SWMGAMERS.com Forums
http://swmgamers.com/forums/

TBSV CE: GMA + XTRA MVMT
http://swmgamers.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=7070
Page 1 of 1

Author:  swinefeld [ Fri Jul 10, 2009 7:27 pm ]
Post subject:  TBSV CE: GMA + XTRA MVMT

Sorry about the subject, was trying to be concise :P

Question:

If a character who is granted GMA (by the TBSV) moves, then makes an attack at range of 6 from the TBSV or a Mouse, kills the enemy, and then is granted extra movement (say Leia Rebel Hero's CE or Rolling Cleave) taking it farther than 6 squares from the TBSV/Mouse, does it lose the ability to make the rest of its attacks (per its normal SA)?

I hope that made sense :?

Author:  jedispyder [ Fri Jul 10, 2009 7:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: TBSV CE: GMA + XTRA MVMT

You check the CE when you use it, so if you're out of TBSV/MD range then you'd lose GMA.

Author:  dvader831 [ Fri Jul 10, 2009 7:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: TBSV CE: GMA + XTRA MVMT

swinefeld wrote:
If a character who is granted GMA (by the TBSV) moves, then makes an attack at range of 6 from the TBSV or a Mouse, kills the enemy, and then is granted extra movement (say Leia Rebel Hero's CE or Rolling Cleave) taking it farther than 6 squares from the TBSV/Mouse, does it lose the ability to make the rest of its attacks (per its normal SA)?

Okay, wow, great question!
Commander Effects are always checked when they are going to be used. In this scenario, the character has GMA when he begins, and then again when he gains Leia's CE, which does not prevent extra attacks, so I would say he could still move and get the extra attacks. Of course, he would no longer have GMA for his next activation unless he comes under the CE of the TBSV again.

Author:  swinefeld [ Fri Jul 10, 2009 8:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: TBSV CE: GMA + XTRA MVMT

Thanks guys, it definitely is a little tricky :P

So as an example, Jarael moves to 6 from TBSV, hits, kills, Leia's CE kicks in, Jarael moves out of range of TBSV and can't attack again (even though Leia would otherwise grant it) because she no longer has GMA... (and she moved first!)

Example 2: Asajj, SA is buffed with GMA, same scenario as above (minus Leia) moves, hits, kills, Rolling Cleave takes her out of range, she gets her free attack but then can't take the double...

If I didn't muck that up, I think I get the jist ;)

Author:  jschristy [ Sat Jul 11, 2009 9:06 am ]
Post subject:  Re: TBSV CE: GMA + XTRA MVMT

I think that whenever you move out of the range of the CE, you no longer gain the benefits.

It would be interesting to see how this is ruled, however, since the CE you're talking about does not prevent the use of extra attacks.

While I'd like it to work so you do not lose the extra attacks, I think since you are farther than 6 away you will lose them.

Author:  swinefeld [ Sat Jul 11, 2009 11:23 am ]
Post subject:  Re: TBSV CE: GMA + XTRA MVMT

jschristy wrote:
I think that whenever you move out of the range of the CE, you no longer gain the benefits.

It would be interesting to see how this is ruled, however, since the CE you're talking about does not prevent the use of extra attacks.

While I'd like it to work so you do not lose the extra attacks, I think since you are farther than 6 away you will lose them.

Agreed.
I think the extra movement from Leia would come before checking range for GMA for an additional attack. However, the wording of her CE is such that any character with an extra attack would be able to move the two squares and use it under normal circumstances, so in a way her CE is granting GMA to begin with.

The question came to me after I looked at Krosan's GmAsajj Ventress squad:
http://www.swmgamers.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7038
He made a comment about how Asajj had to give up Loner in exchange for maintaining GMA, and I started pondering if she were to get a Rolling Cleave that took her out of range of a Mouse, she could then potentially get Loner for the free attack, then I wondered if GMA would still be in effect (the timing of when you check for it)

I would definitely like to see how this would be ruled in Leia's case. Perhaps I will pose the question on WotC and see if NickName addresses it.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/