logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Large starting
PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:49 am 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 11:36 am
Posts: 18
Can I get some clarification on this? Can Large units have one point of their base in the starting area, or do they have to have all of it?

_________________
Force grip for the win!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Large starting
PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 10:22 am 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 2004
Location: Minnesota
From the FAQ
Setup
Q: What do I do if my squad contains too many characters or characters who are too big to all fit in the designated starting areas?
A: Place as many characters as you can in the starting area, then any remaining characters in adjacent squares as close as possible to that area. Set up Huge characters first, then Large, then Medium and Small characters.

Q: When setting up a large or bigger character in the standard starting area, does the whole base have to be in the starting area, or do you just count range from the edge?
A: Count range from the edge. In effect, part of its base may be outside of the starting area while still meeting the requirement for being within 4 squares of the edge.

Q: If I start the battle with a character next to a door, is the door open?
A: Yes. Doors adjacent to characters after setup are open prior to the first activation.

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Large starting
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 12:36 pm 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 11:36 am
Posts: 18
Yeah that's what I was told but I wanted to be sure

_________________
Force grip for the win!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Large starting
PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 2:20 pm 
Unnamed Stormtrooper
Unnamed Stormtrooper

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 11:38 pm
Posts: 14
From Jedi Counseling 110:

Q: Can a character with Emplacement set up across a door?

A: No. Doors start the game closed and do not open until a character ends its turn adjacent to the door (or until some other special ability, such as Override, comes into play). Given this, the door is treated as a wall during setup, and a character cannot have its space divided by a wall.

Now I do understand that the official FAQ takes precedence over the JC, but someone should get a final ruling on this prior to a major tourney, like something at GenCon...

_________________
Just because everyone seems to like it, that doesn't make it good...

John


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Large starting
PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 10:26 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
Rulebook takes precedent over JC and FAQ, and the rulebook sides with the FAQ. They are closed when you place your figures, but open after setup.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Large starting
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 5:00 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 1:08 pm
Posts: 8394
Once again we see why Jedi Counseling is so, so, SO bad. ~DSBoom

_________________
Click here to check out all the people who have realized the truth. Someday you will, too.

"I would really, really like to not have anything else happen at the end of the round other than things just ending." -- Sithborg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Large starting
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:57 pm 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee

Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 11:01 am
Posts: 26
Location: RS-Brasil
ok, closed when placing, open before playing.

What about anticipation? If i move a character near a door and then activate it first, will the door be open or closed? Doors only open when a turn ends, and since no turn has ended... i guess it would be closed, but would like a clarification, please.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Large starting
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 6:39 am 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:12 pm
Posts: 387
Location: PA
Fool wrote:
Closed. Door checks happen after a character activates and Anticipation/INtuition are not counted as an activation


so just for my clairification:

If I use Intuition to move over to a door the door is still closed until the Intuition character activates/ends his activation to open the door???

_________________
CotF 57/60, A&E 56/60, FU: 60/60, LotF 60/60, KotOR 60/60, CW 40/40

[spoiler="Nomi's Severed Force List"]After Two Game's Played:
Luke Hoth Pilot Unleashed
Master Kota[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield