SWMGAMERS.com Forums
http://swmgamers.com/forums/

Another Pellaeon qustion
http://swmgamers.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=10356
Page 1 of 2

Author:  urbanjedi [ Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Another Pellaeon qustion

I know this doesn't work but don't see what specifically disallows it/

Squad is

New thrawn
Mas
Cad Bane
Emperor Palpatine
Pelleaon
Filler


What spceific rule prevents me from dropping Emperor Palpatine for Grand Admiral Thrawn and having 2 copies of Thrawn on my squad?

It seems like it should be a reserves/reinforcements issue, but Pelleaon isn't reserves/reinforcemetns. It also isn't in the squad build, so I am trying to figure out exactly why this doesn't work. I know that it shouldn't work just can't figure out why not.

Author:  Sithborg [ Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

The character that Pelleon replaces with must be a legal option, since the CE doesn't specifically state that it gets around any rules. Since adding a second Thrawn would violate the Unique restrictions, it isn't a legal option

Author:  urbanjedi [ Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:21 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

Thanks. I knew it didn't work just couldn't figure out why.

Author:  billiv15 [ Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

I think swapping out Palps on throne presents one of the most interesting options. It's hard to really make a squad out of it, as you usually build with him in mind, but I could forsee swapping out Palps for some big attacker, who gets a bit of a head start.

Author:  The_Celestial_Warrior [ Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:52 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

billiv15 wrote:
I think swapping out Palps on throne presents one of the most interesting options. It's hard to really make a squad out of it, as you usually build with him in mind, but I could forsee swapping out Palps for some big attacker, who gets a bit of a head start.



Hmmm, how about purposely building the Cad/Arica squad with Palps on Throne in it simply with the intent of swapping in Arica for a headstart?

Author:  billiv15 [ Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:59 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

The_Celestial_Warrior wrote:
billiv15 wrote:
I think swapping out Palps on throne presents one of the most interesting options. It's hard to really make a squad out of it, as you usually build with him in mind, but I could forsee swapping out Palps for some big attacker, who gets a bit of a head start.



Hmmm, how about purposely building the Cad/Arica squad with Palps on Throne in it simply with the intent of swapping in Arica for a headstart?


exactly :) Same could be done with Jarael (although a waste of some points to do it). There are other beats that could gain a nice running start in this way as well. And with Swapping, could put a Lord Vader in a nasty position at the end of round 1.

Author:  thereisnotry [ Wed Dec 29, 2010 2:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

Head start? What are you guys talking about? Do you mean that the new piece can set up 1 square closer to the middle of the board? Is that the head start? meesa confused.

Author:  swinefeld [ Wed Dec 29, 2010 3:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

Think they mean set up Throne in the middle then switch out with attacker.

Author:  LoboStele [ Wed Dec 29, 2010 3:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

Yeah, you do the switching AFTER setup, which would mean, with Palps on Throne, since he has Emplacement, that you could put him just about anywhere, then swap in Arica and have her smack dab on the front lines on Turn 1. :)

Author:  thereisnotry [ Wed Dec 29, 2010 3:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

Oh, I see. The trade is made after Palpychair's placement is already made; thanks for clarifying for me. That IS a pretty nasty tactic. Used right, that would give you some pretty devastating attack options in rounds 1 & 2.

Author:  LoboStele [ Wed Dec 29, 2010 3:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

Or might put a piece like Arica so far out of reach from the rest of her crew that she easily gets picked off in the first round or 2. :P

Author:  Disturbed1 [ Wed Dec 29, 2010 3:56 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

Depending on what you face, if she deals enough dmg on the first turn, it might not matter if they take her down early or not.

Author:  thereisnotry [ Wed Dec 29, 2010 3:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

Yeah, the thing is, you'd really prefer to have your swapper piece have the head-start, and then swap Arica in when you're ready to make the big barrage. Having her start there is not optimal.

Author:  The_Celestial_Warrior [ Wed Dec 29, 2010 5:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

thereisnotry wrote:
Yeah, the thing is, you'd really prefer to have your swapper piece have the head-start, and then swap Arica in when you're ready to make the big barrage. Having her start there is not optimal.



Eh, that seems pretty situational to me. I'd say it's either/or depending on a variety of other things like map and opponent's squad. The problem is her swap piece couldn't be the one replacing Palps. You'd have to build Palps in, with the intent to swap in Arica via Pellaeon.

Placement of Palps would be key at that point.

Author:  Demosthenes [ Wed Dec 29, 2010 5:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

I don't understand what you guys mean when talking about a character getting a head start after being swapped in by Pellaeon. :?:

Author:  swinefeld [ Wed Dec 29, 2010 5:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

It's building the squad with Throne Palps, placing him in a good spot, then using Pellaeon's CE to replace him with Arica. She could start out in a much better position to do major damage early in the game (possibly even turn 1).

How well it could work depends on a lot of factors...

Author:  LoboStele [ Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

Well, you could build the squad starting with Palps on Throne and then whatever your other swapper is. Then you use Pellaeon to switch out Palps for Arica, and then in the first round, you swap your swapper (say, Jarael) in for Arica. Then you could run her somewhere at the end of turn 1, and then you have your opponent activate first and (hopefully) your swapper survives (maybe, Jarael?), and then when you have 2 activations, you activate Thrawn, swap in Arica, and blow things away. Probably tough to pull off, especially to keep that deep strike swapper in position AND alive at the beginning of turn 2. Maybe if you ran RS Tarkin as well, but then you're talking about 27 points of tech (Pellaeon/Tarkin) just simply for pulling off a bit hit like that? I think I'd rather run Lobot for those points or something.

Author:  Disturbed1 [ Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

Hold on a sec...

I coulda sworn that Pellaeon's ability let him swap a commander for a commander, which Arica isnt...did I misread the card?

If not, then this arguement is invalid, as you couldnt do it anyway.

If so, then half of me thinks this idea could be viable, if played right; the other half of me thinks its a gimmick, and if you dont manage to pull it off, you might be in a worse situation than if you hadnt done it.

Author:  The_Celestial_Warrior [ Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:50 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

I think everyone's missing the point.

Against the right squad on the right map it's going to work really well.

Against the wrong squad on the wrong map or anything in between, you're going to realize that it's not going to work as well and you just setup Palp in your starting area...swap in Arica and you still have the Tier 1 Stealth N Blue that Tim B. played at Regionals and Gencon last year.

So, of course, it's a gimmick, but in an already decent squad.

Author:  Sithborg [ Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Another Pellaeon qustion

Disturbed1 wrote:
Hold on a sec...

I coulda sworn that Pellaeon's ability let him swap a commander for a commander, which Arica isnt...did I misread the card?

If not, then this arguement is invalid, as you couldnt do it anyway.

If so, then half of me thinks this idea could be viable, if played right; the other half of me thinks its a gimmick, and if you dont manage to pull it off, you might be in a worse situation than if you hadnt done it.


You can switch an Imperial commander for any Imperial character, commander or follower, who costs less. It is an interesting idea, no doubt.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/