SWMGAMERS.com Forums
http://swmgamers.com/forums/

No damage as a base
http://swmgamers.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=15456
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Jedi_Master [ Sat May 12, 2012 9:12 pm ]
Post subject:  No damage as a base

Doing this because it came up today and I couldn't find the errata readily.

If a character has a base of no damage and no attack it can not combine fire nor can it gain damage bonuses too, correct?

Author:  jedispyder [ Sat May 12, 2012 9:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: No damage as a base

It can gain Damage bonuses but it cannot combine fire, even if it has a bonus to Damage. So the Caamasi Noble can get Opportunist from Thrawn and shoot character that have activated yet he cannot combine fire with anyone.

Author:  Sithborg [ Sat May 12, 2012 9:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: No damage as a base

jedispyder wrote:
It can gain Damage bonuses but it cannot combine fire, even if it has a bonus to Damage. So the Caamasi Noble can get Opportunist from Thrawn and shoot character that have activated yet he cannot combine fire with anyone.


This is not entirely correct. A character with 0 printed damage can combine fire if they are given a straight damage boost (ie the Stormtrooper Commander or Advanced Battle Meditation). You will notice 99% of all boosts to damage granted by either stat bonus or special ability, only apply while attacking. It needs to be a plain damage boost.

Author:  jedispyder [ Sun May 13, 2012 12:58 am ]
Post subject:  Re: No damage as a base

Oh yeah, I misremembered the rulebook. I thought it said "characters with 0 Damage" but it's just "characters that do not deal damage" (looks similar but as you said, very different).

Author:  greentime [ Sun May 13, 2012 6:12 am ]
Post subject:  Re: No damage as a base

Sithborg wrote:
This is not entirely correct. A character with 0 printed damage can combine fire if they are given a straight damage boost (ie the Stormtrooper Commander or Advanced Battle Meditation). You will notice 99% of all boosts to damage granted by either stat bonus or special ability, only apply while attacking. It needs to be a plain damage boost.


So... mouse droids can combine fire if ABM is active?

Author:  Jedi_Master [ Sun May 13, 2012 6:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: No damage as a base

Yeah, I want to make sure this is correct then...I can make a squad like this then is what you are saying...

Mouse droid doom!!!

39 HK-47, Assassin Droid
33 Bastila Shan, Jedi Master
27 Lobot
12 Gha Nachkt
9 Ugnaught Demolitionist X3
80 Mouse Droid X40

And have 40 mice who can combine fire and deal 10 damage on their turn?

Author:  Echo [ Sun May 13, 2012 8:46 am ]
Post subject:  Re: No damage as a base

Go check the Glossary entry for ABM (I'd quote it but I'm posting from my phone). It doesn't apply to characters that have a base damage of 0, so Mouse Droids don't benefit from it. Same reason Roger Roger doesn't let them attack or combine fire.

Author:  Sithborg [ Sun May 13, 2012 6:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: No damage as a base

greentime wrote:
Sithborg wrote:
This is not entirely correct. A character with 0 printed damage can combine fire if they are given a straight damage boost (ie the Stormtrooper Commander or Advanced Battle Meditation). You will notice 99% of all boosts to damage granted by either stat bonus or special ability, only apply while attacking. It needs to be a plain damage boost.


So... mouse droids can combine fire if ABM is active?


No, because we added the same line to Advance Battle Meditation as was added to Roger, Roger.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/