logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Vassal map help for mac
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 4:21 pm 
Sith Apprentice
Sith Apprentice

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:13 pm
Posts: 299
Can anyone who is fluent in the language of vassal and the language of macintosh help? Here's my situation: When I open a new game, the only maps I can see are the ones that are part of SWMinis.mod I have all the other ones downloaded, and they are all in the same folder as SWMinis.mod, but they don't show up. Does anyone know what I should do?

I went into "edit module" and saw the basic maps all listed there, so I tried to drag the other map packs into there, but it wouldn't let me.

I'm sure the answer is really obvious. Thanks to anyone who can help.

_________________
rate my squads and listen to ska!
http://www.swshoebox.com/userSquad.cfm? ... footoneder

Grambo wrote:
the best defense is a dead opponent.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 5:44 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 1:20 pm
Posts: 661
well outside of the fact that ALL add on's have to be set up like this.

lets say that the SWMinis.mod file is in Vassal directory.

So all add ons have to be inside a directory called "SWMinis_ext"

that should help.

_________________
Image

[spoiler="crap"]
Quote:
MediocreMind
Support bacteria - it's the only culture some people have!

Code:
DCI Ranking
Star Wars Miniatures Constructed (as of 2008-09-15)
1826 rating   64 matches   21 events   
    37  All   33  North America   7  Canada   1  CA-Ontario   
[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 6:47 pm 
Sith Apprentice
Sith Apprentice

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:13 pm
Posts: 299
Fox wrote:
well outside of the fact that ALL add on's have to be set up like this.

lets say that the SWMinis.mod file is in Vassal directory.

So all add ons have to be inside a directory called "SWMinis_ext"

that should help.


Inside a directory, you say? Is a directory the same as a folder? *feeling of ignorance* I took computer literacy classes, but for Windows XP, not Mac stuff. I have everything in a folder called "SWMinis_ext" Does anyone know how to take a screenshot?

_________________
rate my squads and listen to ska!
http://www.swshoebox.com/userSquad.cfm? ... footoneder

Grambo wrote:
the best defense is a dead opponent.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 6:52 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 1:20 pm
Posts: 661
on a mac, fraid not.

But yes.. directory = folder.. same thing, just some of us hail from the Dos/unix days so ^_^.

But yeah, if everything is in the SWMinis_ext folder* which is in the same folder as your SWMinis.mod file (and remember that vassal is case sensitive, so SWMinis and swminis are not the same).

Then it should work. if not you might be better off asking on the vassal site.

_________________
Image

[spoiler="crap"]
Quote:
MediocreMind
Support bacteria - it's the only culture some people have!

Code:
DCI Ranking
Star Wars Miniatures Constructed (as of 2008-09-15)
1826 rating   64 matches   21 events   
    37  All   33  North America   7  Canada   1  CA-Ontario   
[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 7:04 pm 
Sith Apprentice
Sith Apprentice

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:13 pm
Posts: 299
Fox wrote:
But yeah, if everything is in the SWMinis_ext folder* which is in the same folder as your SWMinis.mod file (and remember that vassal is case sensitive, so SWMinis and swminis are not the same).

Then it should work. if not you might be better off asking on the vassal site.

So, are you saying I should have SWMinis_ext and SWMinis.mod in the same folder, but not have SWMinis.mod in the actual SWMinis_ext folder?

_________________
rate my squads and listen to ska!
http://www.swshoebox.com/userSquad.cfm? ... footoneder

Grambo wrote:
the best defense is a dead opponent.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 7:18 pm 
Sith Apprentice
Sith Apprentice

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:13 pm
Posts: 299
sixfootoneder wrote:
Fox wrote:
But yeah, if everything is in the SWMinis_ext folder* which is in the same folder as your SWMinis.mod file (and remember that vassal is case sensitive, so SWMinis and swminis are not the same).

Then it should work. if not you might be better off asking on the vassal site.

So, are you saying I should have SWMinis_ext and SWMinis.mod in the same folder, but not have SWMinis.mod in the actual SWMinis_ext folder?


This was the problem, I moved SWMinis.mod outside of SWMinis_ext and it's working now

Thanks Fox, and TINT

_________________
rate my squads and listen to ska!
http://www.swshoebox.com/userSquad.cfm? ... footoneder

Grambo wrote:
the best defense is a dead opponent.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield