SWMGAMERS.com Forums
http://swmgamers.com/forums/

Telepathic insight
http://swmgamers.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=11629
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Gurneywars [ Thu May 26, 2011 2:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Telepathic insight

Question is on how to determine seperation of commander effects from same commander?

A: With commanders that have more then one item in sentences

Example is General Wedge: Followers gain evade and mobile attack.

Is this considered one or two commander effects?

B: I assume for other types that have period. to end each effect that is the separation factor even though it looks like they are blended into one.

example Nom Anor with the SS and Self destruct.

C: Example : Scout trooper officer

Has separation between effects so I assume that they are 2 different effects. Is that right.

Thanks for the help

Author:  Sithborg [ Thu May 26, 2011 3:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Telepathic insight

Sentences are pretty much the seperating factor when determining a single CE, even if it grants more than one ability. There are a few exceptions, like Ki-adi Mundi, but they are rare and a bit obvious.

Author:  NickName [ Fri May 27, 2011 10:25 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Telepathic insight

There are a few multi-sentence CEs. In such cases, if it starts as a new paragraph (after a line break) it's a seperate CE. If there is no line break, then it's further explanation of the same CE.

Author:  Gurneywars [ Fri May 27, 2011 8:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Telepathic insight

So NomAnor would have one commander effect even though it is multi sentence 2 different things and one paragraph? If I have what your saying Nickname

Author:  jedispyder [ Fri May 27, 2011 9:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Telepathic insight

Nom Anor's CE is actually 2 different CEs. The reason the multi-sentence thing is troublesome is due to not all being separate paragraphs (such as Nom Anor).

Some examples of 2 sentences but 1 CE are those where the 2nd sentence is a clarification:
Captain Maar Turk's "If this character can see an enemy at the start of a phase, you can increase or decrease the number of characters you activate in that phase by 1 (minimum 1). This can include Droid and Savage characters." [the 2nd sentence just clarifies the first]

Stormtrooper Commander's "At the end of this character's turn, choose 1 adjacent non-Unique follower. That follower gets +10 Damage until the end of this character's next turn, or until this character is defeated." [first sentence is just a lead in to the actual CE]

Now look at Clone Commander Gree's "Your squad may include non-Unique Wookiees of any faction. Each Soldier or Trooper follower can move 2 extra squares at the end of its turn. Characters in your squad with Order 66 and Mobile Attack (including this character) do not provoke attacks of opportunity." [you can tell those are 3 separate CEs but on his card they're all bunched together]

Basically, you have to use common sense.

Author:  komix [ Sat May 28, 2011 3:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Telepathic insight

Quick question- "stolen CE" is down when the enemy commander dies or not??

Author:  jedispyder [ Sat May 28, 2011 3:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Telepathic insight

No, you gain the CE for the rest of the skirmish (until the Yommask is defeated). Basically think of it as Mimetic Combat Processor from PROXY, it is gain even when the character it is gained from is defeated.

Author:  komix [ Sat May 28, 2011 4:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Telepathic insight

jedispyder wrote:
No, you gain the CE for the rest of the skirmish (until the Yommask is defeated). Basically think of it as Mimetic Combat Processor from PROXY, it is gain even when the character it is gained from is defeated.

Ok thx 4 answer. I had thought so, but it wasn't clarified anywhere :)

Author:  NickName [ Tue May 31, 2011 10:41 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Telepathic insight

jedispyder wrote:
Nom Anor's CE is actually 2 different CEs. The reason the multi-sentence thing is troublesome is due to not all being separate paragraphs (such as Nom Anor).


This bit is incorrect. Nom is one CE. We discussed this with design and confirmed the dividing line. In fact, this exact case serves as the example in the DotF FAQ:

Quote:
Q: If I use Telepathic Insight to steal a commander effect from Grand Admiral Thrawn or Nom Anor do I get both effects (+3 Attack/+3 Defense and swapping, non-targetable in cover and Self-Destruct, respectively) or do I have to choose one or the other?

A: Some commanders have multiple commander effects. These are broken up into seperate paragraphs in the Commander Effect section of the card. So in the case of Grand Admiral Thrawn, you would need to choose one of the paragraphs, +3 Attack and +3 Defense to non-uniques or swapping, but in the case of Nom Anor it's a single paragraph and you get both effects.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/