SWMGAMERS.com Forums
http://swmgamers.com/forums/

Rules Mod needs a Rules answer :P Dark Armor vs. FI
http://swmgamers.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=836
Page 1 of 1

Author:  LoboStele [ Tue Oct 16, 2007 1:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Rules Mod needs a Rules answer :P Dark Armor vs. FI

OK, this one I hadn't thought of until now. Say Vader is being attacked by someone with Force Immunity, either a Vong or someone in the Thrawn bubble. Can he use a Force Point when rolling his save for Dark Armor? Yes, I know the Dark Armor roll is 'in response to' an attack by a FI character. For some reason, my first instinct was to say "Sure, he can use a FP" but now I'm not really that sure.

Author:  LoboStele [ Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:37 pm ]
Post subject: 

See?! That's exactly why I asked. :P

Author:  dvader831 [ Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:48 pm ]
Post subject: 

Let me remember back to Gencon <sigh>.
Ruling there was that everyone from inside the bubble has FI, so no rerolling (and I didn't get my Reflect, either). Now, needless to say, Jason did not make the ruling there, but I think it falls in line with the new FI rulings.

Author:  LoboStele [ Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:01 pm ]
Post subject: 

No no no....Vader is OUTSIDE the bubble in this example. Only person who has FI is the attacker. I guess the example is easier if it's a Vong character attacking Vader.

Author:  dvader831 [ Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:04 pm ]
Post subject: 

Yeah, that is how I meant to say it, Lobo. My Jaina was outside the bubble, but the Stormie shooting here was inside, and I could not use Reflect b/c the Stormie effectively had FI.

Author:  Sithborg [ Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:44 pm ]
Post subject: 

Dark Armor is an ability that is used in response to an attack. Thus you can't re-roll it against an attack from someone with Force Immunity.

Author:  Roulex [ Tue Oct 16, 2007 5:48 pm ]
Post subject: 

Sithborg is correct.

Author:  Fox [ Tue Oct 16, 2007 6:17 pm ]
Post subject: 

yeah.. like usual SB hit's it on the nail :D

Basically, the way FI has been reworded any interacting Force point usage is null in void. so re-rolling or using FP to pay for a ability targeting a FI'ed character is a no no.

Far as the whole bubble thing though.. i don't feel coffident enough to comment till i go back over the glossery and rulings to be certian.

Author:  LoboStele [ Tue Oct 16, 2007 9:24 pm ]
Post subject: 

dvader831 wrote:
Yeah, that is how I meant to say it, Lobo. My Jaina was outside the bubble, but the Stormie shooting here was inside, and I could not use Reflect b/c the Stormie effectively had FI.


Bah, I know Defelct/Reflect/Block...those are the easy ones, because it says so in the glossary.

Dark Armor was just throwing me for a loop becuase it's really more of an effect based on the damage taken, not necessarily connected to the source of the damage.

Thanks SithBorg. I figured that was how it worked.

Author:  LoboStele [ Wed Oct 17, 2007 11:52 am ]
Post subject: 

Hahahahaha.....that's right, I could! Nah, I'm an honest guy. I goof things up all the time. I had the stupid Rodian BSV's CE all goofed up this past week. Cost me two Storm Commandos in the first round too. :(

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/