logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Reflected crits on Droids
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2011 12:09 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:01 pm
Posts: 6662
Location: Chicago, IL
At regionals yesterday a situation popped up and I wasn't sure on how the interactions worked. I shot a crit on Legacy Vader with my IG-86 (opportunist activated), and he reflected back. Do I take 50 (what Vader what have taken) or 30 (since I'm a droid, crits don't count double)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Reflected crits on Droids
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2011 12:18 pm 
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 1:37 pm
Posts: 159
The Lightsaber Refect that IE Vader has relfects all the damage HE would have taken. So, to answer your question, your IG would have taken 50 damage.

Another example is say you have HK-47 shooting with Cunning Attack against that Vader and he Reflects the damage back. Since you took advantage of the extra attack and damage for shooting at an unactivated Vader, you must then suffer the consequences of the extra damage being Relected back at you with the Cunning even though HK himself is activated.

Sincerely,
Jester007

_________________
Got Squig?

Punting jawas may be bad, but its just so FUN!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Reflected crits on Droids
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2011 4:46 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:01 pm
Posts: 6662
Location: Chicago, IL
Jester007 wrote:
The Lightsaber Refect that IE Vader has relfects all the damage HE would have taken. So, to answer your question, your IG would have taken 50 damage.

Another example is say you have HK-47 shooting with Cunning Attack against that Vader and he Reflects the damage back. Since you took advantage of the extra attack and damage for shooting at an unactivated Vader, you must then suffer the consequences of the extra damage being Relected back at you with the Cunning even though HK himself is activated.

Sincerely,
Jester007


follow-up question:

If it's the damage Vader would take, does he make the dark armor save first. If Vader made his save for Dark Armor, he would only take 40, therefore should only 40 be reflected back?

I know the answer is that dark armor doesn't effect it, but I'm at a loss as to why it works in one direction but not the other


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Reflected crits on Droids
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2011 7:02 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
TimmerB123 wrote:
Jester007 wrote:
The Lightsaber Refect that IE Vader has relfects all the damage HE would have taken. So, to answer your question, your IG would have taken 50 damage.

Another example is say you have HK-47 shooting with Cunning Attack against that Vader and he Reflects the damage back. Since you took advantage of the extra attack and damage for shooting at an unactivated Vader, you must then suffer the consequences of the extra damage being Relected back at you with the Cunning even though HK himself is activated.

Sincerely,
Jester007


follow-up question:

If it's the damage Vader would take, does he make the dark armor save first. If Vader made his save for Dark Armor, he would only take 40, therefore should only 40 be reflected back?

I know the answer is that dark armor doesn't effect it, but I'm at a loss as to why it works in one direction but not the other


Dark Armor resolves after Deflect/Reflect/Evade. This is covered in the Resolving Effects section of the FAQ.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Reflected crits on Droids
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 8:43 am 
Mandalore
Mandalore
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:43 pm
Posts: 1009
Location: Southern Illinois
TimmerB123 wrote:
[I know the answer is that dark armor doesn't effect it, but I'm at a loss as to why it works in one direction but not the other


For the dark armor to take effect in protecting Vader's body, the shot would have to get past this lightsaber. If he deflects/reflects the shot, then it didnt actually hit his body, and thus, dark armor doesnt come into effect.

I know its more of a logic reason than SWM uses at times, but seems like a good enough reason for me.

_________________
WotC: 890/890
V-Set: 142/142

Wotc GTL: 52ish
Gamers GTL: 2 (dalsiandon, urbanjedi)

fingersandteeth wrote:
Also t4 for override and a cheeky flame.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield