SWMGAMERS.com Forums
http://swmgamers.com/forums/

combined fire (mouse droid)
http://swmgamers.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=15510
Page 1 of 2

Author:  Haywire [ Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:35 pm ]
Post subject:  combined fire (mouse droid)

can u use a mouse droid to combine fire.

Author:  Sithborg [ Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

No. You must be able to do damage in order to combine fire. This is covered in the rulebook.

Author:  urbanjedi [ Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

No

In order for a mini to combine fire it must have a printed damage of more than zero.

This is covered in the glossary under combiined fire I believe.

Author:  Sithborg [ Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

urbanjedi wrote:
No

In order for a mini to combine fire it must have a printed damage of more than zero.

This is covered in the glossary under combiined fire I believe.


Not 100% accurate. If a character is given a straight +10 Dam bonus (like the Stormtrooper Commander), then they would be able to combine fire.

Author:  urbanjedi [ Mon Jun 04, 2012 11:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

so even though Lobot can't shoot under an active ABM, he can combine fire?

Author:  Sithborg [ Tue Jun 05, 2012 12:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

urbanjedi wrote:
so even though Lobot can't shoot under an active ABM, he can combine fire?


Ooops, that's right, they changed it. So no, Lobot can't because he can't benefit from it. Something LIKE Advance Battle Meditation then, that's just a strait boost to damage, that isn't "when attacking".

Author:  obikenobi1 [ Tue Jun 05, 2012 8:10 am ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

Along these lines of a character being able to do no damage, can a Rodian Diplomat gain Opportunist from Yularen? I played a game where this came up and the other guy said yes, and proceeded to kill my Kyle Katarn, Rebel Operative. I initially said he couldn't since the Rodian Diplomat doesn't have a damage rating (unlike the Imperial Dignitary), but I didn't feel like arguing the matter at the time.

Author:  hannahcannon [ Tue Jun 05, 2012 9:03 am ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

I believe the answer to that is yes, it's silly but characters with a printed 0 damage can make attacks for damage if they recieve some sort of boost like opportunist or cunning.

Author:  swinefeld [ Tue Jun 05, 2012 9:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

hannahcannon wrote:
I believe the answer to that is yes, it's silly but characters with a printed 0 damage can make attacks for damage if they recieve some sort of boost like opportunist or cunning.


Including Bacta Tanks.

Author:  hannahcannon [ Tue Jun 05, 2012 11:06 am ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

Yeah, I remember the discussion somewhere about the bacta tank. With the right CE's you could get it shooting for like 30 damage, and it can throw grenades.

Author:  TimmerB123 [ Tue Jun 05, 2012 12:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

Just to be clear - combining fire and attacking are different.

(Correct me if I am wrong Chris or Scott, but . . .)

Characters with a 0 damage rating can attack when they receive bonuses to damage, but they still cannot COMBINE FIRE.

You must have a printed damage rating of 10 or more (and not have the Melee ability) to combine fire.

So Lobot on a team with Mitthrawn can "shoot" an activated enemy for 10 damage, but Lobot could NOT combine fire with another attacker to boost the other attackers attack rating, no matter what.

Author:  jedispyder [ Tue Jun 05, 2012 12:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

Tim, this was brought up earlier on the thread:
Sithborg wrote:

If a [0 Damage, non-melee] character is given a straight +10 Dam bonus (like the Stormtrooper Commander), then they would be able to combine fire.

Author:  TimmerB123 [ Tue Jun 05, 2012 1:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

jedispyder wrote:
Tim, this was brought up earlier on the thread:
Sithborg wrote:

If a [0 Damage, non-melee] character is given a straight +10 Dam bonus (like the Stormtrooper Commander), then they would be able to combine fire.



Right - I guess my greater point was the second part. Since this thread is about combining fire - I wanted to point out that even if those figs with 0 damage have a bonus to damage, they still cannot COMBINE FIRE.

It feels like that point may have been missed earlier as well

Author:  urbanjedi [ Tue Jun 05, 2012 1:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

Tim, I think that Scott is saying that if your Lobot had been given +10 Dam from the Storm trooper Commander then he actually could combine fire.

Author:  TimmerB123 [ Tue Jun 05, 2012 1:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

urbanjedi wrote:
Tim, I think that Scott is saying that if your Lobot had been given +10 Dam from the Storm trooper Commander then he actually could combine fire.


Oh really - then that is new to me. Thanks for the clarification.

Author:  hannahcannon [ Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

Well, it wouldn't work with Lobot, since the stormtrooper commander's CE only works on non-unique followers, but it would work on a mouse droid.

Author:  Echo [ Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

It wouldn't work on a Mouse Droid either, since Droids aren't subject to that CE. It would work on a Caamasi Noble, though!

Author:  hannahcannon [ Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

Ah good point, I forgot about that.

Author:  jedispyder [ Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

The misconception comes from the Glossary:
"Characters with the Melee Attack special ability, or
characters who deal no damage, cannot use or benefit from combined fire."

When people read that, they automatically link "deal no damage" to mean having a "Damage 0" stat. So if they can deal damage, then they're able to combine fire.

And I'm guessing the reason you cannot combine fire if you have Damage 0 but instead have Cunning/Opportunist is because that's an ability they use that grants a bonus and do not directly have a base stat bonus. (Wouldn't be surprised if I'm wrong on that, lol)

Author:  Sithborg [ Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: combined fire (mouse droid)

jedispyder wrote:
And I'm guessing the reason you cannot combine fire if you have Damage 0 but instead have Cunning/Opportunist is because that's an ability they use that grants a bonus and do not directly have a base stat bonus. (Wouldn't be surprised if I'm wrong on that, lol)


It's because Cunning et al, only apply when you are attacking (+10 Dam when attacking an unactivated enemy). It needs to be a constant bonus to the damage. Don't worry about, it is a very old (Universe) and obscure ruling, that will rarely, if ever come up. It is also why Roger, Roger and Advance Battle Meditation were an issue with Mice.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/