logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Gen Grievous and Battle droid officer
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 2:53 pm 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:59 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Czech Republic
Does the CE of gen Grievous stack with Fire support? (+8 attack)

thanks, didnt find that in FAQ


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Gen Grievous and Battle droid officer
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 2:54 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Absoutely, because Fire Support is not a CE, therefore it is not subject to stacking rules.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Gen Grievous and Battle droid officer
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 3:43 pm 
Black Sun Thug
Black Sun Thug

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 3:43 pm
Posts: 67
Yes, this is clear enough I think..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Gen Grievous and Battle droid officer
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 10:58 pm 
Jedi Council
Jedi Council
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 4:03 pm
Posts: 1861
Location: Springfield
LoboStele wrote:
Absoutely, because Fire Support is not a CE, therefore it is not subject to stacking rules.


SA's are still subject to the stacking rule. You can use both of those abilities because they're two differentely named abilities.

_________________
Slinky + Escalator = Endless Fun


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Gen Grievous and Battle droid officer
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:06 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
homer_sapien wrote:
LoboStele wrote:
Absoutely, because Fire Support is not a CE, therefore it is not subject to stacking rules.


SA's are still subject to the stacking rule. You can use both of those abilities because they're two differentely named abilities.


This is not entirely true. The instance of things being 'named' abilities is like one character that grants 'Cunning Attack' to other followers, and another character that grants 'Careful Shot' to followers. THOSE are both named abilities that are being GRANTED to the follower. In the case of the Battle Droid Officer, he is not granting a named ability to anyone else. He is simply granting a +4 Attack bonus. Sure, it's a 'named' ability on the BDO's card, but it is different from granting a 'named' ability to another character. If the BDO's Fire Control was a CE instead of an SA, then it would NOT stack with Greivous' bonus, because then they'd both be straight up +4 bonuses.

The simple rule is that bonuses granted from special abilities stack, whereas bonuses granted from CEs do not stack, unless they are specific 'named' abilities. However, at this time, I don't think there are any cases where multiple SAs grant bonuses, so there aren't any stacking issues there anyways.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Gen Grievous and Battle droid officer
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 11:16 am 
Jedi Council
Jedi Council
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 4:03 pm
Posts: 1861
Location: Springfield
Learned something new then. I'd always seen it as a simple named abilities stack, straight bonuses take the highest instance, but that it was for any bonus, not just from CE's. Probably because like you said there aren't any SA stacking issues yet so its never come up in a game.

_________________
Slinky + Escalator = Endless Fun


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Gen Grievous and Battle droid officer
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 12:02 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Posts: 1543
Location: Central CT
homer_sapien wrote:
Learned something new then. I'd always seen it as a simple named abilities stack, straight bonuses take the highest instance, but that it was for any bonus, not just from CE's. Probably because like you said there aren't any SA stacking issues yet so its never come up in a game.

We should only have to wait a few more sets with all the disruptive out there :|

I love putting BGD and Grievous together; one of the best pairs put together by Rob from the early sets.

_________________
Bottoms up and spirits down


Archives of the Gamers Jedi
is designed to be your official source for in-game rules questions!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Gen Grievous and Battle droid officer
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 9:55 pm 
Jedi Council
Jedi Council
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 4:03 pm
Posts: 1861
Location: Springfield
punxnbutter wrote:
I love putting BGD and Grievous together; one of the best pairs put together by Rob from the early sets.


I never got to pair them up. BDO plus thre ROTS Destroyer Droids was one of my first squads, but by time I had Grievous I was too deep into the Republic.

_________________
Slinky + Escalator = Endless Fun


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Darth Ruthven and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield