SWMGAMERS.com Forums
http://swmgamers.com/forums/

Versatility vs Frozen in Carbonite
http://swmgamers.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=15685
Page 1 of 1

Author:  The_Celestial_Warrior [ Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:11 pm ]
Post subject:  Versatility vs Frozen in Carbonite

What happens if I start my squad with Han Solo Rebel General and then use Versatility to bring to swap him for Han Solo in Carbonite? Would Frozen in Carbonite's ability then kick in so that I could bring in a Han Solo up to 76 points (half of 38)???

Then what gets the SA and CE from versatility? The newly chosen Han or the Hansickle himself?

Author:  Sithborg [ Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Versatility vs Frozen in Carbonite

Yes, you can replace Han Solo, Rebel General, with Han in Carbonite, using Versatility. However, Han in Carbonite would be the one to gain the SA or CE, thus it would be lost once Han is "freed".

Author:  The_Celestial_Warrior [ Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Versatility vs Frozen in Carbonite

Ok, but what's the restrictions on which Han(s) can be freed?

Would it be any Han of cost 76(twice 38) or less?

Author:  The_Celestial_Warrior [ Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Versatility vs Frozen in Carbonite

Also, since Versatility occurs after set-up, where is Hansickle placed? In the square where Han was or still by the opponet?

Author:  Sithborg [ Tue Aug 07, 2012 7:22 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Versatility vs Frozen in Carbonite

Oh yeah. It's been a long week. Let me think about this.

Author:  Echo [ Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Versatility vs Frozen in Carbonite

Frozen in Carbonite reads

Quote:
(During setup, choose another character whose name contains Han Solo. This character's point cost X is 1/2 the printed cost of the chosen character. An opponent sets up this character along with his or her squad. This character cannot be activated, cannot move, and does not count as a legal target. Its space cannot be entered, but it provides cover. If an ally ends its turn adjacent to this character, you may immediately remove this character from play and place the chosen character in its space. The newly placed character cannot activate this round.)


Versatility takes place AFTER setup. There is no precedent to go back to a previous step (in fact, there is precedent that you DON'T do that unless specifically told otherwise in Force Essence), so the time to "choose another character whose name contains Han Solo" has passed, and you can't go back to it. That means that Hansickle costs X, and when you end your turn adjacent to him you remove him from play and place nobody, since "the chosen character" is a null value; none was ever chosen, so you don't get to place anyone.

We might want to add a line somewhere to say that if X is not defined it defaults to 0 (other games that use X for things like this usually have this rule), so Hansickle would cost 0 points, but release no one.

Author:  The_Celestial_Warrior [ Fri Aug 10, 2012 4:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Versatility vs Frozen in Carbonite

Right, which is why I brought it up. So in that regard you'd also do the placement yourself.

Author:  FlyingArrow [ Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Versatility vs Frozen in Carbonite

Is this the correct ruling:

If you choose Han Solo in Carbonite with Versatility then Hansickle costs 0 and you may not choose another Han Solo version. You place Hansickle yourself and the character simply disappears when an ally ends its turn adjacent. No points for the opponent but no new character appears.


By the way, Con Artist says to pick an enemy CE before setup. Bribery steals an opponent's reinforcements after setup, but Marn still gets to give them Con Artist and let them steal a CE, so that is an example of going back to a previous step of setup. I don't know if that has any bearing here, though.

Author:  Sithborg [ Wed Mar 05, 2014 3:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Versatility vs Frozen in Carbonite

The Con Artist situation is one I'm still trying to figure out what needs to added so it works as intended.

And I change my mind. You can't resolve Frozen in Carbonite, thus Han in Carbonite cannot be switched via Versatility.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/