SWMGAMERS.com Forums
http://swmgamers.com/forums/

Targeting ability? r4 treadwell
http://swmgamers.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=11001
Page 1 of 1

Author:  toady [ Sat Apr 02, 2011 8:56 pm ]
Post subject:  Targeting ability? r4 treadwell

To use Targeting you have to have a line of site to the targeted character and follow the targeting rules - however since it can be made at any point during this characters turn (r4 or treadwell) can it move 6 and target move 6 more in to complete safety where it can no longer see the targeted character ??

Author:  R5Don4 [ Sun Apr 03, 2011 6:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Targeting ability? r4 treadwell

I believe it can only be used at the beginning or end of the move like Force Stun.

Author:  Sithborg [ Sun Apr 03, 2011 9:17 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Targeting ability? r4 treadwell

toady wrote:
To use Targeting you have to have a line of site to the targeted character and follow the targeting rules - however since it can be made at any point during this characters turn (r4 or treadwell) can it move 6 and target move 6 more in to complete safety where it can no longer see the targeted character ??


You cannot break up the movement to use this abilty like that, even if it had Mobile Attack. You can use it before or after movement, not in between.

Author:  toady [ Sun Apr 03, 2011 8:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Targeting ability? r4 treadwell

Where does one go to get an official ruling? This just sounds like your opinions.
From the Jedi Academy rule sheet:
Targeting: Once per turn on its turn, this character can choose an enemy within line of sight, following all the usual targeting rules. The target has -4 Defense until the end of the round. It doesn't take any time to use Targeting: the character can still move and attack normally this turn.

Once per turn on its turn - can only happen on its turn obviously but once per turn? does not replace attack nor does it happen at the end of the characters turn like override. then when?
Ok it has to follow the targeting rules but "it doesn't take any time to use" which would imply that it could be used at the instant when it is moving from one square to another - ie move 3 squares, line of sight, legal target, enemy has -4 Defense, move 9 squares and hide.
Since it can "move normally this turn" - speed or double speed without attacking - not that R4 or the treadwell can attack!
Also the statement "until the end of the round" not until the end of the round or this character is defeated.
Who makes the final call now that Wizards is shut down??
I seem to be a VERY powerful ability in the above context and it either needs to be edited or explained.

Author:  Sithborg [ Mon Apr 04, 2011 4:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Targeting ability? r4 treadwell

It is buried in an odd part of the FAQ, found on www.the-holocron.com, which was written by the official rules rep when the game was in production.

Q: Could I use the abilities listed above part way through a move then continue the move sort of like Mobile Attack? Or in the middle of an attack maybe to Transfer Essence before someone could use Lightsaber Riposte for example?

A: No. You must complete the move/attack/ability in progress before declaring another ability.

It is refering to other "0 time" force powers, like Force Stun and Jedi Mind Trick, which work just like Targetting in terms of timing and when you can use them.

Author:  billiv15 [ Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:58 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Targeting ability? r4 treadwell

toady wrote:
Where does one go to get an official ruling? This just sounds like your opinions.


Here or on bloomilk posted by Sithborg or Nickname. Both are considered the "official" sources of the game rules post-WotC. They wrote the glossary for DotF, and are helping with the other sets as well. They remain the official sources of rulings. That's the best you can possibly get.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/