logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Disintegration Question
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:19 pm 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:12 pm
Posts: 387
Location: PA
When a character with disintegration rolls a crit on someone is the only way to keep from dying with a bodyguard???

I seem to remember Lightsaber Deflect or Reflect negating it. Is this true?

_________________
CotF 57/60, A&E 56/60, FU: 60/60, LotF 60/60, KotOR 60/60, CW 40/40

[spoiler="Nomi's Severed Force List"]After Two Game's Played:
Luke Hoth Pilot Unleashed
Master Kota[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration Question
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:23 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
No. Disentegration is not damage, it is a side effect of being hit (unless the target or the Bodyguard are a Huge, then Disentegration is bonus damage). Deflect & Reflect only negate damage (though you can still do damage back on a Disentegration with Reflect).

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration Question
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 10:09 pm 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:12 pm
Posts: 387
Location: PA
ahhhhh that must have been it....you kill my guy and I do you 10 damage!!!

so I guess I have to go with the bodyguard....

_________________
CotF 57/60, A&E 56/60, FU: 60/60, LotF 60/60, KotOR 60/60, CW 40/40

[spoiler="Nomi's Severed Force List"]After Two Game's Played:
Luke Hoth Pilot Unleashed
Master Kota[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration Question
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 6:30 am 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 2004
Location: Minnesota
FYI- This information is posted in the Archives of the Gamers Jedi under Disintegration

or

Disintegration: If this character rolls a natural 20 on an attack roll, the target character is defeated regardless of its Hit Points. The target is defeated even if it avoids damage with a special ability or Force power. If another character takes the damage from that attack (for example, using the Bodyguard special ability), the other character is defeated instead of the original target. Against Huge or larger targets, the attacker gets +40 Damage instead of defeating the target. (Add the bonus damage after multiplying.)

Characters

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration Question
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 9:24 am 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:12 pm
Posts: 387
Location: PA
that is cool!!!

I looked though the rules questions and the FAQ's first before posting!!!

thx for the resource!!!

_________________
CotF 57/60, A&E 56/60, FU: 60/60, LotF 60/60, KotOR 60/60, CW 40/40

[spoiler="Nomi's Severed Force List"]After Two Game's Played:
Luke Hoth Pilot Unleashed
Master Kota[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration Question
PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 3:49 pm 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:12 pm
Posts: 387
Location: PA
I have another question on disintegration.

Can I use "Force Alter" to cause a re-roll if the character with disint. crits my character???

I would think you could respond to it, before your character is removed from play.

_________________
CotF 57/60, A&E 56/60, FU: 60/60, LotF 60/60, KotOR 60/60, CW 40/40

[spoiler="Nomi's Severed Force List"]After Two Game's Played:
Luke Hoth Pilot Unleashed
Master Kota[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration Question
PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 3:55 pm 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
You are correct. Force Alter is another way around a Disintegration.

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration Question
PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:29 pm 
Jedi Battlemaster
Jedi Battlemaster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 8:46 pm
Posts: 3199
Location: Waterloo, ON
Also, another thing to point out: Against Huges, its an additional 40 damage (for a total of 80), however there is one figure that is Huge, that also has Lightsaber Deflect: Obi-Wan on Boga.

If BF, BH or a Gotal were to roll a crit against Obi on Boga, he could attempt to deflect the damage, and possibly avoid the damage entirely.

Thus, it is possible to avoid a 'Disintegration' !

_________________
Winner of the Knights of the SWMGamers Stats Contest
<Joruus (GFC)> - Sheesh, I swear you're like Fool 2.0 (and you can quote me on it xD)
Archives of the Gamers Jedi
Join the FOLLY! Online casual League, find out more here: FOLLY


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration Question
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:20 pm 
Unnamed Stormtrooper
Unnamed Stormtrooper
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:17 am
Posts: 10
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Ruhk wrote:
Also, another thing to point out: Against Huges, its an additional 40 damage (for a total of 80), however there is one figure that is Huge, that also has Lightsaber Deflect: Obi-Wan on Boga.

If BF, BH or a Gotal were to roll a crit against Obi on Boga, he could attempt to deflect the damage, and possibly avoid the damage entirely.

Thus, it is possible to avoid a 'Disintegration' !


simone89 wrote:
I have another question on disintegration.

Can I use "Force Alter" to cause a re-roll if the character with disint. crits my character???

I would think you could respond to it, before your character is removed from play.


i would have to say negative on these...the rules clearly state:

Quote:
Disintegration: If this character rolls a natural 20 on an attack roll, the target character is defeated regardless of its Hit Points. The target is defeated even if it avoids damage with a special ability or Force power.


i would think the only way around it would be the bodyguard ability because that's in there specifically:

Quote:
If another character takes the damage from that attack (for example, using the Bodyguard special ability), the other character is defeated instead of the original target.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration Question
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:24 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
See, Alter doesn't avoid damage in anyway. Alter makes it as if the attack that is being altered had never happened. So, no 20 was rolled, no Disentegration. When a result is rerolled, the first is considered to never have happened.

It is actually somewhat misleading to say that Alter gets around Disentegration. It doesn't avoid the effect, it just makes it as if it never happened.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration Question
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 8:57 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 2004
Location: Minnesota
Darth_Edon wrote:
Ruhk wrote:
Also, another thing to point out: Against Huges, its an additional 40 damage (for a total of 80), however there is one figure that is Huge, that also has Lightsaber Deflect: Obi-Wan on Boga.

If BF, BH or a Gotal were to roll a crit against Obi on Boga, he could attempt to deflect the damage, and possibly avoid the damage entirely.

Thus, it is possible to avoid a 'Disintegration' !


i would have to say negative on these...


Sithborg correctly answered your statement regarding Force Alter and Ruhk was talking about a Huge character, so that piece would not be defeated because it is huge.

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration Question
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 2:37 am 
Unnamed Stormtrooper
Unnamed Stormtrooper
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:17 am
Posts: 10
Location: Okinawa, Japan
well, some guys on gleemax think otherwise

http://forums.gleemax.com/showthread.ph ... ntegration

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration Question
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 5:05 am 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 1:20 pm
Posts: 661
Well that's great for them Edon.

But that's how it works according to Nickname aka the Official Rules Rep.

_________________
Image

[spoiler="crap"]
Quote:
MediocreMind
Support bacteria - it's the only culture some people have!

Code:
DCI Ranking
Star Wars Miniatures Constructed (as of 2008-09-15)
1826 rating   64 matches   21 events   
    37  All   33  North America   7  Canada   1  CA-Ontario   
[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration Question
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 5:48 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
Darth_Edon wrote:
well, some guys on gleemax think otherwise

http://forums.gleemax.com/showthread.ph ... ntegration


That's the only way to prevent it after the Disentegration happens. Never go for full lists, as often times, it can be wrong. Read the Resolving Effects section of the FAQ. Alter CLEARLY happens before Disentegration is resolved.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration Question
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 6:23 am 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:12 pm
Posts: 387
Location: PA
holy necro batman!!!!

but anyway, I went over there and it appears that they agree with everything that SB said!!!

They didnt talk about alter, but I belive what I read above.

_________________
CotF 57/60, A&E 56/60, FU: 60/60, LotF 60/60, KotOR 60/60, CW 40/40

[spoiler="Nomi's Severed Force List"]After Two Game's Played:
Luke Hoth Pilot Unleashed
Master Kota[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Disintegration Question
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 5:50 am 
Unnamed Stormtrooper
Unnamed Stormtrooper
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:17 am
Posts: 10
Location: Okinawa, Japan
ok, gotcha!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield