logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Thrawn vs Shado
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 7:42 pm 
Black Sun Thug
Black Sun Thug
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 1:27 pm
Posts: 94
This came up during a game the other day.

I'm aware you can use LS Prescision against a force immune character (i.e. a vong) and can't spend FP's inside Thrawn's bubble, but this is the conundrum me and my friend had.

Shado Vao spends an FP on Prescision, one square outside the Ysalmiri/Force Immunity bubble. He then moves 6 squares into the bubble adjacent to Thrawn...if he then attacks the Grand Admirial, will LS Prescision trigger on his first attack (as usual)?

I said yes, arguing that the bonus was "made availbile" by spending the FP outside the bubble, so to speak, and triggered once he made his attack, and following the definition of Force Immunity, because it wasn't a force power affecting Thrawn like Lightning, he got the extra damage (in the same way one could use "Use the Force" or Sith Rage outside the bubble, and they'd trigger on the attack(s) made in the bubble.)

My friend's argument was that whilst you could spend outside the bubble, once you entered the six squares, Shado gained Force Immunity, and therefore could no longer benefit from Force Powers or Force Re-rolls etc. so the bonus from Prescision (or rage etc.) no longer applied.

Help?!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Thrawn vs Shado
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 8:14 pm 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
Shadows wrote:
Shado Vao spends an FP on Prescision, one square outside the Ysalmiri/Force Immunity bubble. He then moves 6 squares into the bubble adjacent to Thrawn...if he then attacks the Grand Admirial, will LS Prescision trigger on his first attack (as usual)?

I said yes, arguing that the bonus was "made availbile" by spending the FP outside the bubble, so to speak, and triggered once he made his attack, and following the definition of Force Immunity, because it wasn't a force power affecting Thrawn like Lightning, he got the extra damage (in the same way one could use "Use the Force" or Sith Rage outside the bubble, and they'd trigger on the attack(s) made in the bubble.)

My friend's argument was that whilst you could spend outside the bubble, once you entered the six squares, Shado gained Force Immunity, and therefore could no longer benefit from Force Powers or Force Re-rolls etc. so the bonus from Prescision (or rage etc.) no longer applied.

Help?!


You got it right. Precision can be used outside of the bubble, and then move into the bubble, and it still works. Same things works for Sith Rage and Use the Force. These are all powers that affect the next time you attack situations. However, things like L Sweep, L Assault, etc., cannot, because the FP's for them must be spent at the exact moment when the power would be used.

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Thrawn vs Shado
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 9:35 pm 
Droid Army Commander
Droid Army Commander
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:05 pm
Posts: 1276
Location: Yes, I am yet another Canadian. Keeping the game alive on life support in the GTA.
I'm not sure you are right on this one dv. I think those abilities need to be used immediately before an attack is made. Can some one else chime in please?

_________________
ImageImage


Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Thrawn vs Shado
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 9:44 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 2004
Location: Minnesota
R5Don4 is correct.

This is addressed directly in the glossary for Lightsaber Precision

For further clarification on some of the other abilities-

Official FAQ wrote:
Q: Can I spend Force points for a power such as Use the Force or Sith Rage earlier in the turn before actually making an attack? The wording doesn't say I have to spend the Force point immediately prior to the attack the way that Lightsaber Precision does, and it could be important when dealing with abilities such as Ysalamiri.

A: You must spend the Force point immediately upon declaring an attack, an ability that replaces attacks, or movement. You cannot spend points early and have the power "stored" for later use.

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Thrawn vs Shado
PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:56 am 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
I'm a goof! I'll admit it :)
For some reason, I thought there were those three exceptions. My bad . . .

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Thrawn vs Shado
PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:10 am 
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:31 pm
Posts: 3575
Location: Cincinnati, OH
I tried to get away with using Sith Rage outside of a Force Defense bubble. Sucks it doesn't work...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Thrawn vs Shado
PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 5:17 pm 
Black Sun Thug
Black Sun Thug
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 1:27 pm
Posts: 94
Nuts, my dislike for that darn Ysalmiri just increased again.

Ah well, thanks for the quick reply guys, now I can prepare myself for his inevitable gloating...

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Thrawn vs Shado
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:18 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
LOL, Ray....I don't think there are ANY exceptions when it comes to the Force Powers. The easy way to remember it is you can't "store" Force Powers for later use. Something similar to this came up with our group on Thursday with Luke COTF and Use The Force.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield