logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: "Defeated" = self destruct? What about "Remove from Play"?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 2:12 pm 
Unnamed Stormtrooper
Unnamed Stormtrooper

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:37 pm
Posts: 11
Does self destruct work when the character is "defeated" by an ability like Exar's Transfer Essence?

What about being "removed from play" from a Muun Tactic's Broker?

Thanks!

Mez


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: "Defeated" = self destruct? What about "Remove from Play"?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 4:04 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 1:20 pm
Posts: 661
it's a very fine difference.

Defeating a character will trigger any effects that trigger on defeat (ie self destruct)

Remove from play does just that. It is REMOVED and not defeated hence skipping any effects that trigger from being defeated. (so no self destruct)

_________________
Image

[spoiler="crap"]
Quote:
MediocreMind
Support bacteria - it's the only culture some people have!

Code:
DCI Ranking
Star Wars Miniatures Constructed (as of 2008-09-15)
1826 rating   64 matches   21 events   
    37  All   33  North America   7  Canada   1  CA-Ontario   
[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: "Defeated" = self destruct? What about "Remove from Play"?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 5:27 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Actually, Fox, that's incorrect. When in doubt, always check the FAQ on the WOTC website, or NickName's Mini-FAQ on the WOTC forums. It has been ruled that the Munn Tactics Broker's ability does in fact trigger Self-Destruct. So far, the only effects that keep self-destruct from ocurring are those that keep the pieces from being defeated (i.e. Emergency Life Support or Princess Leia Hoth Commander's commander effect).

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: "Defeated" = self destruct? What about "Remove from Play"?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 5:43 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 2004
Location: Minnesota
Lobo is correct. Directly from the faq.

Q: When a character is removed from play, and counts as defeated, what happens with abilities like Avoid Defeat, or Self Destruct?

A: The character is removed from play, so it cannot take advantage of any effect that would prevent it from being defeated, however, other effects that trigger when a character is defeated, like Self-Destruct, would still occur.

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield