SWMGAMERS.com Forums
http://swmgamers.com/forums/

Dark Times Mini-FAQ
http://swmgamers.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=8319
Page 1 of 1

Author:  jedispyder [ Tue Jan 26, 2010 4:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Dark Times Mini-FAQ

http://community.wizards.com/go/thread/ ... AQ?pg=last

Commander Effects
Major Maximillian Veers
Q: Can the character move before Twin Attack is used, and if so, assuming the character moves out of line of sight is the Twin Attack lost?
A: Yes, and yes the Twin Attack would be lost if the character is no longer a legal target for some reason.

Q: Does the movement from his commander effect provoke attacks of opportunity?
A: Yes.

Q: What step does missing occur in when resolving effects?
A: When missed by an attack effects occur in the same step as when hit by an attack effects.


Special Abilities
Bravado
Q: How does Reinforcements affect the cost of a character when checking Bravado?
A: Reinforcements does not affect the cost of a character; it changes the value in victory points. Compare to whatever cost was paid to add the character into the Reinforcements pool.

Breath Mask
Q: Does Breath Mask work on an ability like Poisoned Blade?
A: Yes.

Final Shot
Q: Does Final Shot work with Twin Attack if the character isn't defeated by the first attack for some reason?
A: Yes.

Rapport
Q: Does the 501st Legion Stormtrooper get to use Rapport when it's in a squad with Vader's Apprentice Unleashed?
A: Yes.

Snare Rifle
Q: Does a character that's been affected by Snare Rifle get to use their movement later at the end of the round?
A: No. Any movement the character is granted during the round through turns or other effects is basically lost. The following round, the character could then move as normal.

Q: If the current square is an illegal position for some reason, who decides which square to place the character in?
A: The player who controls the moving character.

Q: If the current square is an illegal position for some reason and multiple squares are tied for the nearest, how do you determine which one to place the character in?
A: The player who controls the moving character chooses.

Q: If the current square is an illegal position for some reason and the character designates they will move into a specific square giving up an attack of opportunity, would he be forced to end in that square if hit by a snare gun or would the player still get to choose.
A: The movement is interrupted by Snare Rifle. The player may choose a different square if desired.

Unique
Q: Can Major Maximillian Veers be in the same squad as General Veers?
A: No.

Author:  dnemiller [ Tue Jan 26, 2010 4:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Dark Times Mini-FAQ

hey thanks for posting whole thing Chris na dnot a link nice job!!!

Author:  jedispyder [ Tue Jan 26, 2010 4:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Dark Times Mini-FAQ

Heh, funnily enough I can't even view the link! I'm at work and WotC is blocked, Sithborg kindly sent it to me ^_^

So I'm guessing most of the entries for Snare Gun refer to getting hit by an AoO which would stop them dead in their tracks? Whoa, that's sweet! Even more deadly...

Author:  LoboStele [ Wed Jan 27, 2010 11:17 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Dark Times Mini-FAQ

Yeah, ultimate Yobuck counter. :) Also works amazing on a ton of other things as well though. To be able to keep something from moving at all until the next round is so brutally powerful.

Author:  R5Don4 [ Wed Jan 27, 2010 7:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Dark Times Mini-FAQ

jedispyder wrote:
http://community.wizards.com/go/thread/view/75862/22308873/Dark_Times_Mini-FAQ?pg=last

Special Abilities
Bravado
Q: How does Rapport affect the cost of a character when checking Bravado?
A: It changes the cost. Compare to the modified cost.



Doesn't this directly contradict the rules insert?

Author:  NickName [ Wed Jan 27, 2010 7:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Dark Times Mini-FAQ

Yes. It's been removed from the original.

Author:  jedispyder [ Wed Jan 27, 2010 9:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Dark Times Mini-FAQ

Thanks for bringing that up, I've removed it from my post =o)

Author:  Markedman247 [ Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:02 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Dark Times Mini-FAQ

I am guessing that Veer's CE doesn't affect pieces with Mercenary by allowing them to move from their starting spot if they have LoS to a target, correct?

Author:  Ruhk [ Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:08 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Dark Times Mini-FAQ

I think that would fall under the ruling of 'most restrictive' condition. If a character with Mercenary can see an enemy it can't move, Veers CE allows bonus movement if condition X is satisfied, however Condition Y prevents the bonus movement. So technically they do benefit from the movement, but, of course, can't move.

Author:  jonnyb815 [ Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Dark Times Mini-FAQ

This character can move only if it cannot make an attack from its starting space

With Veers CE when they move the two they cant make an attack wouldnt it work like intuition does?
Most Merc squads have Imp RS veers so it wouldnt matter I think it would work.

Author:  jedispyder [ Sat Jan 30, 2010 7:53 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Dark Times Mini-FAQ

Jonny has it right. The mercs are allowed to move with Veers' CE and it's just like the merc with Intuition. Because you cannot attack since it's not your turn, you're allowed to move even though you have LoS to an enemy.

Author:  R5Don4 [ Sat Jan 30, 2010 8:15 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Dark Times Mini-FAQ

Johnny 1

Ruhk 0



Stupid joke I know. Sorry Eric, but Johnny has so little. I love you guys.

Author:  SteveSpikes [ Sat Jan 30, 2010 9:42 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Dark Times Mini-FAQ

My question is of the Snare Rifle Special Ability.

The definition on The Dark Times insert reads: A character hit by this character's attacks cannot voluntarily move until the end of the round. If this special ability was triggered by an attack of opportunity, the target stops in the square it currently occupies or in the closest legal space if the current space is an illegal position. The target is still subject to abilities and Force powers that cause involuntary movement, such as Force Push.

The situation occurred during a friendly sealed game between myself and a friend at our LGS. It happened at the start (or near the beginning) of the round, so the target has not activated. My question is: Is Snare Rifle another version of Jolt, where the target is activated for the round, or is it where the target cannot move, but is able to attack from that square?

Another "theory" discussed is that the target has to be the last piece to be activated that round.

Which one is correct? Thanks.

Author:  jedispyder [ Sat Jan 30, 2010 9:55 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Dark Times Mini-FAQ

Read the FAQ:
"Q: Does a character that's been affected by Snare Rifle get to use their movement later at the end of the round?
A: No. Any movement the character is granted during the round through turns or other effects is basically lost. The following round, the character could then move as normal."

So it's not like Jolt and it doesn't mean they have to activate last, it means they can activate anytime they wish but can't move.

Author:  SteveSpikes [ Sat Jan 30, 2010 10:37 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Dark Times Mini-FAQ

Thanks a lot. We were not sure at the time.

Author:  SteveSpikes [ Sat Jan 30, 2010 10:46 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Dark Times Mini-FAQ

It looks like Snare Rifle is the long-awaited nerf to movement-based (attack) bonuses like Momentum and Charging Assault.
Unlike Jolt, Snare Rifle does not have a "save". . . . Interesting.

Author:  jedispyder [ Sat Jan 30, 2010 10:49 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Dark Times Mini-FAQ

It also works on AoO so if you place Zuckuss in just the right spot you can totally screw your opponent's melee piece. "Oh, so you want Lord Vader to go after my Luke's Snowspeeder? Gonna have to risk getting by my Glue Gun. Do you feel lucky, punk?"

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/