logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Bastila vs. Tempo Control
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 5:49 pm 
Big Bad Brad
Big Bad Brad
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 5344
Came up when I was playing a quick game today with Shawn:

He used ABM the round before and I had San. She still hadn't activated, and I went 2nd in the round.

Sora was based to his "Exile" and Tyranus DLotS was within 6 of his Bastila. Sora could benefit from Twin without ABM.

So I moved Tyranus and Lightninged her. ABM is over so Sora can now benefit from Twin.

The question was: Do I (per Dodonna) check for Activations per phase at the beginning of the phase? Thus I could still activate Sora. Or Was I back to activating one and Sora could not act that phase?

Really never had it come up via disruptive.

_________________
"200 or 2"
"Consistency is the key, not crying"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bastila vs. Tempo Control
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 5:53 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
You check for the tempo control CE's at the beginning of the phase. So even if you ended Advance Battle Meditation early, San's CE wouldn't take effect till next phase.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bastila vs. Tempo Control
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 5:55 pm 
Big Bad Brad
Big Bad Brad
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 5344
Sithborg wrote:
You check for the tempo control CE's at the beginning of the phase. So even if you ended Advance Battle Meditation early, San's CE wouldn't take effect till next phase.


Cool, I was pretty sure I was right, but there's always that doubt in odd situations. I told him I was basing it on the Dodonna precedent of declaring at the beginning and he seemed cool with it, but I wanted the verification.

_________________
"200 or 2"
"Consistency is the key, not crying"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bastila vs. Tempo Control
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 5:58 pm 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
With Disruptive you check at the beginning of the Phase, so if you are Disrupted but move San away far enough, you still only get the one.

I would venture to say that, once your phase has begun, and you have no CE's, then you are activating 2. Your next phase is when San would come into play.

And, scrolling down, I see that I've been sniped by a Borg. Go assimilate someone else, Scott! ROFL

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bastila vs. Tempo Control
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:07 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
dvader831 wrote:
With Disruptive you check at the beginning of the Phase, so if you are Disrupted but move San away far enough, you still only get the one.


Umm, I'm pretty certain that's not what you meant to say, as it goes against the rest of your post. Since it isn't correct.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bastila vs. Tempo Control
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:22 pm 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
LOL I had two different ideas going on. Ignore my rambling. I was trying to say what Scott had already said.

The one game I played had someone try to get San disrupted and get a second activation. I learned later it should not have worked.

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bastila vs. Tempo Control
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:33 pm 
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 2931
Good question, I don't know but my guess would be that you would not be able to activate sora, that you would be back down to one activation with San. Not that my guess means anything to you, I just thought I would share my thoughts. I remember something about someone with twin via a c.e. being disrupted by abm and that character moves up hits bastilla. I believe it was ruled that as long as she took damage from that atk that the said character would still get a twin on her then. If my memory is correct then I don't see why this wouldn't be rule this way. Almost the same thing.

_________________
"But one thing I have learned in this process is that flavor can't override the good of the game."
-urbanshmi2-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bastila vs. Tempo Control
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:42 pm 
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 7:17 am
Posts: 2931
Wow that was weird my iPod must be really slow today. (that's what I'm online with)
when I started to reply no one had said anything yet on your post. By the time I was done there was 4-5 other replys. So I guess I was wrong and disregard my previous post. Sorry bout that

_________________
"But one thing I have learned in this process is that flavor can't override the good of the game."
-urbanshmi2-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Bastila vs. Tempo Control
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 12:08 am 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
sthlrd2 wrote:
Good question, I don't know but my guess would be that you would not be able to activate sora, that you would be back down to one activation with San. Not that my guess means anything to you, I just thought I would share my thoughts. I remember something about someone with twin via a c.e. being disrupted by abm and that character moves up hits bastilla. I believe it was ruled that as long as she took damage from that atk that the said character would still get a twin on her then. If my memory is correct then I don't see why this wouldn't be rule this way. Almost the same thing.


This is incorrect. The reason why the two would work differently is timing. San's CE, and other tempo control CE's, would be checked before Advanced Battle Meditation would be cancelled, whereas in the Twin situation, you would check for Whorm's CE after Advanced Battle Meditation was cancelled.

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield