logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Aing-Ti Flow walking
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 2:16 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:01 pm
Posts: 6662
Location: Chicago, IL
I was told you don't get a Force point during the extra turn created by this power.

I don't understand this ruling. How is it different than dominate?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Aing-Ti Flow walking
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 2:21 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:42 pm
Posts: 3599
Location: New Jersey
I'm not sure how it's different either.

Maybe it's because Dominate gives the character an actual turn, whereas ATFW gives an immediate turn. Somewhat analogous to how you can combine fire on a regular attack, but not on an immediate attack (ie, from Leia). That's the only reason that would make sense to me.

_________________
"Don't give the tool more credit than the master." --Weeks
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Aing-Ti Flow walking
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 2:28 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:57 pm
Posts: 3480
From the FAQ:

Quote:
Q: The glossary definitions of Pawn of the Dark Side and Dominate say that the immediate turn does "not count as an activation for the chosen character." What exactly does this mean?

A: A character can take the immediate turn granted by Pawn of the Dark Side and Dominate even if it has already activated earlier in the round. In addition, if the chosen character has not yet activated in the round, the immediate turn does not prevent it from activating normally later in the round. The immediate turn does not count against the normal limit of 2 activations per phase. Also, because this does not count as an activation, the chosen character does not benefit from any special abilities or Force powers (such as Force Renewal) that trigger on activation. Similarly, taking the immediate turn does not protect the chosen character from abilities such as Cunning Attack and Advantageous Attack, which work against characters who have not yet activated in the round. However, the immediate turn is still a turn, and the character can take advantage of things that happen at the end of its turn (such as Door Gimmick and certain commander effects) or abilities that apply on its turn (such as Regeneration).


It isn't different than Dominate; it's the same. You don't get a Force Point from Dominate, either.

_________________
"An elegant, easy-to-understand concept or mechanic that accomplishes 95% of what you want is much better than a clunky, obtuse mechanic that gets you 100%" - Rob Daviau

"You can't per aspera ad astra unless there's some aspera in front of your astra. And that means sometimes the aspera gets you." - Donald X. Vaccarino


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Aing-Ti Flow walking
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 2:36 pm 
Major Tierce
Major Tierce

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:21 pm
Posts: 3163
from dominate's FAQ

Q: If a character is successfully dominated, can it take a turn later in the round? Or does Dominate make you unable to activate that character again during the same round?
A: The immediate turn granted by Dominate does not count as an activation, so it has no effect on that character's normal turn that round. The target character may be activated normally before or after the immediate turn granted by Dominate.
Q: If a character with Force Renewal (such as Yoda) is successfully dominated, does he get a Force point in that immediate turn?
A: No. See the Rounds, Phases, and Turns section of this article for more details.


Aing-Ti is the exact same as dominate or any of the other grant extra turn abilities we have out there.

_________________
When I left you I was but the learner . . . now I am the master.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Aing-Ti Flow walking
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 3:18 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:01 pm
Posts: 6662
Location: Chicago, IL
Thanks

So basically you can only ever "activate" once per round no matter what.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Aing-Ti Flow walking
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 3:21 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:42 pm
Posts: 3599
Location: New Jersey
Okay, that makes complete sense now. I had just misunderstood Dominate in the past. Thanks guys.

_________________
"Don't give the tool more credit than the master." --Weeks
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield