logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 3:06 pm 
Black Sun Thug
Black Sun Thug

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 3:43 pm
Posts: 67
How does she exactly work ? When someone (for example Wookiee Commando) is 2 squares away from her, and she gets killed, what happens? Does Wookiee Commando take 40 dmg from Self Destruct? Or not?
Sorry, if its obvious and thanks for reply!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 3:23 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Her Self-Destruct 40 hits adjacent targets. So, that only applies to those that actually count as being adjacent to her. So, if your Wookiee Commando is indeed 2 squares away when she gets killed, and he is not considered adjacent to her at that time, then he is perfectly safe.

What you have probably heard some people talking about, is the crazy interaction between Melee Reach 3 and Self-Destruct 40. When Lumiya is making an attack, all characters within 3 squares are considered adjacent. So, even if your Wookiee Commando is 2 squares away, when Lumiya is making an attack, he is considered adjacent, until her attacks are completely resolved. Now, since she is a Melee piece, her attacks can be Riposted. If someone were to Riposte one of her attacks, which interrupts Lumiya's attack sequence, and the Riposte does enough damage to kill Lumiya, here's where the fun begins. You are still during the middle of Lumiya's attack phase, so all characters within 3 squares count as adjacent. Riposte is fully resolved BEFORE Lumiya's attack finishes resolving, so the Riposte happens in the middle of everything. Thus, when Lumiya goes BOOM, all characters within 3 squares are considered adjacent at that time.

So, her Self-Destruct 40 works just like any other form of Self-Destruct, there's just a very particular interaction with Melee Reach 3 that makes it much more deadly.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 4:11 pm 
Black Sun Thug
Black Sun Thug

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 3:43 pm
Posts: 67
Hah, I didnt know that! thanks for response :-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 4:16 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Yeah, the same thing has been possible with the Nom Anor and any Fringe non-Unique piece with Melee Reach 2 (namely Mistryl Shadow Guard and Amanin Scout right now) but Melee Reach 2 only adds 4 squares of damage in that special situation, where as Melee Reach 3 adds 17 squares!

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 7:11 am 
Black Sun Thug
Black Sun Thug

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 3:43 pm
Posts: 67
And how about his one :
x000
xx00
xxx0
Lxxx
xxx0
xx00
x000

L = Lumyia
x = square, where she can atack with melee reach 3
0 = empty square

Question 1 :
000
x200
xxx0
L1xx
xxx0
xx00
x000
Can Lumyia target enemy number 2?

L = Lumyia
x = square, where she can atack with melee reach 3
0 = empty square
1 = enemy number one, adjacent
2 = enemy number two, in her "melee reach 3" range


Question 2 :
x000
xx00
xxx0
L1x2
xxx0
xx00
x000
Can Lumyia target enemy number 2? Does number two get cover?

L = Lumyia
x = square, where she can atack with melee reach 3
0 = empty square
1 = enemy number one, adjacent
2 = enemy number two, in her "melee reach 3" range




I hope that both "pictures" are clear.. Please say what is right, and explain. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 7:22 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
You can attack each enemy in both questions. And since MR 3 makes them adjacent for all purposes, adjacent enemies never have cover.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 7:24 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Yeah, the way you think about it, is the order in which you take your turn.

First, you declare that you are making an attack. 2nd, you choose your target. So, once you declare you are making an attack, Melee Reach 3 automatically makes all the characters within 3 squares adjacent to you.

In fact, I saw somebody do exactly this last night at our LGS. ;)

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:56 am 
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:31 pm
Posts: 3575
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Did NN post over on WotC that you still needed LoS? Cause you could have someone around a corner with no LoS but you'd still be technically adjacent to them with MR3...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:37 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
Yes, he did. Right in the Mini-FAQ.

http://forums.gleemax.com/showthread.php?t=1009616

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 5:01 am 
Black Sun Thug
Black Sun Thug

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 3:43 pm
Posts: 67
TY for answers!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 8:20 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 1:08 pm
Posts: 8394
LoboStele wrote:
Her Self-Destruct 40 hits adjacent targets. So, that only applies to those that actually count as being adjacent to her. So, if your Wookiee Commando is indeed 2 squares away when she gets killed, and he is not considered adjacent to her at that time, then he is perfectly safe.

What you have probably heard some people talking about, is the crazy interaction between Melee Reach 3 and Self-Destruct 40. When Lumiya is making an attack, all characters within 3 squares are considered adjacent. So, even if your Wookiee Commando is 2 squares away, when Lumiya is making an attack, he is considered adjacent, until her attacks are completely resolved. Now, since she is a Melee piece, her attacks can be Riposted. If someone were to Riposte one of her attacks, which interrupts Lumiya's attack sequence, and the Riposte does enough damage to kill Lumiya, here's where the fun begins. You are still during the middle of Lumiya's attack phase, so all characters within 3 squares count as adjacent. Riposte is fully resolved BEFORE Lumiya's attack finishes resolving, so the Riposte happens in the middle of everything. Thus, when Lumiya goes BOOM, all characters within 3 squares are considered adjacent at that time.

So, her Self-Destruct 40 works just like any other form of Self-Destruct, there's just a very particular interaction with Melee Reach 3 that makes it much more deadly.


I don't think this is correct. If an enemy character with Self Destruct is within the Melee Reach of another character that has Melee Reach 2 or 3 (or more, eventually), then the Melee Reacher takes damage. Why wouldn't this work both ways?

_________________
Click here to check out all the people who have realized the truth. Someday you will, too.

"I would really, really like to not have anything else happen at the end of the round other than things just ending." -- Sithborg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 8:26 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
Because, they are only adjacent from that far when the character with MR X is attacking on their turn.

It is why those with MR X don't take AoO's from the distance.

Edit: I may be misinterpretting your question though.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 8:10 pm 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
My quick interjection. THIS PIECE IS A PAIN IN THE BUTT! How many times can people hit their evade rolls? How many times can they make Missile Saves? Aaaarrrgggghhhhh, she's an annoying pain ! ! !

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 8:19 pm 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:12 pm
Posts: 387
Location: PA
dvader831 wrote:
How many times can people hit their evade rolls?


hehe now I'm a bit confused.....if someone is hit by her and they have evade, they get to make an evade save????

(she is 2 or 3 away)

_________________
CotF 57/60, A&E 56/60, FU: 60/60, LotF 60/60, KotOR 60/60, CW 40/40

[spoiler="Nomi's Severed Force List"]After Two Game's Played:
Luke Hoth Pilot Unleashed
Master Kota[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 8:26 pm 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
simone89 wrote:
dvader831 wrote:
How many times can people hit their evade rolls?


hehe now I'm a bit confused.....if someone is hit by her and they have evade, they get to make an evade save????

(she is 2 or 3 away)



No, she has evade! Stupid Lumiya!

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 10:53 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
simone89 wrote:
dvader831 wrote:
How many times can people hit their evade rolls?


hehe now I'm a bit confused.....if someone is hit by her and they have evade, they get to make an evade save????

(she is 2 or 3 away)


No. She is considered adjacent for those attacks.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 4:22 am 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:59 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Czech Republic
quick question - is lumiyas weapon based on a lightsaber? since she doesnt have any lightsaber power I think it is not, for purpose of damage reduction, cortosis gauntlets..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 7:45 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
We realized this at our Sealed tourney yesterday as well. For the time being, we ruled it as she does NOT have a lightsaber. Will definitely need to ask Nickname though, and get an official ruling on it. Her lightwhip certainly doesn't look like a lightsaber, and you wouldn't know that it's supposed to act like one without reading the books. However, I suspect that it will be ruled as being NOT a lightsaber. If it's ruled the other way, then you'll start having all sorts of issues with people think the Mistryl Shadow Guards have lightsaber-whips as well.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 7:30 pm 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
I believe the precedent for her not being considered as having a lightsaber goes back to the "Whip Chick" Mistryl Shadow Guard, and I believe she was ruled, for things like Damage Reduction, as not having a Lightsaber.

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Lumyia, Dark Lady
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:55 am 
Sith Infiltrator
Sith Infiltrator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:41 pm
Posts: 1683
Location: Aboard the Anakin Solo, NJ
LoboStele wrote:
Her Self-Destruct 40 hits adjacent targets. So, that only applies to those that actually count as being adjacent to her. So, if your Wookiee Commando is indeed 2 squares away when she gets killed, and he is not considered adjacent to her at that time, then he is perfectly safe.

What you have probably heard some people talking about, is the crazy interaction between Melee Reach 3 and Self-Destruct 40. When Lumiya is making an attack, all characters within 3 squares are considered adjacent. So, even if your Wookiee Commando is 2 squares away, when Lumiya is making an attack, he is considered adjacent, until her attacks are completely resolved. Now, since she is a Melee piece, her attacks can be Riposted. If someone were to Riposte one of her attacks, which interrupts Lumiya's attack sequence, and the Riposte does enough damage to kill Lumiya, here's where the fun begins. You are still during the middle of Lumiya's attack phase, so all characters within 3 squares count as adjacent. Riposte is fully resolved BEFORE Lumiya's attack finishes resolving, so the Riposte happens in the middle of everything. Thus, when Lumiya goes BOOM, all characters within 3 squares are considered adjacent at that time.

So, her Self-Destruct 40 works just like any other form of Self-Destruct, there's just a very particular interaction with Melee Reach 3 that makes it much more deadly.

Good Lord, that is a handful! And insane. Thanks.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield