SWMGAMERS.com Forums
http://swmgamers.com/forums/

Advanced Door Gimmick
http://swmgamers.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=15158
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Darth_Jim [ Sat Feb 25, 2012 3:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Advanced Door Gimmick

If my opponent used Republic Commando Fi's Advanced Door Gimmick ability to open a door, on my turn could I use an override piece to override the door open, then on my second activation use a second override piece to override that door closed?

Author:  jedispyder [ Sat Feb 25, 2012 4:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Advanced Door Gimmick

No, a door that has been ADG cannot be opened by Override. This will be part of the Glossary Text once it's released.

Author:  thereisnotry [ Sat Feb 25, 2012 5:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Advanced Door Gimmick

jedispyder wrote:
No, a door that has been ADG cannot be CLOSED by Override. This will be part of the Glossary Text once it's released.

Fixed.
ADG opens doors, doesn't close them.

Author:  Darth_Jim [ Sun Feb 26, 2012 7:25 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Advanced Door Gimmick

Ok, just trying to understand this from a judge's point of view, so I'm still stuck on the 'why'. The door affected by ADG is subsequently overriden open. Why isn't the override now the current effect acting on that door? Doesn't the status change at that point from the door being gimmicked to being overriden? And, if so, can't it then be overriden closed on yet a third activation?

I'm not trying to nerf what I think is a good idea, I just want to be able to explain this in a tournament. I'm also asking this now so that this particular interaction can be addressed in the glossary. If you are saying that the glossary covers this interaction, I am satisfied to wait until that comes out. For ADG to work as intended, it basically needs to trump all override, not just override closed.

Author:  swinefeld [ Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:14 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Advanced Door Gimmick

Interesting.

Perhaps the final glossary entry will state that an ADG'd door can not be overridden at all. :?

Author:  urbanjedi [ Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:16 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Advanced Door Gimmick

ADG trumps override so override has no effect on the door. Just like regular door gimmick/override that we have now. Door overridden closed. I door gimmick it with the iktotchi tech specialist. Nothing happens.

Author:  Echo [ Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:48 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Advanced Door Gimmick

I think regular Door Gimmick probably still has a precedent here, but I really have no idea how exactly it works. Imagine this scenario:

Opponent's R2-D2 uses Override to open a door.
I use my R7 to use Override on the door, keeping it open. Obviously this changes the "ownership" of the Override from R2 to my R7. This matters for things like activation order later and what happens when the characters get killed.
Now I use my Iktotchi Tech Specialist to use Door Gimmick on the door. Obviously if it were closed nothing would happen, but it's open. Does the "ownership" now change to my Iktotchi? If it does, then I can do something like use Homicidal Surgery on the Iktotchi and if it fails the save the door shuts, since the Door Gimmick would be gone.

That's a way to get around doors Overriden open if you want them closed, and I genuinely don't know how it would work. If you can use Override to keep open a ADG'd door to change the "ownership" of the door status, you can get around it in kind of a long-winded way. This is something that I don't think should happen, but it really just needs to follow the precedent of using Door Gimmick on an open door.

Scott's gonna have to answer this one I think.

Author:  urbanjedi [ Sun Feb 26, 2012 11:28 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Advanced Door Gimmick

I believe the precedent was that if an overridden door (either opened or closed) was regular door gimmicked, then nothing happened and the "ownership" of the door state was still with the original overriding player. This is because override trumps door gimmick. I think the same would apply to override and the new ADG as ADG trumps override so no matter what I try to do with override, nothing happens and "ownership" of the state of the door is still with the ADG character.

Author:  thereisnotry [ Sun Feb 26, 2012 12:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Advanced Door Gimmick

urbanjedi wrote:
I believe the precedent was that if an overridden door (either opened or closed) was regular door gimmicked, then nothing happened and the "ownership" of the door state was still with the original overriding player. This is because override trumps door gimmick. I think the same would apply to override and the new ADG as ADG trumps override so no matter what I try to do with override, nothing happens and "ownership" of the state of the door is still with the ADG character.

That's how I understood it. Override will not have any affect whatsoever on a door that has been ADG'ed open.

Author:  billiv15 [ Sun Feb 26, 2012 1:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Advanced Door Gimmick

thereisnotry wrote:
urbanjedi wrote:
I believe the precedent was that if an overridden door (either opened or closed) was regular door gimmicked, then nothing happened and the "ownership" of the door state was still with the original overriding player. This is because override trumps door gimmick. I think the same would apply to override and the new ADG as ADG trumps override so no matter what I try to do with override, nothing happens and "ownership" of the state of the door is still with the ADG character.

That's how I understood it. Override will not have any affect whatsoever on a door that has been ADG'ed open.


Correct, intended to work exactly the same way we are already familiar with.

Author:  swinefeld [ Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Advanced Door Gimmick

billiv15 wrote:
thereisnotry wrote:
urbanjedi wrote:
I believe the precedent was that if an overridden door (either opened or closed) was regular door gimmicked, then nothing happened and the "ownership" of the door state was still with the original overriding player. This is because override trumps door gimmick. I think the same would apply to override and the new ADG as ADG trumps override so no matter what I try to do with override, nothing happens and "ownership" of the state of the door is still with the ADG character.

That's how I understood it. Override will not have any affect whatsoever on a door that has been ADG'ed open.


Correct, intended to work exactly the same way we are already familiar with.

This all makes good sense.

Updating the glossary entries to explicitly state that Door Gimmick can't be used against an Overridden door, and that Override can't be used on an ADG'd door also makes good sense.

As it is now they only refer to not being able to close doors.

End Arcanity! :P

Author:  Sithborg [ Sun Feb 26, 2012 4:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Advanced Door Gimmick

FYI, I did add a new section to the FAQ & Errata, the mini-glossary. I did state that Override couldn't close the door, if you feel I need to tweak it, please let me know.

Author:  Darth_Jim [ Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Advanced Door Gimmick

I'm thinking the glossary should reflect that override (close and open) does not affect ADG, not just close.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/