logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:10 am 
Droid Army Commander
Droid Army Commander
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:28 pm
Posts: 1636
Boba52 wrote:
Check out Diplomat in the Archives and that may help... or hurt you. :lol: Basically it is saying if the active character only has LOS to the character with Diplomat and no one else in your squad has LOS to that character than you can target it as normal.


To sum up the Caamasi Noble, you can kill them as long as there are no witnesses.
That's simplifies things.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:21 am 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:36 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Markedman247 wrote:
Boba52 wrote:
Check out Diplomat in the Archives and that may help... or hurt you. :lol: Basically it is saying if the active character only has LOS to the character with Diplomat and no one else in your squad has LOS to that character than you can target it as normal.


To sum up the Caamasi Noble, you can kill them as long as there are no witnesses.
That's simplifies things.



no witnesses from either side (friend or foe) correct?

this is one very confusing ability for a newb.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:23 am 
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:31 pm
Posts: 3575
Location: Cincinnati, OH
GamerAtom wrote:
no witnesses from either side (friend or foe) correct?

this is one very confusing ability for a newb.

Only foes. Think of it this way, your friends are all trying to kill him as well, so they're goading you on. The Noble's friends are all just sitting there chatting, and when you pick them off one by one and leaving just the Noble in LoS, its go time. His friends won't be as shocked when you kill him cause no one can see it. Just blame his death on tainted tea ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:45 am 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:36 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
hrm.. thanks Jedispyder.. i got denied killing this noble in a game last night when i he was the only "enemy" character in her LOS in a game last night.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:55 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
LOL, nice description Chris.

Just remember, the key is that the enemy Diplomat has to be the ONLY enemy that you have LOS to.

Your opponent's whole team may be able to see the Diplomat, but as long as none of them can see your piece that is shooting, then you are OK.

Hmmm.....perhaps some pictures would help?

OK, in this first one, the Stormtrooper can target the Caamasi (shown by green line) because the Stormtrooper does not have LOS to ANY of the Rebel troopers (shown by red lines). Notice, that all of the Rebel Troopers do have LOS to the Caamasi, so you can see how that doesn't factor into the situation.
Image

Again, the Stormtrooper does not have LOS to any of the Rebel Troopers, so he can still target the Caamasi.
Image

In this last example, the two upper Stormtroopers both have LOS to at least one Rebel Trooper (shown by the green lines), so therefore, they cannot target the Caamasi (red lines). The lower trooper does not have LOS to any of the Rebel Troopers (red lines), so therefore, he can target the Caamasi.
Image


I know the red/green lines can be a bit messy, but hopefully that helps.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 9:23 am 
Dark Lord of the Sith
Dark Lord of the Sith
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 12:38 am
Posts: 1959
gameratom you had los to my shield gungan and my ewok where ever mara went you had los to someone other than the noble. if you backed up the ewok had los to mara if you moved forward you had los to the gungan. i moved denar to shoot mara after mara went that put her at 10 hp. i think you might of been able to kill the noble with mara if you won init. i dont see where i played it wrong. you dont go from corner to corner when you do los. you can go from any point on that square to any point on the other square(outside only) i think thats why you thought mara could shoot the noble. if your on vassal tonight ill show you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:18 am 
Black Sun Thug
Black Sun Thug
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 4:02 pm
Posts: 87
Location: Virginia
Ok, I get the targeting of the Diplomat rules. Here's my question...

You have your Diplomat out there and one or more non-Diplomats somewhere behind him/her, your opponent has LOS to one or more of your non-Diplomats so he/she cannot target your Diplomat. Can he/she target your non-Diplomats? As I understood it, unless the attacker has Accurate, Vader's Lightsaber Throw, or the Holo Veers attack (i.e. attacks that ignore cover or closest target targeting rules) you could not attack anyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 11:30 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Skywalker2B wrote:
Ok, I get the targeting of the Diplomat rules. Here's my question...

You have your Diplomat out there and one or more non-Diplomats somewhere behind him/her, your opponent has LOS to one or more of your non-Diplomats so he/she cannot target your Diplomat. Can he/she target your non-Diplomats? As I understood it, unless the attacker has Accurate, Vader's Lightsaber Throw, or the Holo Veers attack (i.e. attacks that ignore cover or closest target targeting rules) you could not attack anyone.


You need to re-read the full definition of Diplomat. The full definition specifically states that the Diplomat does not count as a legal target AND it does not count as the nearest enemy. So, if there is a non-Diplomat behind the Caamasi Noble, then you can target them normally, as if the Caamasi isn't even on the board (except of course, if the Diplomat is providing cover to said target). Interactions with Stealth/'super' Stealth is where it gets really tricky about who you can/can't target, but for the most part, you just act like the Caamasi isn't there.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 6:43 pm 
General
General
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:14 pm
Posts: 411
Location: St. Albert,AB, Canada
I think the easiest way to think of it is to treat the Noble as a green outlined square when an ally is in LoS. Except you can't move through it.

_________________
Family is more than bloodline- Mandalorian proverb

{11111111011][7777777777777777777777777777777
<(HHHHHQXX)=(77777777777777777777777777777777


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield