SWMGAMERS.com Forums
http://swmgamers.com/forums/

Force abilites and when they end
http://swmgamers.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=10407
Page 1 of 1

Author:  urbanjedi [ Fri Jan 07, 2011 1:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Force abilites and when they end

Squad with Whorm and Tyranus DLOTS

Bastilla uses ABM.

Then Tyrannus runs up (within 6 of mouse or whorm) and hits bastilla.

Does Tyrannus get his twin? I would say yes since the ABM would immediately end (while still resolving the attack) and would no longer be in effect when it would be time to twin.

Just wanted to make sure this was how it worked

Author:  billiv15 [ Fri Jan 07, 2011 1:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Force abilites and when they end

ABM ends when the character is attacked, so before the step that grants a twin attack. Therefore, yes, you would get the twin.

Author:  urbanjedi [ Fri Jan 07, 2011 1:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Force abilites and when they end

That's what I thought.

Thanks Bill

Author:  fingersandteeth [ Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Force abilites and when they end

Its not turned off when Bastilla is merely attacked. She has to take dmg, spend force or roll a save.

So if she has a bgd then tyrannus has to zap her.

Just attacking her won't turn it off, you have to wait until dmg resolution for that to happen. I'm not sure if that negates twin attack or not.

Twin states "Whenever this character attacks, it makes 1 extra attack against the same target."

Tyrannus has already attacked and ABM was still on, why should you get a twin even if you dmg her?

This depends on whether twin is triggered before or after dmg resolution and I really don't know the answer to that.

Thats one for NickName.

Author:  Grand Moff Boris [ Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Force abilites and when they end

What Deri said. My gut feeling is no, because Twin Attack didn't come into effect again until after the damage step resolved. But Nickname can say for sure.

Author:  billiv15 [ Fri Jan 07, 2011 4:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Force abilites and when they end

Nope, I misspoke. I thought the wording of ABM was when she was attacked, I thought we decided that there was no need for her to take the damage, but it appears I am wrong.

Twin attack triggers before the damage step, so no twin on the first attack.

However, if DT can use his double, the first attack would not get twin, but the double attack would.

Author:  Sithborg [ Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Force abilites and when they end

billiv15 wrote:
Twin attack triggers before the damage step, so no twin on the first attack.


That is incorrect. Advance Battle Meditation would be resolved in the "when this character takes damage step", or Step 11. You check for Twin Attack, nearly last, or in Step 16. So, Advance Battle Meditation would be turned off before you would check for Twin, so the Whorm's CE would be back in time for Tyrannus to use Twin.

Author:  fingersandteeth [ Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Force abilites and when they end

Sithborg wrote:
billiv15 wrote:
Twin attack triggers before the damage step, so no twin on the first attack.


That is incorrect. Advance Battle Meditation would be resolved in the "when this character takes damage step", or Step 11. You check for Twin Attack, nearly last, or in Step 16. So, Advance Battle Meditation would be turned off before you would check for Twin, so the Whorm's CE would be back in time for Tyrannus to use Twin.


You know someone knows the rules when they can actually numerate the steps.

Nice work, Scott. :)

Author:  Sithborg [ Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Force abilites and when they end

Trust me, I don't have the steps memorized. Usually when I name the steps, it's because I have that in another tab.

I am pretty certain where he got it wrong. Too much Djem So/Riposte/Twin on the mind.

Author:  fingersandteeth [ Fri Jan 07, 2011 11:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Force abilites and when they end

can you link me to the place where the steps are listed?

Author:  Sithborg [ Fri Jan 07, 2011 11:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Force abilites and when they end

http://www.the-holocron.com/index.php?o ... &Itemid=55

It is in a gold text, so you can pretty much scroll till you see it.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/