logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2007 10:23 am 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:59 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Czech Republic
we still have argues about how exactly this figure works. Please can you explain? thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2007 10:40 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
It is really simple if you boil it down. If you can see another, non-Diplomat figure, the Noble can't be attacked and is not considered a legal target. If you can only see Diplomats, they are fair game. The only tricky thing I see is remembering they don't override the adjacency rule for targetting.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 9:40 pm 
Black Sun Thug
Black Sun Thug
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 12:05 pm
Posts: 78
the way i read it it was that only a diplomat can attack a diplomat and even then when no non diplomats are in LOS. My question is, if you use something with AOE will it take out the noble? such as grenades or flamethrower, force storm etc?

_________________
The only constant is the darkness


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 10:08 pm 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
greatwarlord wrote:
the way i read it it was that only a diplomat can attack a diplomat and even then when no non diplomats are in LOS.

Actually, Diplomats cannot attack, so this is incorrect.

greatwarlord wrote:
My question is, if you use something with AOE will it take out the noble? such as grenades or flamethrower, force storm etc?

Yes, Diplomats can take damage from non-targetting methods of damage, as in Lightsaber Sweep, Grenades, Missiles, Uggie/Nom Bombs, etc.

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 11:20 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
dvader831 wrote:
greatwarlord wrote:
the way i read it it was that only a diplomat can attack a diplomat and even then when no non diplomats are in LOS.

Actually, Diplomats cannot attack, so this is incorrect.


Well, technically, that's not true. A character like Lord Vader or the Rodian Hunt Master can allow a Caamasi to gain 10 damage, so it is possible for them to make attacks, they just still have a +0 attack (without combined fire, anyways).

The simplest explanation of the whole thing is this: Any piece on your squad (whether it has Diplomat or not) can attack an enemy Diplomat if it is the ONLY piece it has LOS to. The only exception is that if there are other enemy pieces within LOS, as long as they ALL have Diplomat, you can still attack the one. Think of it this way, you want to assassinate the Diplomat. But you can't do it if anybody is going to see you do it. They might see the Diplomat get hit, but they don't see where the shot came from.

dvader831 wrote:
greatwarlord wrote:
My question is, if you use something with AOE will it take out the noble? such as grenades or flamethrower, force storm etc?

Yes, Diplomats can take damage from non-targetting methods of damage, as in Lightsaber Sweep, Grenades, Missiles, Uggie/Nom Bombs, etc.


And while this is technically correct, you still have to follow the targetting rules in most of those situations. So things like Grenades, Flamethrower, or Missles are most useful when you hit a non-Diplomat piece that is standing adjacent to a Diplomat. In order to hit the Diplomat directly with one of those abilities, you still have to follow the targetting/LOS rules as I explained above.

Sweep is the best exception in regard to the Noble, because Lightsaber Sweep specifically generates attacks against adjacent enemies, and has absolutely nothing to do with targetting. So even if the Caamasi Noble is the only piece adjacent to you, and there's 20 other enemy non-Diplomats in LOS, you can use Sweep to attack the Noble. Self-Destruct would also immediately kill an adjacent Diplomat.

It is a tough ability to understand. Let us know if you still don't understand some part about it after you've read this.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 11:24 pm 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
Just giving you more explaining to do, there, Aaron. I think sometimes you get bored! ha ha

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:55 am 
Black Sun Thug
Black Sun Thug
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 12:05 pm
Posts: 78
thank you, you've explained things perfectly for me.

_________________
The only constant is the darkness


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 8:33 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
dvader831 wrote:
Just giving you more explaining to do, there, Aaron. I think sometimes you get bored! ha ha


Hahaha...probably. :P I just enjoy knowing the silly little nuances of the rules. It's what helps me win games. :D

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:43 pm 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:59 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Czech Republic
Quote:
Think of it this way, you want to assassinate the Diplomat. But you can't do it if anybody is going to see you do it. They might see the Diplomat get hit, but they don't see where the shot came from.


best explanation I heard, thanks :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 2:24 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
LukeCZ wrote:
Quote:
Think of it this way, you want to assassinate the Diplomat. But you can't do it if anybody is going to see you do it. They might see the Diplomat get hit, but they don't see where the shot came from.


best explanation I heard, thanks :)


Heh, no problem. It's one of the few things in SWM that works when you apply regular old logic to it. :P

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 3:39 pm 
Name Calling Internet Bully
Name Calling Internet Bully
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 6172
Location: Gurnee, IL
Actually, this came up on WotC boards, you cannot use LS Sweep on the Noble. You are not allowed to attack or target them if diplomat is in play. "Attack" is specifically in the definition, so it matters not that sweep doesnt target.

Nickname clarified this a while back. Otherwise, everything else that was said is correct.

_________________
Image

http://www.bloomilk.com/Squads/Search.aspx?UserID=29


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 3:55 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Oh seriously? Hadn't caught that. Interesting.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 5:37 pm 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
Huh, well, my Noble should still be alive from our multiplayer game a few weeks ago. I wonder how much gambit he's earned since then . . .

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 10:26 pm 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:40 pm
Posts: 386
I agree with Billiv. Because Sweep is an attack, you can't sweep a diplomat if there are other non-diplomats in LOS.

And they most certainly can attack (when boosted). See my WotC sig...:D

_________________
You can view the comprehensive Orphans list I have made up here:

http://www.desmoinesfanforce.net/Orphans.htm


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:23 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
And Attacks of Opportunity don't trigger either if Diplomat is in play. Makes them much more dangerous, IMO, for things like Thrawn Swaps or Exar Kun Transers.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 1:43 am 
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
One of the Sith on Malgus' Shuttle
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:31 pm
Posts: 3575
Location: Cincinnati, OH
I used a Camaasi at my LGS to screw this guy out of his Double Attack. He had LoS to another character but my Camaasi was adjacent so he had to move away. Probably one of the main reasons I won the match, lol...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 2:11 am 
Third Jedi from the Left
Third Jedi from the Left
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:48 pm
Posts: 104
Sorry to bump an old topic, but i figured it would be better to than duplicate it for reference.

But I just wanted to confirm that the Noble cannot be targetted even if the other mini within line of sight also cannot be targeted, such as a cloaked mini?

thanks,

:jawa:

_________________
~Umbra: Light is only a Shadow cast by the Darkness of the Stars.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 6:10 am 
Jedi Battlemaster
Jedi Battlemaster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 8:46 pm
Posts: 3199
Location: Waterloo, ON
correct

_________________
Winner of the Knights of the SWMGamers Stats Contest
<Joruus (GFC)> - Sheesh, I swear you're like Fool 2.0 (and you can quote me on it xD)
Archives of the Gamers Jedi
Join the FOLLY! Online casual League, find out more here: FOLLY


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:10 am 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee

Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:36 pm
Posts: 19
sorry but i have a clarification question...
You can attack the diplomat if it is the only piece your piece has LOS with?
Even if the diplomat has LOS to another of it's teams pieces?

This probably comes from a bad ruling I heard a long way back.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Camasi noble
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:23 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 2004
Location: Minnesota
Check out Diplomat in the Archives and that may help... or hurt you. :lol: Basically it is saying if the active character only has LOS to the character with Diplomat and no one else in your squad has LOS to that character than you can target it as normal.

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield