v. dark?
and Vong / Mandalorians go to either?

Author:  dvader831 [ Sat Mar 13, 2010 5:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: New to community

Xanatos wrote:
thank you very much.
so.... not faction squads? just light v. dark?
and Vong / Mandalorians go to either?


Those are only for Booster Draft Limited Format, where each person has two boosters, and you take one, and then pass them on.

For normal, constructed tournaments, you follow faction restrictions.

Author:  Xanatos [ Wed Mar 17, 2010 10:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: New to community

ok I have some more questions.
1: are commander effects supposed to stack?
2: can jedi use their lightsaber defense skills against yuuzhan vong?
3: when using "greater mobile attack" can characters use "double attack"? (case in point, Echani Handmaiden) also, are double attack and twin attack supposed to stack? (again, Echani handmaiden, or, Praetorite vong warrior with command effect from Yuuzhan Vong subaltern)

Author:  LoboStele [ Wed Mar 17, 2010 10:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: New to community

1. CEs only stack if they specifically say they do, or if they grant 'named' abilities. For instance, GOWK's CE and Qui-Gon Jinn Jedi Trainer's CE do NOT stack, because they both grant a generic +4 bonus to Attack. However, GOWK's CE would stack with Admiral Yularen and General Skywalker, since those ones grant a +4/+4, Opportunist (named ability), and Momentum (separate named ability).

2. If by Lightsaber Defense abilities you mean the 'style' abilities (Soresu Style, Ataru Style, Makashi Style Mastery, etc.), then yes, they can use those against Vong. What they can't use against Vong are Force Powers, so Lightsaber Block, Deflect, or LS Defense they cannot use.

3. Yes, Greater Mobile Attack allows you to move and still make all your attacks. So, if you have Double or Triple, then it would allow you to move, and then shoot multiple times. And yes, Double and Twin do stack, which would give that piece 4 attacks.

3a. I know you didn't actually ask this question, but the Praetorite Vong Warrior can't benefit from the Subaltern's CE. Only the "Yuuzhan Vong Warrior" pieces can benefit from the CE. This is different from the 'trooper' CEs because 'Warrior' isn't a named ability, while 'Trooper' is.

Author:  Xanatos [ Wed Mar 17, 2010 2:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: New to community

another question,
A commander effect which applies to "allies" applies to allied commanders as well correct? I assume this because the term "followers" seems to apply to only allies without commander effects; and so, in turn, "allies" would apply to all team members?
(case in point, Yomin Carr's "Poison +10" effect applying to Warmaster Tsavong Lah.)

*addendum* Is Boba Fett BH really legal in tournament play? I mean come on!!! talk about meta.

Author:  obikenobi1 [ Wed Mar 17, 2010 2:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: New to community

Whenever a CE specifies allies, it works for everyone you have, commanders included. So yes, Yomin Car can give Warmaster Tsvong Lah poison +10.

Author:  Xanatos [ Wed Mar 17, 2010 2:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: New to community

excellent.
so this squad really IS this good.
I keep trying to figure out why it's so good, and I guess it just is... lol
I thought I had rules wrong in my head. lol

ok nother question... (you guys rule)

about gaining cover from corners.... is there a rule as far as lines between corners that decides whether a character has cover?

Author:  Weeks [ Wed Mar 17, 2010 2:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: New to community

Xanatos wrote:
another question,
A commander effect which applies to "allies" applies to allied commanders as well correct? I assume this because the term "followers" seems to apply to only allies without commander effects; and so, in turn, "allies" would apply to all team members?
(case in point, Yomin Carr's "Poison +10" effect applying to Warmaster Tsavong Lah.)

*addendum* Is Boba Fett BH really legal in tournament play? I mean come on!!! talk about meta.


Correct on the ce part. As far as boba, bh goes yes in some cases he is meta but you should really play him for the consistant 40 damage with accurite not the big d

Author:  LoboStele [ Wed Mar 17, 2010 3:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: New to community

Xanatos wrote:
about gaining cover from corners.... is there a rule as far as lines between corners that decides whether a character has cover?


I would suggest you look up NickName's Line of Sight guide. It explains cover quite well.

The simple way to determine it though, is when you check for cover, if the line crosses 2 or more pink or green lines, then the character has cover. If nicking a corner is the only pink/green you could be considered to hit, then the character does not have cover.

I highly suggest you jump on Vassal sometime and have someone show you some of the intricacies of cover if you're having problems with it. You'll learn faster on there than anything else.

Also, be sure to peruse the official FAQ, as several of your questions so far would have been answered in there. ;)

And yes, Boba Fett BH can be annoying sometimes, but in a true high-profile tournament setting, he's not necessarily meta. You can't play him expecting to roll 20s, because more often than not, you can go an entire tournament and never get one meaningful Disintegration. He is still a solid piece though, and when used right, you can build decent squads around him.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/