SWMGAMERS.com Forums
http://swmgamers.com/forums/

Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble
http://swmgamers.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=12500
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Dimetrodon [ Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble

I would like a clarification about a character who has both Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble and the order of operations due to something that happened in a game.

When a character is hit by an attack and would take damage, You roll the Soresu save. But if that save fails, can you then use Force Bubble?
The glossary says
Quote:
You must decide whether to use this Force power immediately before the damage-dealing effect is resolved.


Does the Soresu roll still count as resolving it and allowing you to do the Bubble?

Also can you choose to do Force Bubble without doing the Soresu save at all if you desired to?

We ended up just allowing the bubble after failed rolls, because it kept our game interesting. But we wanted to clarify for next time and to prevent any possible future arguments in a close game

Author:  Sithborg [ Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble

You can use Force Bubble after a failed Soresu Style Mastery save. Soresu Style Master must be resolved before Force Bubble. This is covered under the Resolving Effects section of the FAQ. Soresu Style Master is also not optional.

Author:  Dimetrodon [ Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble

ah see now thats the missing part of my questions. can you use Soresu after a Bubble. That did come up. something else we let happen just because why not. Our game involved Zannah vs Zannah so we kinda just let loose on it all for fun.

Thanks for the quick response as well btw.

Author:  Raylinthegreat [ Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble

No, soresu resolves first, it is a reaaction that happens instantly upon being hit, but before resolving damage.

Author:  sthlrd2 [ Sat Aug 13, 2011 2:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble

Just to confirm. Soresu style mastery errata for dci is no longer valid correct? So gowk and zannah in tourny play can stop damage from both melée and non melée. Just want to confirm so I know that I have it right

Author:  Demosthenes [ Sat Aug 13, 2011 2:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble

In DCI play, SSM only stops non-melee attacks.

Author:  sthlrd2 [ Sat Aug 13, 2011 5:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble

Yes but since our tourneys are no longer dci sanctioned, Ssm in regionals and gen con and what not is played and ruled the way it is written on the card correct?

Author:  Demosthenes [ Sat Aug 13, 2011 5:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble

No, we follow DCI's ruling on SSM.

Author:  jedispyder [ Sat Aug 13, 2011 6:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Soresu Style Mastery and Force Bubble

There isn't a DCI anymore, it's all SWMGPA. And this follows the same suit, any official tournament treats SSM as affecting "all nonmelee attacks". If your playgroup wants to make it a house rule that all tournaments use the "all attacks" then it's up to your playgroup, yet if you ever go to a Regional or GenCon then it is played with "all nonmelee attacks".

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/