logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Considering Uses of the Noble
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:45 pm 
Unnamed Stormtrooper
Unnamed Stormtrooper

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:37 pm
Posts: 11
First post. I have to say, I am much more interested in the Noble than any other figure released so far for TFU. His rules are so unusual, and I know there are a ton of uses that people haven't even considered yet. I feel he will be one piece I include in many decks, (just like the Ugnaught right now).

I wanted to start this thread to discuss. Obviously, for gambit, he will be useful. He will be a good door opener too. What other purposes can you use him for?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:50 pm 
Unnamed Stormtrooper
Unnamed Stormtrooper

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:37 pm
Posts: 11
One question:

Rule: Adjacent Enemies: If enemies are adjacent to the attacker, it must target one of those enemies.

If you have a Noble next to an enemy, the rules state the enemy needs to target the Noble (per rule above). But, the Noble character is not a legal target. Does that mean since he is still adjacent, but not a legal target, your enemy model needs to first move away to shoot another of your models?

If so, I am going to use a bunch, as I love making enemies move to lose Double Attack, Careful Shot, etc.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Considering Uses of the Noble
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:51 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 5:04 pm
Posts: 676
Mezmaron wrote:
First post. I have to say, I am much more interested in the Noble than any other figure released so far for TFU. His rules are so unusual, and I know there are a ton of uses that people haven't even considered yet. I feel he will be one piece I include in many decks, (just like the Ugnaught right now).

I wanted to start this thread to discuss. Obviously, for gambit, he will be useful. He will be a good door opener too. What other purposes can you use him for?
Mobile Blocking terrain.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:40 pm 
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina

Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 6:18 pm
Posts: 175
Answer to Mezmaron: No, since the Noble's no longer a valid target, the attacker does NOT have to move to attack someone else.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:31 am 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:15 pm
Posts: 690
This is not a figure i am interested in, but i think it can have it's use es. I will not use it myself in mini games but am glad it's a new figure with different stats and can bring something new to the game. While i will not use him others will.
Good for other rpg games as well.

_________________
Forgive the hero, thous who would have died


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Considering Uses of the Noble
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 11:59 am 
Ugnaught Master!
Ugnaught Master!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 2948
Location: SW Missouri
madslaust wrote:
Mobile Blocking terrain.


I love this idea! Use them to hold open a doorway, but everyone else in the back. If you are facing a melee only squad, this can nearly be a game breaker if the only legal targets they can see are behind the Nobles. Very sneaky.
I had a quick idea. Nobles and X-1 Viper Droids. "I'm sorry, if you wish to shoot me, better hope your dice can roll well for more than just attacking!"

_________________
That's right, it's always the one in the middle you would least expect to be the most dangerous!
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Considering Uses of the Noble
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:57 pm 
General
General
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 480
dvader831 wrote:
madslaust wrote:
Mobile Blocking terrain.


I love this idea! Use them to hold open a doorway, but everyone else in the back. If you are facing a melee only squad, this can nearly be a game breaker if the only legal targets they can see are behind the Nobles. Very sneaky.
I had a quick idea. Nobles and X-1 Viper Droids. "I'm sorry, if you wish to shoot me, better hope your dice can roll well for more than just attacking!"

Lol, you love the idea, I despise it. Half written rules like these is what makes this game more Warhammer like every set. I hope there is additional errata that prevents these characters from being road blocks or cover granters.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Considering Uses of the Noble
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:11 pm 
Grand Admiral
Grand Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:42 pm
Posts: 928
emr131 wrote:
dvader831 wrote:
madslaust wrote:
Mobile Blocking terrain.


I love this idea! Use them to hold open a doorway, but everyone else in the back. If you are facing a melee only squad, this can nearly be a game breaker if the only legal targets they can see are behind the Nobles. Very sneaky.
I had a quick idea. Nobles and X-1 Viper Droids. "I'm sorry, if you wish to shoot me, better hope your dice can roll well for more than just attacking!"

Lol, you love the idea, I despise it. Half written rules like these is what makes this game more Warhammer like every set. I hope there is additional errata that prevents these characters from being road blocks or cover granters.


I agree with you, I don't like the noble either, though I do see some ways to counter them though, flight characters would work well to fly over the door blockers and then attack other enemies. Force Leap would also let you jump over them. There are also situations where you could move your character so that you can't see any other enemies other than the nobles, then you can attack them.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Considering Uses of the Noble
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 3:49 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:15 am
Posts: 710
emr131 wrote:
dvader831 wrote:
madslaust wrote:
Mobile Blocking terrain.


I love this idea! Use them to hold open a doorway, but everyone else in the back. If you are facing a melee only squad, this can nearly be a game breaker if the only legal targets they can see are behind the Nobles. Very sneaky.
I had a quick idea. Nobles and X-1 Viper Droids. "I'm sorry, if you wish to shoot me, better hope your dice can roll well for more than just attacking!"

Lol, you love the idea, I despise it. Half written rules like these is what makes this game more Warhammer like every set. I hope there is additional errata that prevents these characters from being road blocks or cover granters.


They don't grant cover.

_________________
www.thejumpingflea.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Considering Uses of the Noble
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 3:58 pm 
Grand Admiral
Grand Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:42 pm
Posts: 928
thejumpingflea wrote:
emr131 wrote:
dvader831 wrote:
madslaust wrote:
Mobile Blocking terrain.


I love this idea! Use them to hold open a doorway, but everyone else in the back. If you are facing a melee only squad, this can nearly be a game breaker if the only legal targets they can see are behind the Nobles. Very sneaky.
I had a quick idea. Nobles and X-1 Viper Droids. "I'm sorry, if you wish to shoot me, better hope your dice can roll well for more than just attacking!"

Lol, you love the idea, I despise it. Half written rules like these is what makes this game more Warhammer like every set. I hope there is additional errata that prevents these characters from being road blocks or cover granters.




They don't grant cover.


true, but you can't move through them though which means they could be annoying since they can block certain gaps, block doors depending on how many nobles the opponent has.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Considering Uses of the Noble
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 5:43 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:07 pm
Posts: 602
thejumpingflea wrote:
They don't grant cover.


Where did this come from?

Diplomat - This character is not a legal target, and does not count as the nearest enemy, if an enemy without Diplomat is in line of sight. These restrictions apply even to adjacent attackers

As long as an ally w/o Diplomat is in LoS, the Noble can't be targeted - it doesn't say anything about not providing cover. Would you please explain?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Considering Uses of the Noble
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 6:03 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:15 am
Posts: 710
headache62 wrote:
thejumpingflea wrote:
They don't grant cover.


Where did this come from?

Diplomat - This character is not a legal target, and does not count as the nearest enemy, if an enemy without Diplomat is in line of sight. These restrictions apply even to adjacent attackers

As long as an ally w/o Diplomat is in LoS, the Noble can't be targeted - it doesn't say anything about not providing cover. Would you please explain?


Sorry, I meant that they don't give a character like Nom SS. Being unable to count as the nearest enemy...

_________________
www.thejumpingflea.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Considering Uses of the Noble
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 6:05 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:07 pm
Posts: 602
thejumpingflea wrote:
Sorry, I meant that they don't give a character like Nom SS. Being unable to count as the nearest enemy...


Gotcha.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 7:33 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Posts: 1543
Location: Central CT
This is a lame idea; really really lame. It's ripe for abuse and doesn't feel like Star Wars. If it was a bit more along the lines of draw fire I think it could be workable. This is just a way to drive oppenents crazy while bringing action to a halt.

_________________
Bottoms up and spirits down


Archives of the Gamers Jedi
is designed to be your official source for in-game rules questions!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Considering Uses of the Noble
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 10:36 pm 
General
General

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:22 pm
Posts: 453
thejumpingflea wrote:
headache62 wrote:
thejumpingflea wrote:
They don't grant cover.


Where did this come from?

Diplomat - This character is not a legal target, and does not count as the nearest enemy, if an enemy without Diplomat is in line of sight. These restrictions apply even to adjacent attackers

As long as an ally w/o Diplomat is in LoS, the Noble can't be targeted - it doesn't say anything about not providing cover. Would you please explain?


Sorry, I meant that they don't give a character like Nom SS. Being unable to count as the nearest enemy...


Why not? If a Noble is granting Nom cover, then his SS kicks in and you can't attack either.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Considering Uses of the Noble
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 1:18 am 
Third Jedi from the Left
Third Jedi from the Left
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 3:41 pm
Posts: 107
Location: UK
Quote:
Why not? If a Noble is granting Nom cover, then his SS kicks in and you can't attack either.

This would be my understanding too.

The noble will be an interesting character to play and is certainly one of the most interesting characters to be released.

_________________
Good? Bad? I'm the guy with the Blaster!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:04 am 
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:33 pm
Posts: 173
I just love the thought of a 23 defense character walking directly behind one of these as it moves up the board.

Of course attacks like grenades, missiles, force, lightning, etc will kill them off quickly.

I also like the idea of using 2 or 3 of them to block a corridor to prevent a melee advance.

Hmm, Vader unleashed, standing 2 squares behind a blocking row of Diplomats.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:40 am 
Grand Admiral
Grand Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:00 pm
Posts: 710
Location: Sterling, Illinois
This seems like one of those characters where we don't know the full potential until after we've play-tested it for awhile. I'm looking forward to using the Noble.

And Caamasi! That is absolutely cool.

_________________
Lady Luck is a fickle mistress.

She giveth, and she taketh away.

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:43 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Jedi1972 wrote:
And Caamasi! That is absolutely cool.


No kidding. This is one of the first times I've seen the set-list and thought "Oh wow...that's an odd choice for an alien race to add in". Once I saw the piece, and found out it was a Diplomat, it made perfect sense.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Considering Uses of the Noble
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 7:34 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:08 pm
Posts: 599
Location: LFP, WA
Wedge772 wrote:
thejumpingflea wrote:
headache62 wrote:
thejumpingflea wrote:
They don't grant cover.


Where did this come from?

Diplomat - This character is not a legal target, and does not count as the nearest enemy, if an enemy without Diplomat is in line of sight. These restrictions apply even to adjacent attackers

As long as an ally w/o Diplomat is in LoS, the Noble can't be targeted - it doesn't say anything about not providing cover. Would you please explain?


Sorry, I meant that they don't give a character like Nom SS. Being unable to count as the nearest enemy...


Why not? If a Noble is granting Nom cover, then his SS kicks in and you can't attack either.


Yeah, they're a character, just not a legal target. They still provide cover unless you're adjacent to them.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield