logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: force lightning
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 6:26 pm 
Black Sun Thug
Black Sun Thug
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 12:05 pm
Posts: 78
i know there is another thread devoted to force powers, but i was using palpy in a match and the issue came up now the card says " 30 damage to 1 target and UP TO 2 adjacent targets." this implies that you get to choose the number of targets. because if not, then doesn't that mean that with tarkins CE you MUST activate 3 units?

_________________
The only constant is the darkness


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: force lightning
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 6:38 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 1:20 pm
Posts: 661
Yes you could technically select less then 2 adjacent targets.

I've yet to read anything that states otherwise.

_________________
Image

[spoiler="crap"]
Quote:
MediocreMind
Support bacteria - it's the only culture some people have!

Code:
DCI Ranking
Star Wars Miniatures Constructed (as of 2008-09-15)
1826 rating   64 matches   21 events   
    37  All   33  North America   7  Canada   1  CA-Ontario   
[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: force lightning
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:17 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
No, you must do damage to two adjacent characters if there is any (including the Lightning wielder). This is in the FAQ.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Online
 Post subject: Re: force lightning
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:26 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:50 pm
Posts: 689
Location: Maine
yeah, what Sithborg said, if there are two adjacent targets you must hit them with lightning also, even if they are allied to palpy.

And Tarkin can choose to let up to three activate, so that is as few as one and as many as three


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: force lightning
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 8:48 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Posts: 1543
Location: Central CT
Don't you also have to fry yourself if Palps is adjacent? I've been playing it that way or a long time....

_________________
Bottoms up and spirits down


Archives of the Gamers Jedi
is designed to be your official source for in-game rules questions!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Online
 Post subject: Re: force lightning
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:01 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:50 pm
Posts: 689
Location: Maine
I believe so, yes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: force lightning
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:19 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
punxnbutter wrote:
Don't you also have to fry yourself if Palps is adjacent? I've been playing it that way or a long time....


If only 1 or no other character is adjacent, then yes.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: force lightning
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:59 am 
Black Sun Thug
Black Sun Thug
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 12:05 pm
Posts: 78
Darth Ruthven wrote:
yeah, what Sithborg said, if there are two adjacent targets you must hit them with lightning also, even if they are allied to palpy.

And Tarkin can choose to let up to three activate, so that is as few as one and as many as three


and paply can let you fry up to 2 additional, so if you are required to fry 2 then wouldn't tarkin be required to activate 3, the wording is exactly the same so logically, IF one Then the other.

if you look at the wording of palpys lightning and the wording of VA unleashed's lightning, they are worded differently, VA requires the attacks, paply says UP TO.

_________________
The only constant is the darkness


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: force lightning
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 11:11 am 
Name Calling Internet Bully
Name Calling Internet Bully
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 6172
Location: Gurnee, IL
greatwarlord wrote:
Darth Ruthven wrote:
yeah, what Sithborg said, if there are two adjacent targets you must hit them with lightning also, even if they are allied to palpy.

And Tarkin can choose to let up to three activate, so that is as few as one and as many as three


and paply can let you fry up to 2 additional, so if you are required to fry 2 then wouldn't tarkin be required to activate 3, the wording is exactly the same so logically, IF one Then the other.

if you look at the wording of palpys lightning and the wording of VA unleashed's lightning, they are worded differently, VA requires the attacks, paply says UP TO.


This is why you read the rulebook.

"Force Lightning [#]: (Force; 2 Force points) Instead of making its normal attack or attacks,
a character using this Force power deals [#] points of damage to one target enemy and
two characters adjacent to that target, if any (enemies and allies alike, including the
acting character if there aren’t enough others). The first enemy must be a legal target (for
example, you can target an enemy with cover only if it is the nearest) and must be within
6 squares, but the adjacent characters don’t need to be. Using Force Lightning is not an
attack and does not require an attack roll."

Force lightning got reworded a long time ago and works as others are describing. The reason the VSA has different wording is he reflects the fix to the previous wording that was confusing. Tarkin works the way you have described.

A good suggestion, is to always consult the rulebook (glossary usually) before posting rule issues. Its relatively up to date now, so its a great resource.

_________________
Image

http://www.bloomilk.com/Squads/Search.aspx?UserID=29


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: force lightning
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 11:29 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
The logic works anyways. The wording of 'up to' in the early Force Lightning was simply to say that it would hit the target, and two adjacent charcters, IF there were any there. The wording 'up to' placed a limit on it different from 'adjacent characters' or 'all adjacent characters'.

But Bill is right. Consulting the most recent rulebook solves all the headaches.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Online
 Post subject: Re: force lightning
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:58 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:50 pm
Posts: 689
Location: Maine
The Rulebook and/or the FAQs on the WotC boards is always a good thing.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield